11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81 PMPS91 +6 72

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81

Looks great in here....Shadow is still showing off!

Another beautiful day so far for you guys!!!
 
Re: 11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81

Yeah, things are looking good for shadow. My gf saw him this morning and thought his coat and overall caste was as good as she's ever seen him.

Betty, you've mentioned "essance of insulin" or something like that. I've been giving Shadow 0.1u of Lantus twice a day for a few days which seems to be keeping him where he needs to be for now. This amounts to about one or two drops of the stuff. Just what is "essance of insulin"?

P.S. I'm scheduled to be out of town next weekend and I'm considering just taking him off the juice for the weekend and see what his BG is when I get back on Sunday night.
 
Re: 11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81

Hi Steven! "Essence of insulin" is kind of a joke...the other thing we say is to just show Shadow the bottle. It's when they're on such micro doses that they're VERY close to doing an OTJ trial

Shadow might very well be ready for the OTJ trial very soon. We suggest that when he's stayed in "normal" numbers for a week (50-130) on .1 or less, it's time for the trial.

We are very conservative on doing trials because we want them in a strong remission first so they're more likely to stay OTJ. Getting a cat under remission for a 2nd time is very tough to do.

When you want to try it, here's what you'll need to know:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).
If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!
Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

There actually IS a dose less than .1 It's called "some" insulin. You push the plunger in hard and then just release it without pulling any more.
someinsulin-1.jpg


Shadow sure has done great! It's hard to believe he was in the 500's such a short time ago!!
 
Re: 11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81 PMPS91

Yeah, he was in the 500's because I OD'd him on syrup the first time and he OD'd himself on treats the second time. I have no idea what his BG was before that but he was getting 2 units twice a day when he hardly needed any at all. Too low I'm sure but he's doing great now.

Thanks for the tips. I will probably just preload some syringes for the catsitter next weekend then. If he stays where he's at I'll probably start a trial a week from next Monday or Tuesday when I'm back and can monitor the situation.
 
Re: 11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81 PMPS91

Hi Steven-

Look at Hank's SS. We took longer than a week weaning off...perhaps longer than we necessarily needed to...but I wanted his little pancreas to have as much support as possible so it would stick. Not everyone will tell you the same thing about exactly WHEN to begin a trial. If you were to get numbers below 40 on the dose you are on, then that's different as per protocol you would need to lower the dose. There is only so much lower you can go..at a point you are sort of forced into a trial.
I would not think about the 'what to do' for trial directions until you are there. For now, if you are comfortable stick this dose out a little while. He is getting gorgeous numbers on it and its allowing wonderful pancreatic healing. That's what I would want. Why don't you practice seeing if you can do smaller dose in the meantime? Draw .50 or .25 and then count how many drops that is, then shoot out 1 drop, 1 more, etc.. I think this was brought up in an earlier condo. If you decide this dose is 2 drops now.. then maybe you can try a 1 drop next. As I recall I would try to hold the syringe stopper and hold the needle in for a second and really squeeze after inserting before pulling it back to be sure that drop went in. See if you can do a mock-up reduced dose. Then if either if he does drop low on this dose, or if a few more days go by and you are ready to try to reduce, then you will be ready. I would wait to sort out what you will do next weekend a little closer to the time..see how things progress between now and then. You may not need to dose while you are gone, who knows.

He made it through all that time on too high a dose..am sure no matter what will also make it through whatever is needed for the weekend. He sure is doing great now and must feel SO much better!!
 
Re: 11.02.13 Shadow AMPS94 +6 81 PMPS91

Hey Steven,
If you decide to have the cat sitter shoot next weekend it would be best to draw up your dose in a "sample" syringe, using milk or colored liquid for the cat sitter to use as a model. Syringes are coated on the inside with something to make the plunger move more smoothly and it would not be good for that stuff to have lots of time to leech into the insulin. Everything I've read here cautions against pre-filling syringes.

You and Shadow are doing so great! Keep it going, Shadow!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top