11/01 Gandolf PMPS 330 +1 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=28689
WCR:

Good Monday Morning Everyone,

A little nervous, can't remember what all the P's stand for at the moment. I'm pretty sure Gandolf is low because he's not eating. He stopped last night after shot. He's eating grass but turns his nose up at all LC's I offer. Haven't offered HC so don't know if he'll turn his nose at them as well.

At 66 and not eating, I need advice. I'd like to offer my high carb goodies to see if he'll eat those and shoot if he eats. But really, I don't know what to do. Shucks man, what a way to start the day. How should I handle this?

concerned,
Cee
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 stalling - need advice

OK. 64. He's lovey, purring, bright eyed. Been sitting in meatloaf position alot, but sometimes that just "normal" for him.

We woke up, he refused to eat. went for his grass, ate a few stems and threw it up. (only the grass and colorless mucous - so sorry for the graphics, folks). Before that I'd pulled out his favorite canned, and cooked chicken, sardines, and he turned away to them all. Litter box was clean, nothing during the night it seems.

Now he is showing a little interest in eating again. Shall I try to feed him?
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 stalling - need advice

no advice here, just wanted to say good morning, and what a morning surprise you got huh? I'm sure you'll get lots of advice on what to do .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 stalling - need advice

OK. Seems to me like he's asking to eat something now, he's very interested now in the sardines I offered him earlier.
Shall I go ahead and feed him and if he eats good go ahead and shoot and just ride this one out. NO HC's yet. I can make time today to be here, though again, it certainly was not the plan.(Man at this rate I'm going to go broke!) He's clearly asking now (or so it seems).

Cee
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 stalling - need advice

Where do things stand now? Have you retested?

Do you happen to have any Pepsid in the house (Pepcid AC, not Complete)? If Gandolf's stomach is upset, 1/4 tablet may help.
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Just tested at 51 AND He's eating now. Very clearly asked. So am feeding now. Eating well and a good amount (LC only). Haven't shot yet.
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Where we stand now is: He ate well. (Yay!) First time since last night.
He just tested at 64 so he's on his way up. Fed only LC so he shouldn't go out the roof.

How shall I shoot? Does 51 earn him a .25 dosecrease to 2.50 instead of 2.75?
Timing is, of course, all screwed up but I guess I can choose my time now right?

Sorry for all the nervousness...but I think we're still in the game. If we're dancing, then you just saw some very unpracticed, jerky and uncoordinated moves (please don't laugh)...but with practice we should get better at this. I know I was thinking the worse. Sorry. My inexperienced gut feeling is to shoot 2.5 and monitor every half hour and be ready with HC but not to give till he actually goes under 50.

Does that sound like a good plan?

Cee nailbite_smile
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Not sure what others will say but it is technically under 50 that earns a dosecrease.... :roll:
And you ideally should shoot 12 hours after you give the shot now....so, you can move the time up by one half hour per day or 15 minutes at each shot, which ever you choose.....
If he is at 64 now, that is a good rising number and I would go ahead and shoot the regular amount if you feel up to it....
(not sure about Gandolf, but most kitties bounce after going so low so you will be happy you stuck with the program in the end. Know what I mean?)

Now, if you are not home to monitor today, you might want to give a BCS dose and shoot the 2.50u so it is up to you what you shoot now..what do you think? Will you be able to get some more numbers now? What time do you have to leave?
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Cee...really nice job this morning......I would have been nervous too....but you handled it like a pro....Love the dance analogy..... :mrgreen: Your sense of humor shines through....

Glad Gandolf decided to eat...silly kitty....scaring you like that......and not letting you shoot......

Hoping Gandolf does some sweet surfing for you.
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Cee...your SS gets tricky when you have a lot of numbers before the actual shot. So, this is what we do...we put the 66 in the +11 box from the previous day...then in the notes, you would put +12=66, +12.25=64, +13=51 and then put the Preshot number in the AMPS box for today. So, whatever number you shot, put that in your AMPS box.
Then, in the notes for today, put how late the shot time was, okay?
That keeps it all organized ....so, all the numbers that lead up to today's shot will go in yesterday's line, okay? :mrgreen:
You did a great job this morning!! Very nice! :thumbup

You can manually change the color of any box too. Not sure if you are aware of this...but you can click on the box and then go up to the mulit-colored box at the top of the page, click on that and a drop down list will show a color chart. You can then click on the number you want and it will then show in the box. I sometimes put an asterisk after a number, for instance, I would put 66* in the +11 box. Then, the box reverts back to the default color=white. I then would manually change the box to be green. The * signifies a notation in the note section. Then, you can put all the tests in the notes too so you will have a record of the shot times and results....
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

OK. Tested again and he's at 59. That's a dropping number now. So, the 70 I'm thinking was due to the food he ate. Does that change anything Pat? Still haven't shot.

Cee
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

What hour do you have to leave? How late are you now Cee?
Retest in 15 minutes if you can....
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Can you list the numbers you got and say how later you are at this point...and also when you have to leave...
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Just updated SS as you explained (I hope) and I really do not HAVE to leave expect for 30 - 45 mins. max.
8:15=66;
8:54=64; still not eating
9:45=51; nibbled, beginning to show interest
10:04=64 ate very well
10:40=70 ate a little more of his food I left out
11:10=59
11:44=56
12:03=61 this meter could be slightly off each reading. (I've tested one right after the other and it's been different by
as much as 10 points.

Really don't know what to think.
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

What is you usual shot time Cee...I am figuring you are about 3 hours late at least at this point, right?
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Was 8:30 and was moving it back by 15 mins. for upcoming time change. Yes we are way off now.
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

How about just skipping the shot since it is so late. It will be like giving a fur shot. His numbers might climb today but if you can just keep giving the LC and monitor him it will be good....and shoot at your regular time tonight.
I am glad he is eating now. Maybe these numbers are the result of him not eating so much last night, no?

Good job Cee!
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

I just bump-ed up an excellent post by Libby about dealing with low Preshots: posting.php?mode=reply&f=9&t=27894
It's good to read over the post and maybe print it out for future reference. So much depends on the circumstances when you got a low preshot. Since you knew that Gandolf had not eaten, your circumstances were that you were not sure IF he would eat if you shot. This is good data that you have for today. You will see what his PMPS number is and note the effect of not shooting.

Actually, not shooting is not the ideal choice, but in this circumstance, it might be the best choice. The starred sticky from Jill is also important to study: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=147

Once you have more data on what Gandolf does, and if you will be home to monitor, you might choose to shoot either the full dose or a reduced dose in order to keep on a certain schedule. Not eating is a big problem though. If you cannot get food into them, deciding on a dose or whether to shoot is more difficult. I have plastic syringes that I know I can use to get HC gravy into Shadow. He does not eat many times when his numbers are low. So if and when I shoot a low preshot, I know that I have the syringe ready in case I need it!

When one shoots a lower-than-normal preshot number, we get a +1 and then monitor to make sure they are surfing.. They sometimes wobble as Gandolf did so we cannot just assume that one higher number means that they are rising steadily. As you saw, the HC does raise them, but they can then dive right after that. So, it is important to be able to monitor after shooting one of those low preshots. You did great....how is he doing now?
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 no shot

Captial A-OK! on that. I am very relieved (hear that BIG sigh of relief). I never would have thought that :? . But it sounds just right. He's rising again, up to 61. Yes, I do think it's because he wasn't eating. He did finally eat well this morning, a fat 1/3 of 5.5oz can with a little sardine on the side as well.

Will watch the P's carefully today. How often should I monitor and how do I write this out on the SS?

Plus... a very big "THANK YOU VERY MUCH, Pat!

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon

P.S. Gandolf says to send a big "Thank You" to you too cause he feels the relief in his bean as well. I'm sure that's a help to him.

Signing off to go run a couple of errands real quick AND get back and get to WORK! (working at home today & it's very important but it's stalled right now too. Ka-ching, Ka-ching...not! At least now I can put my mind to it. Again, thanks so much!).
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf AMPS 66 64 51 stalling - need advice

Just put it in today's row and test as you normally would with low numbers Cee...put n/s in the dose box.
Nice work...hope you have a good day....and it might take a little time for him to get back up to speed since a no shot means that the shed drains a little, okay? so, no insulin plus low numbers can cause a bounce. Just shoot his regular dose tonight at the regular time and hang on, okay! :mrgreen:

And just so you know, you do not have an AMPS for this morning since you did not shoot,...it is really a +12.25 or whatever...you can just move that down to the AMPS box, but it is really not your preshot number. You header can read +12.25=66 no shot if you'd like.
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf +12.25=66 no shot (with counsel)

Cee - you did very well today, I hope you feel flush with success. Good job!
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf +12.25=66 no shot (with counsel)

Congrats on a job well done!--You got great help from Pat this am..Look at those great numbers!!!! Looks like Gandolf is doing very well here :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 11/01 Gandolf +12.25=66 no shot (with counsel)

Checking back in on you two tonight....pretty nice blues! :mrgreen:
I have a low preshot due to not eating enough earlier now too, but not as low as Gandolf's was.
Hope you read up on those links I posted cause things are getting exciting around here! Gandolf is on the move and I hope this trend continues for you both! :mrgreen:
 
How about just skipping the shot since it is so late. It will be like giving a fur shot. His numbers might climb today but if you can just keep giving the LC and monitor him it will be good....and shoot at your regular time tonight.

and

....and it might take a little time for him to get back up to speed since a no shot means that the shed drains a little, okay? so, no insulin plus low numbers can cause a bounce. Just shoot his regular dose tonight at the regular time and hang on, okay! :mrgreen:

Yeah, Pat, I'd say you landed this thing today right on the line. What you stated above is exactly what's happening. Wow! Great stuff. Yes, I've started reading some of your recommended posts and will very likely read over it several times. Thanks for the expert guidance today Pat, and also to everyone for all the excellent tips, guidance , and support.

A BIG Welcome to the several "newbies" on the board tonight - what a blessing they will find here.

Thanks Everyone, and have a wonderful night.

Cee & Gandolf cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top