11/01/2011 Spitzer AMPS~346

Status
Not open for further replies.

BJM

Very Active Member
previously

Morning preshot wasn't bad and I gave him 0.8 ProZinc again. Problem, though - he wasn't interested in eating. He has room to come down, so it should be OK.

I didn't have time between my dental appointment and his vet appointment, so I set him up in a crate with a litterbox in the back of the car and while I was at the dentist, opened the door of the crate and put food and water where he could see it if he wanted to eat. When I came back out, he hadn't left the crate, nor used the litterbox. Note that Columbus, OH temps were in the 50s, so it was safe to do this.

Vet appointment this morning @ 11:30 @ MedVet, Columbus. He has lost more weight and I'd classify him as emaciated at this point. They're going to recheck his liver profile (elevated back in August, normal 10 days ago), CBC (elevated white count 10 days ago), another fPLI for pancreatitis (was in middle of bottom third - normal range back in July), ultrasound of liver (diffuse hepatopathy in August; needle biopsy inconclusive), and chest x-rays (his breathing seems a bit congested). I pick him up after the ultrasound at 4.

Poor little guy. I have a bad feeling, though I hope I'm wrong.
 
Vet visit summary
Weight: 3.25 kgs (7.15 pounds) <-- he should weigh about 11 pounds :-(
Heart Rate: 220
Temperature: 1.1.3
Respiratory Rate: 40

Spot blood glucose: 329
CBC/Profile: Improvement of previously noted liver abnormalities
Spec fPL: results pending
Abdominal Ultrasound: Possible pancreatitis. Continued diffuse hepatopathy. Mild bilateral renomegaly(enlarged kidneys).
Thoracic Radiographs: Within allowable limits. Large liver on radiographs. Official report pending and should return in 24-48 hours.

Recommendations:
Increase insulin to 1 unit subcutaneously, every 12 hours
buprenorphine 0.3 mg/mL - 0.2 mL by mouth twice daily.

So, we still don't know exactly what is wrong and are treating as if it is pancreatitis. If the fPL comes back normal, then suspicion moves to the liver and a biopsy is recommended. If they put him under for a biopsy, his teeth will be cleaned then too.
 
They didn't recommend sub-q fluids? I thought that was "standard" for pancreatitus treatment?

Carl
 
Shoot. Hope they can puzzle this out. It does sound like something in addition to the diabetes. Maybe something that could explain why he reacts so differently to insulin.

Hope it is something that is explained soon and is treatable, BJ.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top