103 PM Test - Dosage Advice Needed Very Soon

Status
Not open for further replies.

SandyandFelix

Member Since 2011
I have been shooting .1 but today I gave .25. Felix just tested at 103......Do I continue with the .25 dosage or go back to the .1 dose???
 
Cross post this over on Health - there aren't many signed on at this hour so you might get an answer from over there faster (????).
 
Hi Sandy, I am not a dosing expert so I don't usually give advice, but I see you are not getting a response. 103 is a fairly low preshot, would you be able to get a +1 or +2 after your shot? When is your shot time?

ETA - just saw the thread over in Health with a couple of responses, it is probably better to use that thread.
 
Sandy: I'm not sure why you raised the dose to .25u? We don't dose on the preshot....we dose on the nadir.

I know you've been trying to get daytime tests, but until you are able to get at least one pm mid-cycle test, I would not have taken him up in dose.

It's really important that you be consistent in dosing.

ETA: also have to ask you again to please post with the date and his name in the subject line and to please post at +11 so we have some time.......
 
Hi Sandy. I think your cat has a very good chance of going into remission and being a diet controlled diabetic, one day.
Maybe, soon. But, this insulin Lantus, likes consistancy. That means shooting the same dose, 12 hours apart, whenever possible. You did good to post over in Health to get some more advice. I'm just not sure either, why you shot 0.25, when your regular dose is 0.10. I would stick with the 0.10. Put on your patience pants, and one day in the near future (hopefully), you may be able to try him on 0 insulin to see how that goes. That's exciting.
For now, get as many tests as you can...nadir and mid-cycle and keep posting.

One thing that I do, especially when it's a work day and I have to leave for 10 1/2 hours,
is to get a +11 test, and then a +12 pre-shot test and compare the two.
If they are the same then I know my cat is surfing along.
If he's going up (and not too low), then I know it's safe to shoot.
If he's going down, then I may have to stall without feeding, and test again in 30 minutes, and hope for a rising number.

Tomorrow, please make the Subject Line on your first post say something like:
01/13 Felix AMPS 105 (or whatever the test result is)
That helps us to help you, as that is how we are all used to seeing everyone's post and can scan down the lists of posts to see how everyone is doing. If you need extra or immediate help, then you can add more to the Subject Line, like 01/13 Felix AMPS 100 Dose Help?
or 01/13 Felix +11 90, +12 88 Should I Shoot?
or 01/13 Felix AMPS 100, +1 70, +1.5 55 Eyes Please!
Those are just some examples of Subject Lines that would help us to help you.
 
01/13 Felix AMPS 105

So, I guessed right on the AMPS for today? Wow. :cool:

If you wanted to open a new condo for today.. you would make the Subject Line just like I did above.

Okay, can you set an alarm, like I do and get up and do a mid-cycle test, tonight?
I wake up to the alarm, drag myself out of bed, go to the testing spot (with treats, of course), do the test, pull out the strip, turn off the lights and head right back to bed and to sleep. Sometimes, I have to look at the meter to see if I really tested or just dreamed I tested. It's called sleep testing :lol: or near sleep testing. Good luck, tonight.
You're doing great.
 
Great idea from Dyana. If you don't use a designated testing spot and Felix sleeps with you, you can even put all the testing supplies on your nightstand. That's what I do with Grace as she sleeps cuddled next to me. From wake up time to back to sleep time is usually less than one minute because she's right there with all her stuff.

Good luck. :-D
 
hi sandy! did brittini head back to school? my youngest went back last sunday.

felix is sure looking great! i'm glad you made it over here to lantus land - it's always good to have advice from lots of experienced people. really helps - sometimes one will see what another misses, or have some great suggestion.

love it that felix is doing so well on that .1! i have some serious dose-envy going on!

you're doing a fabulous job catching mid-cycle tests and all. well done!
 
Hi Julie,

Yes, Brittini went back to college. She comes home on the weekends....so I am lucky to have her here to help when I can't test.

I am so glad that Felix is doing very well! We had a short experience with his disease back in 2009 when he was first diagnosed. It took about 4 months to get OTJ. =)

We have to relearn everything, so it can get a little confusing but I'm so happy to get everyone's advice.

Thanks for checking in!
 
it would be hard to unlearn another insulin - we used prozinc for a couple of months, but i didn't know anything about it.

it's nice she gets to come home on weekends, although i think i'm ok with mine not coming home quite that often! ;-) :lol: my just-graduated son is living with us - that's plenty!

am i remembering right that you were thinking felix needs a dental and that might be what threw him out of remission?
 
Wow, you have a great memory! When we took Felix to the vet, we discovered that his gums were red and he has lots of plaque on his teeth. Probably from eating only wet food. We tried feeding raw for a while but it got to be quite expensive. Felix goes in for teeth cleaning and possibly a pulling next Friday. The vet said that the red gums could mean he has gingivitis.

We only have Britt and she is always a joy to have around. She is so helpful and contributes so much when she is here. Sometimes I have to tell her to relax and take a break but she wants me to relax because she knows that I hardly ever get to sit down with the busy schedule that I have and she likes to relieve some of the duties I have. My husband has been on disability for a couple of years so I am the one that has the grunt of the tasks to complete plus I work an hour away and have to deal with the heavy commute traffic that sometimes turns my drive home into two hours one way on the road.
 
We have information on dental procedures if you want it. This is a link to a flyer on periodontal work and what's considered state-of-the-art. There is an FDA black box warning on the use of Metacam which many vets seem to like as a pain med. If Felix is going to have extractions, many people here ask for buprenorphine. Likwise, many vets will give a shot of Convenia as a post-procedure antibiotic. If your cat has had this antibiotic in the past, it may be fine. However, it lasts for 2 weeks so if your cat experiences side effects, you're stuck with it. Many of us ask for an alternative antibiotic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top