100-300 is considered regulated in a diabetic cat???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christianna

Member Since 2014
Before our vet dumped us last week, he got on my case because I was concerned Noodle was hovering around the 300 mark most of the time and I wanted an insulin adjustment of some kind. He told me I should "be the heck happy with it" if Noodle didn't top 300. Isn't 300 over the renal threshold and way too high, and would cause lots of other problems if allowed to continue? Has anyone heard this kind of info before? Thanks for any thoughts.

Christi
 
Yes, 300 is over the renal threshold. There is some disagreement in the various vet journal literature on where that renal threshold is, generally considered somewhere in the 200-280 range for a cat.

While your vet may be happy to see your cat in the 300 range, being over the renal threshold will cause slow but steady nerve and organ damage to your kitty. So for that reason, we recommend having the kitty below renal threshold as much as possible. Of course, it's not always possible, but you do the best you can.

While your vet may be ok with having your cat "regulated", the latest goal for a diabetic cat is diet controlled remission. That goal is in many vet journal published articles for at least the last 6-10 years.

We sure do hope we can help you to get your kitty Noodle into better BG levels and maybe even that diet controlled status.

Keep asking questions and we'll help as best we can. Lots of experience here in the day to day management of diabetes.

Hope that new vet works out better for you and Noodle and is willing to treat your relationship as a partnership in Noodles care.
 
[False assumption removed by moderator]

Comparing a human glucometer to a pet-specific glucometer is like reading temperature in Celsius vs Fahrenheit. Both are correct. You just need to know the reference ranges to interpret what the numbers mean.

[Glucose reference ranges are unsubstantiated and have been removed by Moderator]


* * * * * * * * * * * * * * *​
Examples of using the chart:

Ex. You are a new insulin user and you test your cat before giving insulin. The test is 300. It probably is safe to give insulin.

Ex. You are an established user of Lantus, following the Tight Regulation protocol. You've tested around +5 to +7 to spot the nadir. It is 200 mg/dL. You probably need to increase the dose, following the instructions for the protocol.

Ex. Your cat is acting funny. The eyes are a bit dilated. You are concerned and test the glucose. The number is 35 mg/dL. ACK! The cat may be in a hypoglycemic state. You quickly follow the HYPO protocol linked in the glucose reference values chart. (which we really, really, suggest you print out and post on your refrigerator.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top