10 month old Burmese more than likely Type 1!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wazza hall

Member Since 2018
Took our 10 month old Burmese to see a cat diabetic specialist and it turns out he is more than likely a type 1 diabetic which they said was exceptionally rare and in 35 years they had only ever heard of one case other then Chillis.
The Boy is currently on 1iu of lantus 12 hourly and his numbers pre shot are more often then not 19/20 and his low is +4/+5 around 5/7 but he only stays in these low numbers for a short period of time before he goes up again achieving a very short curve.
They have suggested trying him on levimir instead of lantus and it could keep his levels lower for longer and just wondered what people's thoughts were on this as were unsure weather to change over?
Would the ammount of levimir administered be 1iu like the lantus or would the dose be different as were just looking into it all now.
Thanks in advance for any advice!
 
Hi! Welcome!

Are you home testing? How long has he been taking insulin since april? How did you determined the 1 unit dose? What is he eating?

It will help for the very experienced people here if you could post the test results that you have, it could be he needs a little dose adjustment, insulin isn't like medicine that you determine dose based on weight and that dose do not changes, insulin dose has to be adjusted with time but with out information is hard to say
 
Hi! Welcome!

Are you home testing? How long has he been taking insulin since april? How did you determined the 1 unit dose? What is he eating?

It will help for the very experienced people here if you could post the test results that you have, it could be he needs a little dose adjustment, insulin isn't like medicine that you determine dose based on weight and that dose do not changes, insulin dose has to be adjusted with time but with out information is hard to say
Thanks for the reply
Yes we home test and chilli has been on insulin since going into severe DKA at the end of April.
He weighs 3.8kg and started on a dose of 2iu as his numbers were always high but as his numbers have decreased so did his dose to where we are now at 1iu.
His diet is a very low carb one which is one of the fancy feast varieties off dr lisa pearsons list.
To begin with preshot he was always above 27 as the meter just said high and 27 is the highest it reads to and his lows were around 12 but now his high is 19/20 preshot and lows +4/+5 are between 5/7.
Will put the full curve figures when i get home from work.
 
I would encourage you post to on the Lantus and levemir forum page. There are many experienced people there who deal with Lantus and levemir every day and will help you . There have also been a few young cats with diabetes as well.
Here is the like link
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-glargine-levemir-detemir.9/

I switched from Lantus to levemir and found that the duration of the insulin is definitely longer and some cats feel better on levemir too. If Chillis is having only short duration I would swap over.
If you do swap over we recommend you start with 70% of your current dose.
But do check out the link above......you will get loads of help and support there.

He is a beautiful boy!
 
With levemir you would start with a lower dose. For most cats levemir has a longer flatter curve. The low point (nadir) late in the cycle, so you would be giving shots at lower numbers. However, my Olive of course does not follow this. Levemir works on her just like Lantus.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top