10 June Tucker: AMPS 17.2 (310). Gave 2.5 units Lantus pen

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Jeff, I've done the treat conditioning with Tucker......maybe he is a slow learner?? They also say that the edges of the ears have few nerve endings so it shouldn't really hurt but he yelps when the test is done. It makes me feel terrible to cause him pain-but it really does seem to hurt him.
 
Sorry to hear that Tucker is ALSO a slow learner. Leo was too. It took a long time to train him. Now we are almost at the third year. So Leo has gotten used to it. He does shake his head after the test though.

I would say that the ears do have nerves, but this is no more painful than pulling a drop out of our fingers. Irritating but not horrible. It's unfortunate but there is no real better method. Some very few people pull the test thru their cat's paws.
 
I'm hoping he comes around. Our vet did tell me there is a device that you can put on their backs which allows BG scans without having to stick them multiple times. She described it as a pad you put onto their backs once, and it lasts a couple of weeks. The initial pad is about $100 and then the replaceable attachment is $100. She said it is good for the early days after diagnosis when lots of monitoring needs to be done.
 
Yeah, but you would have to shave him and keep him shaved. He would be walking around for a week with his poor head hanging low because none of the other kittehs are shaved. With Leo, he would probably pull it off. We do have one member using it, but I can't remember who. They had BG readings every 2 hours....and we thought they were staying up 24 hours a day!
 
I'm hoping he comes around. Our vet did tell me there is a device that you can put on their backs which allows BG scans without having to stick them multiple times. She described it as a pad you put onto their backs once, and it lasts a couple of weeks. The initial pad is about $100 and then the replaceable attachment is $100. She said it is good for the early days after diagnosis when lots of monitoring needs to be done.
@Tucker
This alphatrak device you mention above has been available in Australia for almost 18 months. As far as I am aware it is mainly used in the first few weeks of FD. Vets seem to think that after that the cat will be fine and only need the checking BSL every so often!
@Girlie's mom used one in the beginning. There have been a couple of other Aussies who used it, but I can't recall who. Someone said the cat found it irritating but I can't think who that was either.
However you are already testing so really it would be a bit of a waste of money and as the alphatrak numbers are a bit different to the human meter numbers you will have to get your mind around that as well.
I'd save my money for something else more pressing ;)
 
Hi @Tucker!

I've been away for a little while, but I thought I'd jump in as I saw you were in Australia and my name has been mentioned. If you're using the AlphaTrak and want to know where to order test strips, just let me know. Also, I no longer use the AlphaTrak2 test strips, but I still have 5 unopened boxes, so if you'd like them - or if anyone knows of anyone in Australia who wants them - let me know. I'm happy to give you a really good deal! :-)

We can't get 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia, so I get mine at Hyperdrug UK. They come really quickly. I see that Bron gave you the link. These are the ones to order just again: https://www.hyperdrug.co.uk/BD-Microfine-Insulin-Syringes-03ml-pack-of-100/Productinfo/BDMICROFINE03ML/

I use this magnifying headset: works great for seeing those tiny numbers.

I use the ContourNext glucose monitor. I got it for free from the distributors here in Australia. I also got a second one as a backup. I'll have to check where I ordered that one, though! It was quite cheap. I get the test strips online at ebay. They're usually about $38 for 100 strips.

I've attached a really useful document that has a lot of information on feline diabetes and also shows how to use the insulin ruler. Note that you can't use this insulin ruler with all syringes!

Cheers,
Darrah
 

Attachments

Hi @Tucker!

I've been away for a little while, but I thought I'd jump in as I saw you were in Australia and my name has been mentioned. If you're using the AlphaTrak and want to know where to order test strips, just let me know. Also, I no longer use the AlphaTrak2 test strips, but I still have 5 unopened boxes, so if you'd like them - or if anyone knows of anyone in Australia who wants them - let me know. I'm happy to give you a really good deal! :)

We can't get 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia, so I get mine at Hyperdrug UK. They come really quickly. I see that Bron gave you the link. These are the ones to order just again: https://www.hyperdrug.co.uk/BD-Microfine-Insulin-Syringes-03ml-pack-of-100/Productinfo/BDMICROFINE03ML/

I use this magnifying headset: works great for seeing those tiny numbers.

I use the ContourNext glucose monitor. I got it for free from the distributors here in Australia. I also got a second one as a backup. I'll have to check where I ordered that one, though! It was quite cheap. I get the test strips online at ebay. They're usually about $38 for 100 strips.

I've attached a really useful document that has a lot of information on feline diabetes and also shows how to use the insulin ruler. Note that you can't use this insulin ruler with all syringes!

Cheers,
Darrah
Hi @Tucker!

I've been away for a little while, but I thought I'd jump in as I saw you were in Australia and my name has been mentioned. If you're using the AlphaTrak and want to know where to order test strips, just let me know. Also, I no longer use the AlphaTrak2 test strips, but I still have 5 unopened boxes, so if you'd like them - or if anyone knows of anyone in Australia who wants them - let me know. I'm happy to give you a really good deal! :)

We can't get 1/2 unit syringes here in Australia, so I get mine at Hyperdrug UK. They come really quickly. I see that Bron gave you the link. These are the ones to order just again: https://www.hyperdrug.co.uk/BD-Microfine-Insulin-Syringes-03ml-pack-of-100/Productinfo/BDMICROFINE03ML/

I use this magnifying headset: works great for seeing those tiny numbers.

I use the ContourNext glucose monitor. I got it for free from the distributors here in Australia. I also got a second one as a backup. I'll have to check where I ordered that one, though! It was quite cheap. I get the test strips online at ebay. They're usually about $38 for 100 strips.

I've attached a really useful document that has a lot of information on feline diabetes and also shows how to use the insulin ruler. Note that you can't use this insulin ruler with all syringes!

Cheers,
Darrah
Hi Darrah,

Thanks for all of that. Your response was very timely in that today Tucker had a range of AMPS tests. The first one was so unexpected I re-tested and it was wayyy off the first test, then a 3rd test was even further off. Such huge swings make me wonder why I bothered testing him, it just seems like it was a shot in the dark. I've ordered the ContourNext monitor today, I'm so unsure of the Freestyle Lite at this stage. I'm online now looking for the best deal on test strips, I've not found any in stock in SA yet. Do you know of a chemist that carries them instock by chance? Thanks!
 
Hi Darrah,

Thanks for all of that. Your response was very timely in that today Tucker had a range of AMPS tests. The first one was so unexpected I re-tested and it was wayyy off the first test, then a 3rd test was even further off. Such huge swings make me wonder why I bothered testing him, it just seems like it was a shot in the dark. I've ordered the ContourNext monitor today, I'm so unsure of the Freestyle Lite at this stage. I'm online now looking for the best deal on test strips, I've not found any in stock in SA yet. Do you know of a chemist that carries them instock by chance? Thanks!
Ok, I just paid 91.00AUD for 300 test strips but they are coming from the US so I won't have them for a week. Fingers crossed this works out better than the FreeStyle did for us.
 
Hi Darrah,

Thanks for all of that. Your response was very timely in that today Tucker had a range of AMPS tests. The first one was so unexpected I re-tested and it was wayyy off the first test, then a 3rd test was even further off. Such huge swings make me wonder why I bothered testing him, it just seems like it was a shot in the dark. I've ordered the ContourNext monitor today, I'm so unsure of the Freestyle Lite at this stage. I'm online now looking for the best deal on test strips, I've not found any in stock in SA yet. Do you know of a chemist that carries them instock by chance? Thanks!

Don't get the Contour Next test strips from a chemist! Get them from ebay. You'll pay WAY too much at the chemist! It's shocking how expensive text strips are here compared to in the U.S. I'm going to stock up when I'm in the U.S. in a few weeks myself. :-)
 
Don't despair re: the number swings! This is typical at the beginning as their bodies try to adjust to insulin and new food. If you want to feel better, just look at Girlie's spreadsheet from 2017: Insane drops and bounces! She settled down finally when I switched her to Levemir (Detemir), and she's got lovely numbers now, but the early months drove me crazy.

What food are you feeding? Are you feeding wet food? I drove myself crazy as well trying to figure out what low carb, medium carb and high carb food I could get here in Australia. You need all three so you can deal with quick drops or a hypo incident. Absolutely IDEAL for hypo (drops into dangerous lime green territory) are the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen pouches: just cut the edge off and squeeze the gravy out and give it a tsp at a time if you have a hypo number. This enables you to get higher carbs in without filling their tummies too quickly. You can find links to the hypo toolkits and how to handle a hypo on this sticky.
The Weruva Cats in the Kitchen cans are also really good as far as being low carb and low phosphorous (important if you have a kitty with kidney issues).

I've attached a list from Dr Pierson's US food chart of food with carb values, phosphorous, etc. Just be aware that the Wellness cans (e.g. Beef with Salmon, etc.) have changed their ingredients, so they're now much, much higher in phosphorous. I've also attached my Excel SS (__MC and HC.xlsx) that has a tab for MC (medium carb and high carb) and LC (low carb) food that I keep taped to my wall so I can easily know what to give Girlie when. The parenthetical references after the LC foods are the phosphorous levels.

Are you familiar with the protocols (star low go slow (SLGS) and tight regulation (TR)? It takes time for their little bodies to get used to having insulin again, so you might see wild swings in numbers. Girlie used to bounce really high when she got a yellow number or a blue number because her body wasn't used to having lower numbers. This is very common. I know how hard it is to wear patience pants (as they say here!), but it's worth it and we've all been there with the frustration and anxiety. You're in a great place: FDMB helped me get Girlie to where she is today and also saved me from losing my mind (as my vet didn't really know much about how to handle feline diabetes; many don't and advise dose switches that are too drastic too quickly - a source of frustration for many starting out on this board...) :-)

I hope this helps! :bighug:

I'm from the US originally as well: D.C. I understand that you're a transplanted Yank as well? :-)
 

Attachments

Don't despair re: the number swings! This is typical at the beginning as their bodies try to adjust to insulin and new food. If you want to feel better, just look at Girlie's spreadsheet from 2017: Insane drops and bounces! She settled down finally when I switched her to Levemir (Detemir), and she's got lovely numbers now, but the early months drove me crazy.

What food are you feeding? Are you feeding wet food? I drove myself crazy as well trying to figure out what low carb, medium carb and high carb food I could get here in Australia. You need all three so you can deal with quick drops or a hypo incident. Absolutely IDEAL for hypo (drops into dangerous lime green territory) are the Weruva Cats in the Kitchen pouches: just cut the edge off and squeeze the gravy out and give it a tsp at a time if you have a hypo number. This enables you to get higher carbs in without filling their tummies too quickly. You can find links to the hypo toolkits and how to handle a hypo on this sticky.
The Weruva Cats in the Kitchen cans are also really good as far as being low carb and low phosphorous (important if you have a kitty with kidney issues).

I've attached a list from Dr Pierson's US food chart of food with carb values, phosphorous, etc. Just be aware that the Wellness cans (e.g. Beef with Salmon, etc.) have changed their ingredients, so they're now much, much higher in phosphorous. I've also attached my Excel SS (__MC and HC.xlsx) that has a tab for MC (medium carb and high carb) and LC (low carb) food that I keep taped to my wall so I can easily know what to give Girlie when. The parenthetical references after the LC foods are the phosphorous levels.

Are you familiar with the protocols (star low go slow (SLGS) and tight regulation (TR)? It takes time for their little bodies to get used to having insulin again, so you might see wild swings in numbers. Girlie used to bounce really high when she got a yellow number or a blue number because her body wasn't used to having lower numbers. This is very common. I know how hard it is to wear patience pants (as they say here!), but it's worth it and we've all been there with the frustration and anxiety. You're in a great place: FDMB helped me get Girlie to where she is today and also saved me from losing my mind (as my vet didn't really know much about how to handle feline diabetes; many don't and advise dose switches that are too drastic too quickly - a source of frustration for many starting out on this board...) :)

I hope this helps! :bighug:

I'm from the US originally as well: D.C. I understand that you're a transplanted Yank as well? :)

Thank you for all of that information. Yes, I'm from Southern California but have lived in Adelaide for over 20 years now. I am feeding Tucker BARF raw kangaroo and turkey pouches as well as CORE kitten (2% carb). We also feed him the shredded chicken tubs from Costco for his 'good boy treats' when he gets his blood tested. We have FF "classic" for the low carb option and a few cans of their regular food. Tucker gets wet only after 5 years of Advance dry and Science Diet dry foods. We took all dry food away once we found this forum. The only thing I'm still unsure of is what to do when we do get a blue number. For instance, I tested him before bed tonight at 11pm and he was 10.9. That is one of his lowest numbers yet but I wonder if it is so low that I should stay up and retest to make sure it is not heading to super low/dangerously low?
 
To Group - corrections welcome
Hi Patty

You are just making us jealous, with the talk about Adelaide! Must be nice there.

For Tucker's range, he is not even close to "dangerous". Let's discuss ranges. First about monitors.
Freestyle
- is a human meter
-safe range is 2.7 or above, hypo is 2.6 or below <<<--- This is for Tucker

Alphatrak

- is specifically for cats/dogs, with higher numbers than Freestyle
- (hypo is 65 US / 3.6 International - or below) <<-- this is for my Leo

The spreadsheet you are using shows lime green for (BG < 2.7). That is your guide, and easy to remember. Numbers above 2.7 are safe.

Following is from the Beginner's Guide to Prozinc (which I helped write). The numbers are appropriate for Tucker and his Freestyle Lite meter.

FDMB has general BG references for use with human meters: A cat is considered regulated if BG is in the mid-200s mg/dL {mid-11s mmol/L} for pre-shot and in low 100s mg/dL {low 5.6s mmol/L} or double digits (U.S. mg/dL) for nadir. (BUT not below 50 mg/dL {2.8 mmol/L} which is approaching hypoglycemia range, which is too-low blood glucose - we commonly call this “hypo.”) If you are using an Alpha Trak2 (pet meter) your hypo range starts at 69 mg/dL {3.8 mmol/L} and below. Again: You may want to consider raising your No-Shoot number to as much as 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} in the beginning of this sugar dance when using a pet-specific meter. That’s your and your vet’s decision.
 
Last edited:
Better format for the Prozinc extract:

Cat is considered regulated if:
preshot BG = mid-11s mmol/L
nadir BG = between (2.8 mmol/L - 5.6s mmol/L)

Cat is in hypoglycemia if:
below 2.8 mmol/L which is approaching hypoglycemia range, which is too-low blood glucose - we commonly call this “hypo.”)

---------
You may want to keep notes, or links to notes in your spreadsheet. It is your spreadsheet, so you can modify it. You can add another tab. Then you can paste text into cells in that tab. Or you can paste links there too.

For example, look at my Leo's spreadsheet. There are a bunch of tabs. One of the tabs is just links.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Sm8piTVi2Dk1bdG6HDIOfL8g5RGzvC_oY1X3mDHNIYI/pubhtml#

For example, you can create the new tab, and call it "Links". Then you can paste a link to this very post in your spreadsheet. Each post has a number. If you click on the number, that is the URL for that post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ave-2-5-units-lantus-pen.196730/#post-2216287

I think FDMB is a great resource. One issue I have here is the organic growth has resulted in some disorganized info. For example, it is not simple for a new user to find BG ranges for Alphatrak vs Freestyle. And I consider some of the stickies to be a bit wordy, which makes it hard to find info quickly.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top