10/9 Tom AMPS 337 PMPS 331 +2 252 +3 171

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sonia & Tom (GA)

Member Since 2010
I need guidance. Tom has not had a shot in over 3 years.
His eating is inconsistent, no idea what impact Lantus will have with Pred and subqs. He used to respond strongly to small amounts.

Thinking of starting at .25. I'm here all day. Thoughts?
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 1st dose?

I am not one to know about starting doses, but if he responded to small amounts before, it may be safe to start at the .25u and you still have his shed to build up. It could be nice and safe for him
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 1st dose?

I agree with Gayle. 0.25u is pretty small of a dose and it should take 3 days or 6 cycles to build-up. Keep in mind the subq's will have some impact, but 0.25 is about as small as you can get. After that it is drops of insulin.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 1st dose?

sorry you're back. :sad:

Usually the suggested starting dose is 0.25u per kg of ideal weight (normally that is in the neighborhood of 1 unit). There's nothing wrong with starting lower, though, as long as you are willing to increase the dose quickly if it's not working. Especially with a cat that is returning from the falls, the best strategy is to get them back into normal numbers quickly. You don't want him getting used to hanging out in pink.

The link in your signature is broken. Here is Tom's spreadsheet.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 1st dose?

Libby and Lucy said:
sorry you're back. :sad:

Usually the suggested starting dose is 0.25u per kg of ideal weight (normally that is in the neighborhood of 1 unit). There's nothing wrong with starting lower, though, as long as you are willing to increase the dose quickly if it's not working. Especially with a cat that is returning from the falls, the best strategy is to get them back into normal numbers quickly. You don't want him getting used to hanging out in pink.

The link in your signature is broken. Here is Tom's spreadsheet.

Thanks Libby.
I thought i had fixed the link. I just tried again.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325

+2 325

Only first dose. He's been eating a combination of wet and dry. We'll probably have to adjust.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325

Hi Tom and Sonia,
We hope that your stay in LL will be brief and that you'll be back at the Falls very soon. Good luck with the dose.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325

Hopefully you will start to see Tom acting better and the lower numbers should follow close behind.
Maybe the vet can suggest what food would be best, but I imagine maybe the dry food could irritate his tongue?
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325

He's got a full selection: FF and Wellness wet, Wellness and Royal canin dry.
He just needs to eat. We'll adjust with the dose.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286

Hello again, and hoping to say goodbye soon! :-D Was there anything in particular going on health-wise that might account for the end of the honeymoon?
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286

Kathy and Kitty said:
Hello again, and hoping to say goodbye soon! :-D Was there anything in particular going on health-wise that might account for the end of the honeymoon?

Right now, it's a combination of starting Pred and feeding him dry food. We're trying to get him to eat anything and buy time to allow the pred to work (fingers crossed).

I should have included my previous post, here it is:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=53750
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286

Sonia, I'm so sorry I didn't see the Dx in your signature. I'm just sending lots and lots of positive eat-a-lot-vines.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286

Kathy and Kitty said:
Sonia, I'm so sorry I didn't see the Dx in your signature. I'm just sending lots and lots of positive eat-a-lot-vines.

Thank you. We need a lot of those. The support of everyone here is always amazing. We need lots of help.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286 PMPS 331

Ok, so not much movement at all today. Will not wait and will increase now to 0.50.
About 30 minutes early on the 12 hour cycle, got up too late this morning :oops: . Need to get back on.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286 PMPS 331

good luck with the new dose. IMHO, I think this is a better place to start than 0.25. I would hold 0.5 for at least 2-3 cycles to see what it does.
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286 PMPS 331

Libby and Lucy said:
good luck with the new dose. IMHO, I think this is a better place to start than 0.25. I would hold 0.5 for at least 2-3 cycles to see what it does.

I was just chicken...
 
Re: 10/9 Tom AMPS 337 +2 325 +4 286 PMPS 331

aw, Sonia...sorry to see all that's going on...

sending healing vines Tom's way!

celi & binks
 
We have blue! I think I'll test again at +4, just to keep my mind at ease before bed.
Tom's looking good though. And he ate well :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top