10/9 Stella PMPS/292

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Stella's Condo

Good morning all!

Well, I hope I am not completely missing Stella's dips with the schedule they have me on at work. For example, on 10/5 Her amps was 284 and she dipped to 38. Stella doesn't have a consistent nadir, so I hope she is doing ok. She put up a HUGE fight this morning while I was trying to give her injection. She hissed and kicked. Oh dear. I finally got a shot under her arm. Honestly, I would have injected anywhere she was giving me such a difficult go at it!

After breakfast she became all loves and hugs. :o Thank goodness. Hopefully she was just hungry cranky. We are going back to bed. I have a later shift again today...
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255

I hate it when they give the hissy spits fits (that's what I like to call them :lol: ) Hopefully surf nicely for you (got that, Miss Stella? I'm urging to surf N I C E L Y for your Momma Bean). Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255

we need to start a company staffed by forum members that pays wages generous enough to pay for FD supplies, and let the cats write the schedules!
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255 +4/239

:lol: :lol: :lol: Sounds good to me!

Well, Stella needs some guidance. She has gone flat. I guess she is going to yank me back up the dose ladder again. Thanks alot Stella. I wouldn't mind if there wasn't so much drama involved and lack of sleep.

Experts...in hindsight... was there a misstep somewhere? I just don't get this monthly roller coaster.
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255 +4/239

i'm not an expert, but my guess is that you're changing the dose too quickly. not sure why you went back up on 10/7 to 2u in the pm. that was probably too quickly, but now that you're at 2u i'd stay there for a few days (6 shots) to let her settle in. according to the protocol you should've stayed at the 1.75 for 6-10 cycles.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

fortunately, we all seem to have endless opportunities to try again! :lol:
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255 +4/239

Julie, I will take a look again at this when I get to a work computer. :o I think an expert told me should have held, so I went back up. Stella clears bounces quickly (Jill even noted that) so I am apt to believe she is not getting enough insulin now, and her shed emptied and this is the true result. :?:
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255 +4/239

I agree with Julie; I think you gave her too many reductions too quickly and some of the low numbers you were seeing were influenced by the dose of the cycle before or even two cycles before. That makes it hard to sort out exactly where she should be.

I also agree with Julie, as I said day before yesterday, that I would have let her clear her bounce at the 1.75u before taking her up. But now that you did take her up, I would let her go the six cycles on 2u and see what she does before raising her again. You could be seeing NDW right now, a bounce, or she's stalling from coming down the scale too fast.

Patience grasshopper ;-) ;-) :-D And that is said from one who has really had to learn patience during the sugardance. :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 10/9 Stella AMPS 255 +4/239

Hi Mary - I think there's been so much action here of late that everyone needs a few days to catch up, regroup and see how things shake out ;-) ;-) )

You two have been on the A-line for literally the past 14 days...and for the past 7....I wouldn't try and touch seeing a pattern in any of it - it's been sheer bedlam and Stella has been yanking you along for the ride. I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if after all of the ground she's covered, that her system isn't a bit panicky and she's reacting just to react because she doesn't know her head from her.#@!...right now.

If it were me, I'd wait a few and treat these blue to yellows as a bounce...waiting it out a bit to see what happens. This makes even more sense if you know you're not going to be around to test. Maybe her busy little self just needs a few to regroup?
 
Thanks everybody, and believe it or not...tomorrow is already the 6th cycle, so its not like I am completely out of control. :lol: And most certainly the dose decreases were necessary...she was hitting 30's! Everyone was weighing in...so its not like I was being wreckless with her dosing. The minute she was 'safe' everyone walked away so we have been doing the best we can on our own since then. :? In hindsight what would you have done differently??? One of the experts told me to raise it back to 2...or they implied I shouldn't have lowered to 1.75. Perhaps I was too fatigued and still am to do this.
 
Actually, a dose change would be on Tues.

I honestly don't recall anyone telling you to raise the dose. It might have been a miscommunication.

As far as "...everyone walking away," if you need input please make a note on your subject line. Just because someone doesn't leave a comment doesn't mean that they haven't looked at your condo. There are times when there is a lot going on and I can't get to every condo. In fact, most days I can't get to every condo. If you need something, please ask.
 
Mary

I do think you're tired....but that's ok...we all get that way. Stella earned a reduction from 2.25u to 2 the am cycle of 10/4 and you rightly shot 2.25u through the bounce 10/4 pm; but you forgot to take her down to 2u 10/5 am...remember? So she got low during the day so you took her down to 2u 10/5 pm, she got low again, and then you took her down to 1.75u 10/6 am. I believe it was your decision to take her back up to 2u...I couldn't find that anyone recommended that you not take her to 1.75u or that you take her back up to 2u.

We are here to help you no matter if she is high or low. Like Sienne said, you just gotta let us know ;-) :-D :-D

I hope you get some rest!!! You've been working hard.
 
Sienne and Marjorie...I know you are trying to help...and honestly...I think it was mis-communication from too many experts while I was and am still exhausted completely and totally at the end of my rope. I honestly don't know what you very nice ladies are trying to tell me this evening.

According to my math, I have a choice... shoot one more 2U tomorrow AM (Monday) or go 10 cycles until Wed AM and raise or lower Wed PM correct? And HOW do I make that decision??? Poor Stella...she needs someone who doesn't require sleep.

I am editing this to say honestly...I just don't want to do this anymore. (Yes, I did type that through tears...I am just too tired)
 
(((Mary))) we're not trying to upset you esp since you are so tired and worried about Stella. Believe me, we all deal with this exhaustion and I'm sure we all think the same thing "I don't want to do this anymore". But you do continue to do it because you love that little girl with all your heart and soul. It's so evident in your posts.

Take a deep breath, get something yummy for dinner...maybe even some chocolate, curl up with Stella on the couch, try to get some rest. Tomorrow will look so much better.

I think what Sienne means by Tuesday is that since Stella's sixth cycle is tomorrow morning, perhaps wait one more cycle to see what she'll do and then take her up. I've done it both ways....if I was waiting to clear a bounce, then I see if she'll do anything on that 7th cycle and if not....up she goes on the 8th. If I'm dosecreasing and her numbers are high...no bounce, I increase on the 7th cycle.

I'm not sure if this is a bounce or not. It's often hard to tell if it's not enough insulin or it's a bounce ....Sienne may have a better eye for it than I do.

Hang in there...it's ok. You're part of our family.
 
You're right -- I missed one cycle. (It was hiding!)

I don't think Stella is bouncing. You've got this evening and tomorrow to see how the numbers play out.

The long nights are hard. I'm probably chronically sleep deprived at this point. The best I can do is to encourage you to get sleep on nights like tonight when it looks like Stella is surfing in the yellows or maybe blues. She's coming down the dose ladder fairly quickly and this is harder physically than when a cat sits in higher numbers. Hopefully, it's a temporary situation.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top