10/9 Sarge AMPS 281 +1.75 288 +6.5 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alison & Sarge

Member Since 2014
Sarge earned some extra "good boys" this morning. The alarm was set but didn't' go off. No matter, the furry alarm clock did! So all is on schedule and Sarge got his insulin. In the yellow again this morning. I have a suspicion we are hitting blue at some point in the cycle but I haven't caught it. Saturday I think I can sneek in a curve. We got another several inches of rain last night and there is more on the way. Not sure were we are going to put it. Happy Thursday LL friends!


10/7 condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126565
 
Hope you had a great day, Alison! My "kitty" alarm clocks have saved me from oversleeping on several mornings. :lol: That's good news that Lobster has improved (from your last post).

You could certainly be hitting some blues, but it looks to me like Sarge could use a little more insulin, too. I'm not a dosing "expert," though, and would love to hear some others' opinions on it. If you're thinking about increasing (or even if you're thinking you just want to keep holding the dose), you might consider putting up the "?" icon on your first post and posing the question in your subject line. Regardless, I hope the curve this weekend can shed some light on what's going on with Sarge.

Please feel free to send the rain our way. We still have cracks in the ground large enough to swallow kittens up! :YMSIGH: ;-)
 
Hi Alison! If he were mine, i'd increase by 0.25u as soon as i could. You've held him quite a while (2+ weeks?) on this dose and it's pretty clear that he's not getting lower than blue numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

I highlighted both of those lines above, because he has some blue nadirs, but really, most of his nadirs are in the yellow category, so the latter part of the protocol above would apply.

I'd encourage you to think of evaluating his dose and increasing at least once a week. Even the Start Low Go Slow plan has the dose being adjusted weekly - the trouble with staying too long with a dose that isn't getting a cat into normal numbers is that Glucose Toxicity develops. The cat's body becomes accustomed to too-high numbers and accepts them as normal, then it takes even more insulin to budge them out of those high numbers.
 
Thanks for the clarification. It is my intention to adjust his dosage weekly as needed. What was throwing me was his blue's. He seemed to throw one in right at the point were a dosage increase was on the horizon. I am happy to see his pre-shots sliding down slowly and to see less pink lately. However, we need to see more blue and green. I am easing him onto 1.25 units now. I am a little nervous since this dosage brought him low previously but his numbers tell me that a F1.0 is not quite it. Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top