10/9 Pumbaa - not as bad as yesterday *LOL*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
How's that for an encouraging subject? :roll:

AMPS = 330
+4 = 326
+7 = 256
PMPS = 277

He's been on the 1.50U dose for 6 cycles now, and I was thinking of increasing him in the morning, but instead am just going to let the dose ride for another day or so, as it appears that he is finally settling in to the dose. I would love if he would settle in at 250 and below, but I think that's dreaming on my part. I just want him to flatten out a bit again, before raising him any.

I'm still very confused. Common logic would state that when you raise the dose of insulin, the BG numbers should go down. Pumbaa has done the opposite: raise the dose and the numbers go up. Then again, I've learned that there is no "common logic" associated with treating cats with FD. :roll:

If anyone has any compelling reasons for me to raise him in the morning, let me know. If I was following TR, I would feel compelled to raise his dose in the morning. And, depending on what he does tonight, and what his AMPS is in the morning, I might change my mind and increase the dose anyway. Time will tell.

Have great Tuesday nights, folks!

Suze
 
Yep - not as bad as yesterday... there is that.

Well, I am stumped with this guy (and Dante and Miss). What I do know is that it is common for numbers to raise right after an increase and then settle down lower than before. I have also read that increasing numbers "often on a dose increase" can be a sign of overdose. The thing is that rebound should be following a really significant response to the insulin with either a fast drop, deep drop and/or very low numbers. I'm not seeing that with Pumbaa.

Unless he is a lot higher, I think you can hold the dose a few more cycles, but I would not fault you is you raise him in the morning.
 
Thank you, Sheila, for your input.

Add Autumn to your Pumbaa, Dante and Miss questions, as Autumn has also exhibited the same things once switching to Lev. And don't forget Chip...who stayed so high for so long after switching to Lev.

Thankfully, Pumbaa hasn't been diving like he did on Lantus. But these high numbers with higher dose amounts really irks me/confuses me.

We'll see in the morning if I felt a need to increase or stay at the status quo.

Suze
 
Pumbaa had a beautiful 218 for his AMPS, so I kept him at 1.50U to see what he does today. I won't even type what I'm praying he does, so I don't jinx it. *LOL*

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
Pumbaa had a beautiful 218 for his AMPS, so I kept him at 1.50U to see what he does today. I won't even type what I'm praying he does, so I don't jinx it. *LOL*

Suze


shhhhh....praying here too ;-)
 
Well, he didn't do what I wanted him to do, which was go from the 218 down into blue numbers. But, I am happy that he was flat yellow all day again so far. Oh, I just did a 10/10 Pumbaa update.
 
I can SO relate to how you feel! I am at the point that anything that isn't pink or red is a good day. :lol: My moods are in direct opposition to her numbers....she's high, I am low; she's low and I am high. What an emotional work out!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top