10/9 Olive PMPS 129, 114+2, 96+3, 85+4, 78+4.5, 85+5,94+5.5, 93+6, 115+7

OlivesMom

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...th-update-on-cindys-appt.236559/#post-2653502

Very glad to see Olive out of the black today. Her numbers aren't too far off from those on September 29th after she got the insulin increase for the first time to that 3/4 unit area so I'll be anxious to see what her numbers do today knowing she received just slightly less than that this time around. She's also on a flat 50/50 mix of raw to DM with zero altering this ratio through the day until the 29th when we finally get some answers from the holistic vet as to her dietary needs. We are opting for stability for these three weeks before her appointment. We shall see what happens, especially with the tad insulin increase along with it.
 
She's 96+6. Here's a number I haven't seen in a long time. It was her normal scheduled feeding time so just fed her. I'll retest in a half hour and do what I have to do at that time. The last thing I want to do is panic and create a spike and shorten duration. So I plan to stay calm, go slow, and see what her numbers look like at the retest.
 
Last edited:
She's 96+6. Here's a number I haven't seen in a long time. It was her normal scheduled feeding time so just fed her. I'll retest in a half hour and do what I have to do at that time. The last thing I want to do is panic and create a spike and shorten duration. So I plan to stay calm, go slow, and see what her numbers look like at the retest.
You're doing great, Robyn! View this as all data gathering :) And since you have testing down, you can always get a test whenever you want. Hope Cindy is doing okay :bighug:
 
She's 94+6.5 Any thoughts on my next step? I'm on the fence if I should give a tsp of food now or retest again in another 30 minutes.
 
You're doing great, Robyn! View this as all data gathering :) And since you have testing down, you can always get a test whenever you want. Hope Cindy is doing okay
Thanks so much. I have such little experience with Olive at lower numbers and I always panicked in the past and spiked her as well as ended duration too early so I'm really trying hard to get this right now. I do feel a whole lot more calm about things now. Just need some advice moving forward through the green zone so I keep her from spiking too early yet not wanting to go too low either.
 
If surfing hold and test in 30 without food. If dropping more than a little feed a tsp. I need to leave to pick up my car.
 
question about SLGS. If Olive drops below 90 that's an automatic .25 reduction. I could feed her another tsp to keep her number above the 90, but she's dropping so slowly I kinda hate to interfere at this point. She gets fed again 1 1/2 hours from now @+9. Should I feed a tsp anyways since she'll probably continue to drop through +9 as she's been doing this week? Or just let her be until +9 at food time?
 
I have t left yet. Decided to feed my two since I have to walk to get the car and head to the drug store. I would hate for her to earn a reduction right now so feed a little to keep her over 90.
 
Too late. She dipped to 86. :banghead: I fed her another tsp +8. I don't want to have to wait another 14 cycles to try and increase her insulin again when I know what's going to happen. Ugh!
 
Got Cindy's lab results back. It's a hyperthyroid like he thought. He said normal/high range is 4.7 and her level was 10.4. Woa! So hubby is picking up her medicine right now. The great news is her kidneys are GREAT! He wants more labs done in 3 weeks to make sure the right dose is being given so he doesn't hurt her red blood cells if it's too much, and if that comes back good then she can go 6 months before having to have lab work again. Only once he's confident her thyroid levels are normal will he schedule the dental surgery and EKG that goes along with it. So all in all some great news for today. I was concerned about her kidneys so no longer have to worry about that portion of things. He said those thyroid pills work wonders.
 
She barely dropped under 90. If she goes up and stays up it could be within meter variance. I’m not suggesting you not drop the dose. Did you go up the 1/8 or 1/4?

Great news about Cindy. I’m sure he will recheck her kidneys once the thyroid is regulated because it sometimes uncovers some issues. Did you get the pills or ear gel?
 
This is advice just for Olive. Since she was just barely under 90, and you are adjusting the dose with calipers, I'd hold the dose unless she keeps dropping. She was clearing a bounce from last night and that most likely contributed to the number under 90 today.

I hope the pills help stabilize Cindy. Sending prayers.
 
Did you go up the 1/8 or 1/4?
We went up the 1/8th.
his is advice just for Olive. Since she was just barely under 90, and you are adjusting the dose with calipers, I'd hold the dose unless she keeps dropping. She was clearing a bounce from last night and that most likely contributed to the number under 90 today.
That's what hubby thinks. He said the same thing that it was worth trying to keep her at this current increase knowing how poorly she's done on the 0.5 all this time. I'm on the fence. I know she's going to go high again at the original 0.50 dose. And I don't want to have to keep her at a dose for a whole week that I KNOW isn't going to be enough. I'm curious as to what her PMPS number will be. I've never shot below 130. I might be on here at shot time in 2 hours asking for advice if her numbers are still low. But she just ate one of her many small meals at +9 so it should be going up. I'm trying to give her a little break from all the testing.
Did you get the pills or ear gel?
The pills. We didn't want Cindy to scent mark on things and Olive touch the area after.
I hope the pills help stabilize Cindy. Sending prayers.
Thanks so much!
 
My only concern is she has dropped low so fast so many times. I don’t think you want that st all let alone on a night cycle on a Friday. I’d take the reduction snd work on getting the carb mix higher carb before attempting this. I thought about it while I was out walking. That’s my thoughts anyway.
 
My only concern is she has dropped low so fast so many times. I don’t think you want that st all let alone on a night cycle on a Friday. I’d take the reduction snd work on getting the carb mix higher carb before attempting this. I thought about it while I was out walking. That’s my thoughts anyway.
Her carb ratio isn't going to increase until/or at least until the vet visit in 3 weeks. That's sweet of you to be out walking and thinking about my Olive.:bighug:
My only concern is she has dropped low so fast so many times
She definitely has. It's like we can't seem to break the cycle. No increase and she's too high...increase by a quarter unit and she's too low. Increase by half that and she still drops faster than I'd want. I've only got 15 minutes to make a decision and I really don't know what to do. :banghead: :(
 
What's her number at PMPS? Have you tested her yet? Just before her evening meal?

I deal with Luci's dropping numbers just about every day it seems. Usually when she's getting too near the line (for us, that's 40 now with Tresiba) I feed her 13% medium carb to 'steer' her away from that low number. Luci is a championship diver...if I weren't here feeding her she'd head right on down to the very depths of the shark infested waters - she never seems satisfied without pushing for that...every chance she gets.

What level of carb food does Olive seem most sensitive to?
 
What's her number at PMPS? Have you tested her yet? Just before her evening meal?

I deal with Luci's dropping numbers just about every day it seems. Usually when she's getting too near the line (for us, that's 40 now with Tresiba) I feed her 13% medium carb to 'steer' her away from that low number. Luci is a championship diver...if I weren't here feeding her she'd head right on down to the very depths of the shark infested waters - she never seems satisfied without pushing for that...every chance she gets.

What level of carb food does Olive seem most sensitive to?
Just tested her and she's 129. She's more sensitive to the FF gravy packets and not so much the DM/Raw mix. She's only getting about 3.5% carbs from the DM in a 24 hour period.
 
I'm just going to shoot at her old number of .67 on the caliper as she's still low in my eyes. I've shot at 130 only once before and because of her bounce recently I'm afraid of what will happen tonight.
 
I hear you...all the way over here (Wisconsin to Michigan, just across the big lake!). Just hang on and try to ride it out...lets hope she doesn't bounce and that you can keep her riding along in some good numbers....
 
Any thoughts as Olive begins the cycle? Her PMPS was 129 and she's 114+2. She gets fed at +3. I'm concerned because she's normally much higher at +2 and she's lower than the pre shot. I'm just not as knowledable with her at these lower numbers so any advice would be appreciated. Should I feed her a tsp now or wait until +3 when she gets 4tsp at that time?
 
Any thoughts as Olive begins the cycle? Her PMPS was 129 and she's 114+2. She gets fed at +3. I'm concerned because she's normally much higher at +2 and she's lower than the pre shot. I'm just not as knowledable with her at these lower numbers so any advice would be appreciated. Should I feed her a tsp now or wait until +3 when she gets 4tsp at that time?
@tiffmaxee may still be around but if it were my cat, I would feed. The old dose of insulin is wearing off and new dose is about to onset (usually between 2 & 4). What about splitting her +3 dinner into two portions (half now and half at +3)?
 
One more thing...should I stick with her regular food at this point or add some pumpkin into the mix for added carbs? I could also add more DM into the mix instead of the 50/50 ratio
 
I'm getting ready to log off for the night. I just wanted to check in. I'd add a little higher carb food to her +3 meail since she is heading down to try and slow the drop.
 
Do you have medium carb (15%)? I'd give a tsp to help keep her above 90 and I'd retest in 30
All I have is FF turkey pate @ 3.9%, Friskies gravy lovers (don't have a clue what that is), and then the DM @ 7.14%. I know DM is considered a lo carb food. It's all I've got. I simply don't know of what food is out there that's considered medium carb. She's already at 87 and she ate 4 tsp 40 minutes before that. I'm getting worried. I don't seem to be getting ahead of the dip. I can try adding more pumpkin. I only added about a quarter tsp at +2.
 
All I have is FF turkey pate @ 3.9%, Friskies gravy lovers (don't have a clue what that is), and then the DM @ 7.14%. I know DM is considered a lo carb food. It's all I've got. I simply don't know of what food is out there that's considered medium carb. She's already at 87 and she ate 4 tsp 40 minutes before that. I'm getting worried. I don't seem to be getting ahead of the dip. I can try adding more pumpkin. I only added about a quarter tsp at +2.
I would give tsp of gravy lovers - chicken and turkey are 15% and beef is 20%. Carbs are mostly in the gravy (versus the meat).

And you're just learning what Olive responds to. Take notes and use it for next time :bighug:
 
Oh and you said "Friskies"...not sure if you meant Fancy Feast...but either way, gravy = carbs :) Friskies Gravy Sensations range from 14-20%.
 
Oh and you said "Friskies"...not sure if you meant Fancy Feast...but either way, gravy = carbs :) Friskies Gravy Sensations range from 14-20%.
I just got back. I just gave her a tsp of Friskies Gravy Sensations along with 1 tsp of her regular mix so it won't upset her tummy at +4.
Do you have any honey or syrup? Add a teaspoon.
Just saw your comment on the honey. I always have honey on hand. lol. Since I just gave her the gravy at +4 and I'm going to retest at +4.5 and see what that did. That's actually 15 minutes from now, now. I remember she's more sensitive to the gravy than her regular foods and I'm afraid if I add honey into the mix at this time that it'll elevate her too rapidly and then I won't know if it was the honey or the gravy that helped.
 
Ok, she's 78 + 4.5 now. Is it time for a drop of honey and then another tsp of her food with another tsp of gravy on top?
 
Back
Top