10/9 Kitty Cat AMPS 342 +4 210

Christina & Kitty Cat

Member Since 2020
Day 3 of 2u dose. Got some yellows so tomorrow I will increase to 2.25u.
How high of a dose is a "high dose" for a cat his size? He's 9.4lbs now.

10/7 thread History:
  • 9/11-9/13 vomiting, constipation, ketones small
  • 9/14 vet/hospital, started ondansetron + famotidine, "not DKA yet"
  • 9/15 first low number event, HC & honey
  • 9/16 reduced from 1u to 0.5u for 2 cycles
  • 9/17 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 2 cycles, vomit
  • 9/18 first day of greens & blues, reduced from 0.75u to 0.5u for 6 cycles, last day ondansetron
  • 9/21 increased from 0.5u to 0.75u for 8 cycles
  • 9/25 increased from 0.75u to 1u for 6 cycles
  • 9/28 increased from 1u to 1.25u for 6 cycles
  • 10/1 increased from 1.25u to 1.5u for 6 cycles
  • 10/4 increased from 1.5u to 1.75u for 6 cycles
  • 10/7 increased from 1.75u to 2u
 
Hi Christina! Good luck with the increase!

And, someone else may chime in with more eloquent words, but insulin isn't dosed on weight like other drugs. It's a hormone and how much a cat needs depends on a number of things but namely if the pancreas and liver are playing nicely together - this post from @Sue and Luci is great and explains things far better than I ever could.

Also, just to add, TR does use weight for the starting dose but that's just a place to start - after that starting calculation, weight doesn't come into play. Hopefully, I've got most of this right :)
 
Hi Christina! Good luck with the increase!

And, someone else may chime in with more eloquent words, but insulin isn't dosed on weight like other drugs. It's a hormone and how much a cat needs depends on a number of things but namely if the pancreas and liver are playing nicely together - this post from @Sue and Luci is great and explains things far better than I ever could.

Also, just to add, TR does use weight for the starting dose but that's just a place to start - after that starting calculation, weight doesn't come into play. Hopefully, I've got most of this right :)
Ahh thank you so much for the info, this is very helpful!
 
We consider a cat to be on higher doses when they get to 6 units. And those cats have ranged in weight. We've had small cats on large doses and large cats on small doses. ECID.

Good luck with the increase.
 
Back
Top