10/9 JETTA PMPS 205 +1.5 216 +3 246

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jacspets

Member Since 2011
Yesterday Jetta 10/8


Good morning,

Jetta is still reeling from her dry food binge. She's sitting meatloaf style and I just found her passing some kind of orange mucous. I've never seen anything like it before. She ate some at her PM shot, but ate nothing overnight. I'm worried the food flared up her pancreatitis again. Anyway, DO I / CAN I shoot? She's certainly high enough, but I'm worried she'll refuse to eat.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330

Jacklyn,

I wish I could help, but I'm a newbie too. I'm sure someone with experience will be along, hang in there. Poor Jetta baby.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330

Well, after a 30 minute stall, and no replies to my cries for help, I shot. Figures I'd have a conundrum in the wee hours of a Sunday morning! I'm around to monitor her and I can/will syringe feed her if necessary. Still if anyone waking up has good pancreatitis info, what I should do in the early stages, I'm all ears. I can't afford to take her to the ER so I was considering trying to get her into a Banfield, since they have Sunday hours for Fluids and Pain Meds. I think those are the 2 most important things early in Pancreatitis. I'm not sure though.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Well, I just checked Jetta's urine and I think it was Neg. I hate the ketone strips I got. The trace and negative are so similar. Anyway, she just passed more Orange/bloody mucous. I think our best course of action is to go to the ER. I'll give it a little more time...
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Here is a good primer on pancreatitis: Jojo's CP Post

I don't know about orange mucous, though. If you call the vet can they tell you whether they need to see her?

re: the ketone strips, I've always heard that it's actually fairly obvious when the strip changes color to Trace, even though they look fairly similar on the bottle. Try using one on yourself to see what negative is supposed to look like.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Fluid therapy is the course to take and get a proper diagnosis. It sounds like there is some pain as well.

The other side of the coin is it may not be pancreatitis, but a generalized intestinal upset from the binge.

The only way to know is through a vet visit. :sad:
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Jacspets said:
Anyway, she just passed more Orange/bloody mucous. I think our best course of action is to go to the ER. I'll give it a little more time...

I would be heading to the ER if there is blood in the mucous.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Sending tons of healing vines and positive thoughts for Jetta. Unfortunately, I don't know anything about orange mucous, except perhaps she got into something that she shouldn't have..? I'm wishing for her to make a full and speedy recovery. *HUGS* Hang in there, and please keep us posted when you can.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Sending tons of healing vines and positive thoughts for Jetta. Unfortunately, I don't know anything about orange mucous, except perhaps she got into something that she shouldn't have..? I'm wishing for her to make a full and speedy recovery. *HUGS* Hang in there, and please keep us posted when you can.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Thanks Libby Blue and Angela. And Angela- she ate a tone of dry food yesterday- that's what has triggered this mess. After watching the last bit of mucous come out, I think it's orange from blood. Not for sure though.

I did call the ER and got he standard- we can't diagnose anything over the phone. They were super nice though and explained that they'll recommend a full work up and I can pick what treatments I want, so I'd be looking for fluids and pain meds +/- bloodwork and U/A. Meanwhile, thanks to my morning coffee, I'll go see what the neg ketone strip looks like...
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

(((Jaclyn))) Sorry Jetta is so sick. Sending vines for Jetta to feel better and get dignosed. The ER sounds like a good plan and, as they stated, you can pick the tests. We'll be waiting for an update.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

That orange mucous is called Steatorrhea....it's excess fat in the feces and yes, it's a classic sign of a pancreatic attack. It's a malabsorption issues because of the inflammation.

For certainty, she's going to need fluids, pain meds and anti-nausea meds, ..... and potentially electrolytes, antibiotics (although usually a sterile process) and pancreatic enzymes.

I'll post more in a few, but wanted to get this to you.

Edit to Add: OK..I just wanted to check one think related to nutrition (with humans...we hold food but wanted to check re: hpl in felines...no holding in cats). Is she eating?

From a cost effective standpoint....I would to go the vet, get some fluids in her, see if they can teach you how to give subq fluids at home (for the next few days), get some pain meds (bupe sub-lingual of fentanyl patches are common), and an anti-nausea med (dolasetron, ondansetron...both good choices). If she's not eating, the pain meds and anti-nausea will more than likely help and make the difference, (but just note.... if you're monitoring at home and she does not eat....you need to get back in and they'll need to put a tube in for a short period to feed her). I would also consider an electrolyte panel (around $45).
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

If this is pancreatits, with steatorrhea, pancreatic enzymes should be helpful. Also, bupe is much easier to deal with than a fentanyl patch. (They can be murder to get off.)

Re. food: You do want to make sure Jetta is eating. A complication of pancreatitis is hepatic lipidosis. In cats, there is no reason to hold food.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

OK- thank you Jessica and Sienne. She is NOT eating. Since about 10 pm or a little later last night. She takes syringe feeding well, so I don't think I'll need a tube since I can syringe her. I was doing that when she was first diagnsoed with FD.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Take your notes with you OK? I haven't been overly impressed with how I've seen Vet's treat this....
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Thanks- I wrote some notes and I'm just waiting until 10 to see if the Banfield will see her instead of the ER. Unless anyone thinks I'd be better off at the ER?

ETA AMPS +2.5 was 307.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

I'm so sorry to hear Jetta ins't feeling well today. I'll be thinking about you guys today - good luck with the vet visit!
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

I'm so sorry Jetta is sick! Poor baby! And poor you, Jaclyn. :sad: Thank you, Sienne and Jessica, for the info. I am continually amazed at the expertise of LL. Sending tons of healing energy to Jetta and big hugs to you. Hope she is better soon.
Liz
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

We are sending lots of healing vines for Jetta and positive thoughts that she will feel much better soon. I'm glad that you are taking her to the vet.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS 330 I think we're going to the ER

Thank you everyone. Banfield fit us in at 1130 so we're leaving now. I'll update as I can. She has had 3 more episodes of the bloody/orange mucous. I'm bringing a sample for the vet.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Is Meloxicam (metacam) ok for pain?

The Vet here wants to give her Metacam vs Bupe. I asked about Bupe and she said shed give it instead but prefers the Meloxicam. Thoughts? I'm typing this from my phone while we wait on get bloodtests.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Is Meloxicam (metacam) ok for pain?

Metacam has an FDA black box warning for cats...it can cause kidney issues. If I were you, I would refuse metacam and insist on bupe. Just my 2 cents...
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Is Meloxicam (metacam) ok for pain?

I would insist on Bupe. Metacam is not good for cats.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Is Meloxicam (metacam) ok for pain?

aw...sending concentrated healing vines for jetta...and hugs to you, Jaclyn...
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Well, we're home from the vet. Jetta is passing straight blood at this point. I showed the vet (since she delivered a sample on the towel in her carrier) and she said she's seen it that bad before in cats with IBD. She got fluids and a Bupe Injection and Bupe for home. The vet said no food until tonight. I questioned that since she has not eaten in about 16 hours -my best estimate. I did shoot this morning, and her BG at the vet was 309 almost exactly what I got at home. The rest of her blood work was normal.

In your opinion when should I syringe feed her?

Thank you all for the vines and hugs. I feel terrible for Jetta.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

no input on the feeding from us...but sending blizzards of healing snowflakes for Jetta...

7-blizzard-storm.jpg
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Sending you many, many healing vines. I'm glad you got her in so quickly.

When the vets thought Teddi had pancreatitis (before the U/S), they said it used to be that they would withhold food to let the pancreas rest. But now they don't recommend that. I'm always nervous when a kitty is not eating for more than 12 hours but I think that is just me.....I think they say the kitty can go about 24 hours without food or on lower calories without worrying about FHL. Karrie would be the best person to know that so you might want to pm her if you don't get some responses.

So....they think it's pancreatitis brought on by the food gorging or do they think it's IBD?

Hope she is better soon, Jaclyn. HUgs for you both.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Poor Jetta!!!! I hope she feels better...tons and tons of healing vines, good thoughts and prayers coming your way. (((Jaclyn)))
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

oh poor jetta - i'm so sorry you're both going through this. i don't know anything from personal experience, but my reaction would be to try some plain meat baby food or to grind up some plain chicken. she's already had a few hours of not eating, so her gut should be settling down. i'd probably try a teaspoon of food, wait an hour and try another.

i don't think i'd want the not-eating because that can cause so many other problems. but i'm certainly not an expert in this, it's just my inexpert reaction.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Thanks for the update. I don't know about feeding either. Thinking of you and Jetta.
Liz
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Thanks for the update. I don't know about feeding either. Thinking of you and Jetta.
Liz
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Jacspets said:
Well, we're home from the vet. Jetta is passing straight blood at this point. I showed the vet (since she delivered a sample on the towel in her carrier) and she said she's seen it that bad before in cats with IBD. She got fluids and a Bupe Injection and Bupe for home. The vet said no food until tonight. I questioned that since she has not eaten in about 16 hours -my best estimate. I did shoot this morning, and her BG at the vet was 309 almost exactly what I got at home. The rest of her blood work was normal..

Did she give you an indication as to whether she thinks it's IBD or Acute Pancreatitis or both? How much blood are you seeing? Is it bright red or a darker color? With either IBD or AP, I would not hold food (did your vet indicate why to hold?), but I would make sure are feeding a hi quality, low fat protein with a high moisture content (add water if you can). Jetta is having a really hard time digesting anything right now, so the lower the residual, the better.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Hi Jessica,

The vet didn't really say whether she thought it was IBD or AP or both. The blood she felt was more related to her IBD, but it's likely both are flared up. I had never seen this vet before so she was really only going off symptoms and history.

She hasn't passed any blood now in about 2 hours. Most of the blood was bright red and mucousy. The last bit she passed was like bloody, mostly congealed chicken fat. If you've ever boiled a fatty chicken- it was exaclty like the gooey fat that floats, only bloody. (hope no one has a weak stomach!)

She said to hold food until tonight to let her Pancreas rest. I have Hills RX food a/d on hand. That's what I syringe fed her before. Is that OK to use again?
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

A/D is pretty rich for a kitty with possible pancreatitis and/or IBD. I believe Iams makes a low residue GI food to which Jessica referred. Science Diet used to make i/d which is pretty bland...not sure if it is low residue but the Iams is....it's on the can. That would be better for her although it's not of the consistency to syringe. I used it for Teddi and I had to put it in my little blender with water to get it of the consistency to syringe.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Thanks Marje. PetsMart has Hills RX foods. I'll call Banfield now and see if I can get some i/d.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

You might need a script......I know when I tried k/d for my renal civvies, Banfield required a script.....

I looked to see if i/d is described as "low residue" and it isn't but the description of the protein/fat/fiber and the purpose sound similar to the Iams low residue.

I really hope it helps.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

I'd also find out if baby food would be an alternative. (Gerber Stage 2 or Beechnut -- any flavor that's without onions or other veggies.)
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

OK- I'll ask about the baby food. The Banfield is printing a script for the i/d Now.

I don't know what I'd do without this group. You are all so generous to give your time to helping us. My most sincerest thanks to you all.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Marje thanks for jumping in there...I don't know much about the Hill's food. In a pinch, you could always boil some chicken (white meat only, no skin), puree it and bolus (not ideal long term).

For humans....the first thing we do is rest the pancrease...and that's what I was checking this morning....not recommended in cats, so a bit of food soon OK (frequent small meals MUCH better than large)!!!

If the blood was bright red, it was probably from the lower digestive track, lower in the large intestines. The good news here is that you're least likely to have vomiting so hopefully Jetta can hold on to food and an anti-emetic won't be necessary. Low residual does become more important though because the lower the inflammation is in the tract, the more formed the stool will be....so the "rougher" it will be going out. So.....low residual, lots of fluid added, small frequent meals and BIG BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

OK- I have i/d and Beechnut Chicken and Beechnut Turkey (the Gerber had cornstarch in it so I opted for Beechnut). Jetta just got up and tried to use the LB but nothing happened. I'll see if she wants to eat a little and if not syringe her a teaspoon...

ETA- I shoot tonight as normal correct?
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

There's probably nothing left in there to go if she hasn't eaten since yesterday. :sad: :sad:

Can you test her now to see where her bs is? What time is her shot time? I'd like for you to get a small meal with some water in soon, but just want to figure how it will affect numbers, etc.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA AMPS +8.5 194

Ok- at +8.5 she's at 194. She should get her shot at 730 pm EST (normally 7 but I shot 1/2 an hour late this morning). If there is a silver lining to be found it's that this is her first blue in a while. I did syringe feed her a slurry of i/d and water. I gave less than a teaspoon to see how it would sit. If it sits well, I'll give more in about an hour.

ETA- she'll also be due for her bupe about 8 pm. Will that affect her numbers?
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Wow there's a bunch at play here isn't there.....

Ok, let's try to take this in the best approach we can. She can digest little amounts every 30 minutes - that tsp is great for this in between time. Can you do this through +10....that would give her 4 tsp. Do you know the carb content?

Also, are you OK with testing more than usual tonight - a few more spot checks?

Let me know about the above and we'll keep going. I'm trying to figure out how to balance feeding now, an accurate bs test at pre shot and the effects of pain (which will raise bg levels). Once I have the above....we can prioritize OK?
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Ok- yes, there's a lot here. I should also remind you she's on Budesonide. 1 ML between 8-9 pm. I waited an hour from last feed, she's fine. I'll feed her now and every 1/2 hour for the next hour. I can spot check tonight. I already planned to stay in "her" room all night, so no problem there.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

Is that steroid new with this flare or is it something she's been taking for asthma or some other condition....almost there.
 
Re: 10/9 JETTA Home from the vet

She's been on that since August since her FD, IBD, CP dx. Her U/S in August showed really inflamed intestines, so it is for that.

ETA again (sorry I'm losing my mind) Per the Binky's charts i/d is 24% carb (wowser!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top