10/9 Crushy amps 384

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele M

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=105940&p=1124488#p1124488

despite his yucky amps number, he had a GREAT day yesterday. He spent 6 whole hours in green numbers! That had to be pretty healing. He did hit 44 at one point but I fed him some HC food and his numbers came up nicely.

He earned a reduction, but I miscalculated his evening dose and it ended up being a little less than 1.75 :sad: He is on the correct dose this morning though and Im hoping he comes down from this bounce soon!

He is turning his nose up at treats today! that is VERY un-Crushy like. Its nice to see him not act so anxious and starving but it is giving me pause. He is eating his meals fine though. Im going to make him some uncured bacon for ear pokes and shot treats today. He loves that

Hope everyone else sees pretty green or blue numbers today!
 
Hi Michele-

I skimmed back through some of your threads..now that I know you are here. It's amazing that even feeding raw for 10 years Crushy still got diabetes. There must be no rhyme or reason. I thought having Hank on Whole Foods version of cat food meant I was all smart and on top of it. I (thought I was) addressing urinary issues at the time. I was feeding him all the natural clean ingredient stuff, but both dry and canned back then...and then DIABETES. Dry was really the problem, didn't matter it was the health food version. And YIKES on the raw mice-ies you give your kitties. You must have a strong stomach- I don't think I could do it. My guys will have to remain deprived. But they are indoor only so may not even know what to do with a mouse.
I love the idea of your cat fence. How do you make it so they can't climb it? My previous cat was indoor/outdoor. But there is nature preserve all around where I live now, and lots of wildlife. It is not safe for roaming kitties. Hank is happy being indoor only, but my civvie would have been happier I think if he were indoor/outdoor.
Has Crushy figured out the automatic feeder? I have thought it would be nice to have one. Longest I've left them in 3+ years is 36 hours, and that was only once. I do make catsicles which works for Hank for a few hours. But my civvie doesn't stand a chance unless someone is here to run interference.

Curious who your vet is/was? Sounds like you didn't get great information to start like most of us. I've been basically vet-less since our DX back in '10 having gone through a couple at that time that i would not return to. We just recently tried this new clinic. I called a million places trying to figure out where to take him. It is so hard to know their style/philosophy/abilities and if you will be compatible. Here we were with an emergency and surgery having to just take a leap of faith. Scary..but so far so good. There are a couple vets out your way I might have tried if not for the distance.
Hopefully the new juice will help with evening things out for Crushy. He's got on the trampoline for a minute..but sounds like ya'll are getting it all figured out.

Thanks for asking about Hank, yes he is finally on the mend and doing better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top