10/9 Callie AMPS 289 +6 212 PMPS 273 +2 184 +4 173

Status
Not open for further replies.

Libby & Callie

Member Since 2010
Yesterday

Good morning everyone. Callie took me for a small ride yesterday. Her first greens! I have a gut feeling to stay on hold for the dosage for at least a few days .. then ?? Also I want to be back to the regular schedule before doing anything. Thanks for keeping an eye out for us. The reading WAS higher this am! She is in a bounce I guess :) Don't know what to expeect from the girl today (G) I am off to check on the other kitties. Will keep the hits coming .. I hope! Hugs to all today. Our thoughts and prayers are with Bear Man and his mammabean today. Have a wonderful day! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289

Beautiful greens last night..great job with the testing!! :mrgreen:
And what did you shoot this morning? the SS is blank...so I wasn't sure what you gave her...

Tell us what your regular schedule is...and maybe we can help you get back to it...
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289

hi, guys! just dropping in to say hello...and nice job last night!

celi & binks
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289 +2 228 +4 204

Good afternoon Celi and Pat! You can rest assured I make no changes on my owm (G) I will ask opinions here and wait till I have a lot of feedback before doing ANYTHING!! I will also call my vet and see what she wants. I was interupted by my vet (I had dropped off Callies SS yesterday) and she wanted to go over it with me. She wants me to only use AlphaTrak. I explained the different listings for each as to what was a high reading and told her that the AT was ALWAYS a wide spread at the high numbers. She is thinking about this and checking online to see what reports say. I am sticking with the new meter and getting strips for the AT as a backup and verifier. I think Target was where I saw strips. If I can get them there it would be better than having to wait on shipping. If they are sold there I will post it so anyone else having this meter will save $$ and have immediate access. I've been fighting migraines the last few days so posting will be erratic until I have it managed enough to "do my thing" (G) I do have need of any info as to a feeding schedule and what carb food should be fed when :) So anyone wanting to chime in is welcome! Thanks everyone. It looks as if we are close to getting her at THE dose and steady sailing from there! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289 +2 228 +4 204 info feeding sched?

Since my boys free feed during the day, I take the low carb canned food and freeze it in an ice cube tray. I put frozen chunks of food out and, by the time they are ready for a snack, the food has thawed and can be eaten. Doing this keeps them on the low carb wet food diet and keeps the food fresh during the day.
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289 +2 228 +4 204 info feeding sched?

Just wanted to touch base and say nice greens yesterday! Well done.
I also wanted to point out that ... well cats read condos and when someone mentions a potential increase in dose, they often throw a cat-trick to prove people wrong... :roll:

I serve snacks a few times a day and I also freeze food so it's fresher when I serve it in the snack machine.
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289 +2 228 +4 204 info feeding sched?

You might want to share the Rand/Queensland Protocol with your vet. The last two pages give guidelines for dosing based either on a human meter vs. an AlphaTrack or a serum chemistry analyzer. Since there is published veterinary research on the use of these meters, your vet may find the citation at the beginning of the protocol useful. There was also this thread on Health that was started by a vet from Abbott, the manufacturer of the AlphaTrack. The thread isn't entirely focused on the meter but there is information about the pros and cons of using that particular meter given how hard it is to find strips and how expensive they are.

Feeding schedules are largely a matter of trial and error since they are specific to your cat. What I would suggest at least for now, is to not feed after nadir. If you want to give a small snack at +8 or +9, that's fine but you don't want to split the meals and feed after nadir. It's better, if you're splitting up the meal to keep the food at times when the insulin is most active. If you see a big drop in numbers, that's a time to give some LC food to see if you can slow the drop. If numbers drop below 50, then you definitely want to feed some HC. The general rule is "feed the 40s."

Your SS noted that you overslept and shot an hour late. Did you shoot 12 hours later for your next shot?
 
Re: 10/9 Callie AMPS 289 +2 228 +4 204 info feeding sched?

Thanks guys! The freezing is a great idea :) Sienne I copied your information and put it Ca;;ile folder on my computer. You can't imagine all of the information I have in there (BG) I am going to follow the links and get more info .. whew to add. Thanks also for the meter threads. I can go in armed .. lol I just don't know how to approach my vet. She dealt with my daughter for so long and I don't know if that makes a difference. I was the one who wanted to HT and I got the impression that she wasn't too keen, but she did offer the AT and to come in and get a demo and information. Wish she had had some links to health sites etc to offer. It would have made a big difference! Low carbs were never mentioned. It was Prescription Science Diet WD. OOPPPS! Well I am getting good information now and must move ahead, but as I said, I do want to have opinions from FDMB since you are on the front line in this battle! Libby and Callie (and civies: brother Buddy and sister Missy)

Profile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top