10/9 Billie PMPS 221 +3 227

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deanna & Billie

Member Since 2014
Hello LL!!

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126650

Another good day for Billie! No coughing, and the hives continue to disappear! Although she either rolled over the wrong way while sleeping or lost her balance, because she fell off the bookshelf tonight. I wasn't watching while it happened. I just saw the tail end of the fall. It made me nervous, but she is acting normal and her numbers are fine (I got the +3 right after that to make sure she wasn't low).

Tomorrow is day 1 of the tapered pred dose. I'll be giving it once a day at night for 5 days, then every other day. I am wondering if I should decrease her insulin back to 1.25 in case her numbers shoot down. What do you think? If I hold the dose, I can monitor a lot, and maybe it won't be a problem. She hasn't even hit green since she started the pred. I'm just a little nervous because this dose got her to 40 before the pred. And of course, I've never been in this boat before. Any thoughts are much appreciated!!

I hope everyone had a nice day. Sending lots of vines to all the cats and beans needing them.
 
Re: 10/9 Billie PMPS 221 +3 227 decrease while tapering?

No dosing advice from me, but I sure am glad to see Billie is doing so well on pred! Hope she continues to improve while tapering! :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/9 Billie PMPS 221 +3 227 decrease while tapering?

i don't think i'd reduce in advance - just respond to the numbers that she gives you. Sounds like the decrease is going to be gradual enough that you're not suddenly going to have low numbers. I think i would see how the first day or two goes and decide from there.
 
Re: 10/9 Billie PMPS 221 +3 227 decrease while tapering?

Thanks Julie and Ruth! That makes sense. I don't really know how pred works in the system, so I had this fear of her missing one pred dose and zooming down to 30, but it sounds like it doesn't work that way...although I'll be testing just in case!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top