10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84..+6 72,+11 94

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lori and Atticus

Member Since 2012
Good morning LL! Alright, so, check out my spreadsheet and the numbers last night. Should I shoot .1 again or try to lower it a little more? She's due in 3 minutes. :-D
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 99

As I remember, you got lots of supplies last night.
I can stay with you if you decide to shoot. I'm off mostly, somewhere today, I need to go work for an hour or so but it's flexible.

Have you done a practice syringe to see how many drops you are shooting?
I'm at 3 drops and moving down from that is going to be a challenge.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 99

I haven't done a practice syringe. I think I'll work on that today. I'll go ahead and shoot though and see what happens today. :smile:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 99

Good deal! Jane was awesome last night too! I am running on fumes today, so I really hope it uneventful. BTW - I haven't shot her yet. She is hiding under the bed after her and I had a fight over her taking her other medicine. She won, I lost and she's in hiding. I have dosed the room with catnip and I lay in wait for her to show her cute little black and white head.

Edit: There she is... Muahahaha!!!!
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 99

Yes, I will be around all day. She has officially been injected and now I'm trying to get her to eat. As soon as she started eating, the droolers started barking at their shadows and scared her. Sooo... Tuna juice coming up! Oh yeah! New AMPS since she was late was 128 (I think I stressed her with her medicine this morning).
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128

Oh thanks Sienne! I'm still learning, but I'm sure I'll have it all down soon. :smile: No soy in the tuna so we are good. :smile:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128

Thank you Angela! I just saw you are from TX. Me too. I miss it dearly. Green grass, trees, lakes... Water... LOL! The desert is not for this country girl. :smile: Hopefully one day we will get back to TX where all of our family is! :cool:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128

I grew up there but it was too hot and humid for me. I started trying to get somewhere cooler in early college.
What time did you shoot?

I was going to get things done in between, that is after I visit some condos.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128

Hi Lori j
ust got in to Arizona now back from Texas.

Attie looks good today!

check thein tuna. If it has vegetable broth it has soy.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135

perfect.

Lori...you can only change the subject line on the first post of the condo for that day.....since her AMPS was 99, it would be a good idea to please change it when you get a chance.

I'm back home but since she looks ok and she's about where Gracie is....Mike and I have errands to run. I'll check back with you in a couple hours. I think you can give her until +4 to check her.

Great job!!!
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135

Thanks! I changed the AMPS to 128 because I shot about 45 minutes late since Atticus went into hiding. So, the 99 was where her original shot should have been done, but 128 was what her BG was right before I shot. I thought I would use the number right before the shot. Is that wrong? Sorry. I'm still learning and I definitely have a lot to learn. :smile:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113

You are correct....the AMPS is right before you shot. For some reason, I thought you got the 128, then she hid, then you retested and got a 99 and shot. Sorry I got it backwards.

She's giving you a very nice curve today. When she gets into green, give her a couple tsp of LC food and see if she'll surf for you.

I'll BBL.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113, +5 120

Hmmm... I thought I gaveher the exact same amount as last night and yesterday. Maybe not. Or is this what you guys mean by settling in?
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113, +5 120

Yeah, I meant insulin. It doesn't seem to be having the same effect as it did last night and yesterday. I know you guys are saying that a cat has to stay on the same dose for 6 cycles. That's what I mean by "settling in". Sorry. My exhaustion is really setting in. I have slept 2 hours of choppy sleep last night. I will have to sleep some tonight. I can't nap during the day because of my work. :sad:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113, +5 120

You seem to just be having a nice blue surf. And that's nothing to complain about.
But I know you want that green surf instead.

That just means you are at a good dose and it may take a few more cycles to come down a little more.
Optimum is bg numbers under 120. ( like Shadow is doing but she doesn't quite want to quit getting assistance yet)

Did you figure out how many drops were in your dose?
Marje had me start at 1 unit and then twist drops off and see how many I had ( which I had 10 like her but we have Terumo syringes)
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113, +5 120

Ok... I'm not very good at this. I must have lead fingers. :mrgreen: I am twisting it to see and it look like 1 unit is 4 big drops. Sometimes a smallish drop will fall, but I can't get it to be consistent in drop sizes. Are there any tricks to it? The zero line that I've been using for Atticus gives me 1 medium drop. I have the ReliOn u-100 syringes.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113, +5 120

Alright! I found a post about this and copied it. I was able to get off 10 drops in 1 unit. Yay!!! So, according to the pictures on that post, Atticus is getting .15 dose instead of .10 like I thought. I'll update her spreadsheet in just a little bit. Finally getting some of this figured out and feeling more and more confident every day thanks to you guys and the wealth of information on this site. :thumbup
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128, +1 107, +2 135, +3 113, +5 120

okay that sounds like my old monoject syringes.

Consistency is the key. To be able to repeat it over and over just as you are doing it now so when it's time to change, you have to keep that next step consistent.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128,+1 107,+2 135,+3 113,+5 120,+9 114

+9 114... Looking pretty decent. Hopefully her numbers will be awesome tonight so I can sleep some tonight. :cool:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128,+1 107,+2 135,+3 113,+5 120,+9 114

HI Lori-
You are doing GREAT and so is Atticus. I had a couple sleepless nights when Fur Ball did his first dip. Just now trying to allow myself to sleep again after 1.5 weeks of pretty intense testing. Jane and Marje pretty much walked me through that first time as they did w/ you. They are amazing. :smile: I, too, am unable to cat nap so quickly lost a lot of sleep. Oh well. It was worth it to get FB to the place he's at today.

Its pretty cool how quickly this becomes more comfortable. I have no idea how much I was actually giving Fur Ball. Those low doses are incredibly difficult to measure but it seems like you are quickly figuring it out. I used water to pull the syringe over and over again until I was consistent w/ the timing and then just prayed I did it right when I shot him.

Karen
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128,+1 107,+2 135,+3 113,+5 120,+9 114

What an amazing time you and Atticus are having party_cat This is Awesome!!
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus AMPS 128,+1 107,+2 135,+3 113,+5 120,+9 114

Thank you Alexa and Karen! Her numbers have been pretty good so I'm super proud of her! :smile:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101

Here goes. I gave .1, and although I was pretty confident I got the insulin in, her fur was damp when I was done. UGH!!!! We will see. Hopefully it is OK. I'm going to take a nap. I'll be back at +1 and +2 to see how she's doing. :smile:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108

Hi Marje! Thanks! +1 is 108. Be back in an hour! I'm trying to at least rest between tests tonight. At least till +4 so I can see if she is going to dip like last night. :-|
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84

In the green! +3 is 84. Go Atticus! :smile: She had a little bit of food and we will be back in an hour.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84, +4 82,+6 72

Great job last night Lori. Sorry I pooped out! Long day yesterday and I fell asleep on the couch with iPad in lap.

Hopefully I'll get back on my AZ schedule and be able to stay up with you but you did a super job.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84, +4 82,+6 72

No worries. Everything was good. I was so tired that I fell asleep between each test so when I posted up her numbers I'm not even sure I looked for replies from anyone. Lol! I was exhausted. I'm about to get her +11.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84, +4 82,+6 72

Great! I'm peeking in while getting ready for work.

I hope you are feeling more relaxed with it....you really have been doing very well!
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84, +4 82,+6 72

I feel a lot more relaxed. The only thing I wonder now is can I back off on tests a little? What are the most important ones? I know the +1, +2, +6, and +11 are important. Since Atticus normally dips after +3, I would want to do that one as well on her. At this point, do you think it's safe to do just those instead of hourly?

Oh, and her +11 is 94. More green! :smile:
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84..+6 72,+11 9

I would drop the +1 unless you are shooting a dropping number...then you need one. I need to look at her SS to see patterns and I am on the way out for irk now so I can do it tonight. However, if you have a feel for her cycles, I'd say go with it. If you don't think the + tells YOU much about her, drop it in lieu of the +3. If you feel it helps, then do a +2, +3, +6 and +11.

I will take a look tonight but try to cut back today and see how she does.
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84..+6 72,+11 9

I had troubles at first too when Shadow started this low surfing. Kept me on my toes but after a while I realized she was going to surf and I sit next to her most of the time
so I just watched her for signs instead of testing her constantly.

Although she has only dropped to earn reductions twice, she acted perfectly normal so I don't know what her number is for being too too low.
As you get to know Attie, you'll adapt.
IMHO, I'd do +2 , evaluate, then +4 ( if that's where she normally drops)

You should probably start a new condo. Be sure and link this one to the new one... :-D
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84..+6 72,+11 9

rhiannon and shadow said:
I had troubles at first too when Shadow started this low surfing. Kept me on my toes but after a while I realized she was going to surf and I sit next to her most of the time
so I just watched her for signs instead of testing her constantly.

Although she has only dropped to earn reductions twice, she acted perfectly normal so I don't know what her number is for being too too low.

sorry for bumping up yesterday's thread, but i can't let the above statement go without commenting for lori's sake and of those reading...

clinical signs of hypoglycemia may not be seen until the blood glucose level is dangerously low. we cannot rely on "how a cat is acting" to know if their BG numbers have dropped too low. this is why we encourage spot checks rather than visually assessing the situation when practicing tight regulation.

the American Animal Hospital Association (AAHA) makes note of this in their 2010 Special Report: Diabetes Management Guidelines for Dogs and Cats:

• The pressing concern for cats at this stage is identifying impending hypoglycemia, since cats often do not show overt signs until the BG is dangerously low.


lowBG_zps56425924.jpg


i found this to be true with alex. one night she was sleeping peacefully and i "happened" to get a spot check before her usual nadir. she was 24! i retested. 23. an hour before that she was 71. i shudder to think what could have happened if i had relied solely on "watching her".


just sayin'...
 
Re: 10/9 Atticus PMPS 101,+1 108, +2 105, +3 84..+6 72,+11 9

Thank you for that! I have been testing just because I am a worrier. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top