? 10/8 Zephie :-( AMPS >500 +1 >500 +2 >500 +3 424 +426 +5 415 +6 384

Stacey - Zephie's Mom

Member Since 2024
Hello again, Everyone,
Thank you for all the help. @Bandit's Mom thanks for the explanation of bouncing and the link to using food to manipulate the curve.

Zephie's SS is a hot mess today and I just don't know what the next step is. We are on Day 5 of the increased dose to 0.75 units q12h. He was doing well at first at that dose, but the past two days have been terrible. 10/6 shows some light greens in the SS, but those were from the Libre -- The alphtrak #'s were actually really good. I did have to skip the PM dose that day because his number's stayed below 250-300, which is the lower limit for me to shoot at this point, especially when it's overnight and I won't be watching him constantly.

Any thoughts on why he seems stuck in the red and pink the past 2 days? And some black :-(((( Could this still be from the extended period in 100s he had on 10/6? Is it looking like I will probably need to up his dose assuming things don't get better in the next day or so?

Thank you! I really appreciate everyone here who is taking the time to help me and so many others.
 
Last edited:
Hello again, Everyone,
Thank you for all the help. @Bandit's Mom thanks for the explanation of bouncing the link to using food to manipulate the curve.

Zephie's SS is a hot mess today and I just don't know what the next step is. We are on Day 5 of the increased dose to 0.75 units q12h. He was doing well at first at that dose, but the past two days have been terrible. 10/6 shows some light greens in the SS, but those were from the Libre -- The alphtrak #'s were actually really good. I did have to skip the PM dose that day because his number's stayed below 250-300, which is the lower limit for me to shoot at this point, especially when it's overnight and I won't be watching him constantly.

Any thoughts on why he seems stuck in the red and pink the past 2 days? And some black :-(((( Could this still be from the extended period in 100s he had on 10/6? Is it looking like I will probably need to up his dose assuming things don't get better in the next day or so?

Thank you! I really appreciate everyone here who is taking the time to help me and so many others.
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
He is high because you skipped a dose. A skipped dose depletes the depot, and can take 3 days to build it back up again. Same thing happened when you skipped 9/28. A skipped or reduced dose can impact later cycles. There is probably some bounce impact in there too, as he's not used to going into the 120's on the AT.

Have you considered lowering your "no shoot" dose a bit? Typically we tell new people not to shoot if under 200.
 
He is high because you skipped a dose. A skipped dose depletes the depot, and can take 3 days to build it back up again. Same thing happened when you skipped 9/28. A skipped or reduced dose can impact later cycles. There is probably some bounce impact in there too, as he's not used to going into the 120's on the AT.

Have you considered lowering your "no shoot" dose a bit? Typically we tell new people not to shoot if under 200.

Thanks so much for the reply, @Wendy&Neko . That makes sense. Re lowering my threshold for a "no shoot" dose, I didn't give the PM shot on 10/6 for a few reasons: (1) the internist said not to shoot unless he's at least 250. (2) Since it was a nighttime cycle and he was so much under the other pre-shot #'s, I worried that he might go hypo overnight and I wouldn't know it. Since I only have a week and a half of data, I feel like I'm a total chicken when it comes to shooting at lower numbers. If it would've been a daytime cycle, I likely would have given him a reduced dose and then watched him closely -- but having him not under constant watch while I slept made me skip it. Even last night, I ended up setting an alarm for every 1 to 2 hrs to check on him because his +1 and +2 were a bigger drop for Cycle 2 than I'd seen so I worried he might do one of his big dives.
What freaks me out is that I see how he can drop 200-400 points on a tiny dose (0.5 - 0.75 units) so I worry that if I give him that same dose when he starts much lower, say at 200, I will make him hypo. Advice on that concern?
 
The interesting thing about Lantus is that it is really good at keeping lower preshots low and flat. Those big dives happen when they are starting at higher numbers, not so much the lower numbers. Take a look at other people's spreadsheets and posts on this forum, to try to get an idea what it means to shoot lower preshots.

Data is your friend, over time as you shoot gradually lower, you'll get a better idea of how Zephie responds when you shoot low. I agree that shooting lower when you can monitor more closely is the best way to gather that data.
 
I strongly suggest that if he’s around 200 on a cycle when you are able to monitor that you shoot the full dose. Add to your subject shooting low for me may need help. That way people will look at your thread and help guide you if needed.
 
Back
Top