Basic's Mom
Member Since 2023
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-member.282017/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/update-on-basic.282047/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-is-on-the-low-end-do-i-only-give-half-hsi-dose.282132/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-help.282176/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/slgs-low-bg-146-stalling.282238/#post-3111049
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-6-update-on-base.282279/
I've included links to all my post. I also keep his SS and signature current. I know Bron is in Australia (unsure of the time difference), but they typically are the only one to respond.
This answer isn't urgent, but I'm unsure what to do. He is currently on .75 U every *12 hours (been on this dose for only 4 days). *edit
From the day feeding tube was place (10/5), his BG has been high. I know the stress from he vet really pushed that number up and we had to return the next morning and were there for over 2 hours. I also have to take into consideration that he is now getting food through his FT and eating on his own. He really wasn't consuming many calories before FT installed.
All that said, I know we typically keep them on their dosage for 7 days, but should i bump him back to 1 U 2xs a day now that he is consuming calories. Posing the question because I don't want him suffering because I don't know what I'm doing.
I was told I should post in this forum. If this shouldn't be here, please advise so I can receive the information I'm seeking.
Thanks in advance.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/update-on-basic.282047/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-is-on-the-low-end-do-i-only-give-half-hsi-dose.282132/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/need-help.282176/
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/slgs-low-bg-146-stalling.282238/#post-3111049
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-6-update-on-base.282279/
I've included links to all my post. I also keep his SS and signature current. I know Bron is in Australia (unsure of the time difference), but they typically are the only one to respond.
This answer isn't urgent, but I'm unsure what to do. He is currently on .75 U every *12 hours (been on this dose for only 4 days). *edit
From the day feeding tube was place (10/5), his BG has been high. I know the stress from he vet really pushed that number up and we had to return the next morning and were there for over 2 hours. I also have to take into consideration that he is now getting food through his FT and eating on his own. He really wasn't consuming many calories before FT installed.
All that said, I know we typically keep them on their dosage for 7 days, but should i bump him back to 1 U 2xs a day now that he is consuming calories. Posing the question because I don't want him suffering because I don't know what I'm doing.
I was told I should post in this forum. If this shouldn't be here, please advise so I can receive the information I'm seeking.
Thanks in advance.
Last edited:


