10/8 Mikan AMPS 277, +2 201, +3 170, +10.75 47: PMPS 51 (BCS), +1 62, +2 57, +3.5 128, +4.25 182

Mikanmama (Mikan GA)

Member Since 2023
10/7/24

Good morning.

Mikan had a bouncy day yesterday. I'm hoping that she'll take it easy this morning as I have to go to work at +3.5. I may or may not be able to come home at +5, then back out for the day. In the evening, DH, SD and I will be going out for dinner for my BD - the place is 5 minutes away by foot so if Mikan gets low, I can come check on her in between dishes ;)

DH will test himself this morning; if he is negative, he'll be cleared. I was negative this morning. Friends are doing okay - still sick but not terribly.

Heavy-hearted this morning. Someone whom I have worked with for over 20 years passed away yesterday. He had been battling stage IV cancer for many years, and I knew his time was limited. He was only 72. So sad.

Life is so precious. I have to remember to appreciate the little things that make my life special.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!
 
10/7/24

Good morning.

Mikan had a bouncy day yesterday. I'm hoping that she'll take it easy this morning as I have to go to work at +3.5. I may or may not be able to come home at +5, then back out for the day. In the evening, DH, SD and I will be going out for dinner for my BD - the place is 5 minutes away by foot so if Mikan gets low, I can come check on her in between dishes ;)

DH will test himself this morning; if he is negative, he'll be cleared. I was negative this morning. Friends are doing okay - still sick but not terribly.

Heavy-hearted this morning. Someone whom I have worked with for over 20 years passed away yesterday. He had been battling stage IV cancer for many years, and I knew his time was limited. He was only 72. So sad.

Life is so precious. I have to remember to appreciate the little things that make my life special.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!
Good Morning Kit and Mikan,
Wishing you a very happy and wonderful birthday, first of all ❤️
We are sending you big hugs for your birthday:bighug::bighug:
I’m so sorry to hear about your friend and colleague. That’s such a tragic and sad update:(

Glad to hear DH and you are both still testing negative. I think you’re out of the woods. Very happy for your update. And I’m so glad to hear your friends are doing as well as possible. Continued good wishes for their recovery:bighug:
We hope you have a wonderful dinner tonight to celebrate your birthday.
Mikan be good so your sweet Meowmy can have a lovely night out!! :kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
Happy Birthday! I hope Mikan slides down and surfs safely so you can go out without worrying. Glad your friends are doing better. Sorry to hear about your co-worker. Sending prayers for his family. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good Morning Kit and Mikan,
Wishing you a very happy and wonderful birthday, first of all ❤️
We are sending you big hugs for your birthday:bighug::bighug:
I’m so sorry to hear about your friend and colleague. That’s such a tragic and sad update:(

Glad to hear DH and you are both still testing negative. I think you’re out of the woods. Very happy for your update. And I’m so glad to hear your friends are doing as well as possible. Continued good wishes for their recovery:bighug:
We hope you have a wonderful dinner tonight to celebrate your birthday.
Mikan be good so your sweet Meowmy can have a lovely night out!! :kiss::bighug::kiss::bighug:

Thank you Staci! Mikan's having a mellow morning - could be prepping for the evening action, just in time for our outing :rolleyes:
But on occasion, I actually came home from that restaurant in between dishes to get Mikan tested and fed before - I pretty much live within a 5-mile radius since Mikan's Dx :smuggrin: but this one is just a few blocks away from home. A neighborhood place.

I was in a zoom meeting when I got the sad news. I was so flustered that I don't remember what I said during the meeting o_O He struggled with all kinds of side effects from the treatments but was quite courageous in dealing with his disease. I know he was trying to live as long as he could for his family. It really breaks my heart but, at the same time, makes me realize how lucky my life is. I should never take every day for granted.

I really want to thank you again for helping me navigate through this COVID crisis! Like I said yesterday, your advice and support helped me execute what needed to be done and kept me in a good spirit!
The light at the end of the tunnel is almost here!

Happy Tuesday! Wishing you and Ivy a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
10/7/24

Good morning.

Mikan had a bouncy day yesterday. I'm hoping that she'll take it easy this morning as I have to go to work at +3.5. I may or may not be able to come home at +5, then back out for the day. In the evening, DH, SD and I will be going out for dinner for my BD - the place is 5 minutes away by foot so if Mikan gets low, I can come check on her in between dishes ;)

DH will test himself this morning; if he is negative, he'll be cleared. I was negative this morning. Friends are doing okay - still sick but not terribly.

Heavy-hearted this morning. Someone whom I have worked with for over 20 years passed away yesterday. He had been battling stage IV cancer for many years, and I knew his time was limited. He was only 72. So sad.

Life is so precious. I have to remember to appreciate the little things that make my life special.

Have a wonderful day, everyone!
I'm so sorry for your loss, Kit. Knowing doesn't make the grief any less. Sending prayers for you, and your friend's family.
Happy to see your other friends are ok- they remain in my prayers.
Hope you get to have a happy birthday celebration this evening- wishing you a great birthday and a happy, healthy year ahead.
Ms. Mikan- give mom the best b-day present ever and take it easy on the BG----steady surf, girlie cat! :bighug:
 
Morning Kit, you are so right ,life is so precious and we shouldn't take anything for granted. I'm so sorry about your coworker :(. He's at peace now .
I hope Mikan behaves tonight so you can enjoy your Birthday Dinner , but like you said , it's so close to your home you can just sprint there if needed .

Happy Birthday Kit , Enjoy your day

71VOSUl65ML.__AC_SY300_SX300_QL70_FMwebp_.jpg
 
Happy birthday, wonderful Kit!:bighug::cat::bighug: I’m so glad you and DH are healthy and that your friends are on the mend.
I’m also very sorry for your loss. Your friend is at peace now, but it’s so difficult for those who are still here. You can honor him by finding ways to look after yourself and the people he cared about.
I hope you have a lovely dinner tonight — sweet Mikan, give your mama a break, please! :bighug::bighug:❤️:bighug::bighug:
 
Happy Birthday! I hope Mikan slides down and surfs safely so you can go out without worrying. Glad your friends are doing better. Sorry to hear about your co-worker. Sending prayers for his family. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you Carla!
We'll see how Mikan will do this evening! :cat: DH tested negative again so we are in the clear! Sad to see my colleague go - but he was suffering a lot - and he no longer has to suffer.
Hope you are having a nice day! :bighug:
 
I'm so sorry for your loss, Kit. Knowing doesn't make the grief any less. Sending prayers for you, and your friend's family.
Happy to see your other friends are ok- they remain in my prayers.
Hope you get to have a happy birthday celebration this evening- wishing you a great birthday and a happy, healthy year ahead.
Ms. Mikan- give mom the best b-day present ever and take it easy on the BG----steady surf, girlie cat! :bighug:
Thanks Christine!
I knew that his time was limited - and he was suffering. It was hard to see. Sad to see him go, but he's beyond suffering now.
DH and I are out of COVID woods! I'm grateful that I have a COVID-free birthday! I'll check on our friends - hopefully, they are at the stage where they start feeling better.
Let's see how Mikan will do - but the place is so close that I think I can manage both Bday dinner and Mikan's testing/feeding if need be.
Hope you and Jack are having a nice day, Christine! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Happy birthday, wonderful Kit!:bighug::cat::bighug: I’m so glad you and DH are healthy and that your friends are on the mend.
I’m also very sorry for your loss. Your friend is at peace now, but it’s so difficult for those who are still here. You can honor him by finding ways to look after yourself and the people he cared about.
I hope you have a lovely dinner tonight — sweet Mikan, give your mama a break, please! :bighug::bighug:❤️:bighug::bighug:
Thanks Karen!
Yay to Covid-free birthday! It'll be outdoor dining (so nice out there!), but still, I'd rather not have to worry about potential viral particles floating in the air!
Hopefully, Mikan's not planning on a surprise party with very limy mojitos or anything like that :rolleyes:
It is really sad to see my colleague go. He's been a good friend for a long time - but this was a harsh battle. He had a lot of side effects from the treatments and his function got really limited lately.
He is now beyond suffering - there is a sense of relief there, to be honest. I know it's hard to his family though.

Happy Tuesday and hope you and Chispa are having a great day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Kit, you are so right ,life is so precious and we shouldn't take anything for granted. I'm so sorry about your coworker :(. He's at peace now .
I hope Mikan behaves tonight so you can enjoy your Birthday Dinner , but like you said , it's so close to your home you can just sprint there if needed .

Happy Birthday Kit , Enjoy your day

71VOSUl65ML.__AC_SY300_SX300_QL70_FMwebp_.jpg

Thanks Diane.
I was thinking the same. He had a lot of severe side effects and was miserable. He's beyond all that now.
Hopefully, Mikan will cooperate this evening - But I might need to sprint back and forth anyway. I got to work this morning, and there was a box of donuts! Can't resist donuts!
"It's my birthday" excuse. :p Woof, I ate too much. I've been sitting all day - might go out to have a quick walk around.
Hope you are enjoying the day, Diane!!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you Staci! Mikan's having a mellow morning - could be prepping for the evening action, just in time for our outing :rolleyes:
But on occasion, I actually came home from that restaurant in between dishes to get Mikan tested and fed before - I pretty much live within a 5-mile radius since Mikan's Dx :smuggrin: but this one is just a few blocks away from home. A neighborhood place.

I was in a zoom meeting when I got the sad news. I was so flustered that I don't remember what I said during the meeting o_O He struggled with all kinds of side effects from the treatments but was quite courageous in dealing with his disease. I know he was trying to live as long as he could for his family. It really breaks my heart but, at the same time, makes me realize how lucky my life is. I should never take every day for granted.

I really want to thank you again for helping me navigate through this COVID crisis! Like I said yesterday, your advice and support helped me execute what needed to be done and kept me in a good spirit!
The light at the end of the tunnel is almost here!

Happy Tuesday! Wishing you and Ivy a wonderful day! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
HI Kit, you're so lucky you have access to good dining within walking distance! What a wonderful location, especially in light of our situation.

It sounds so tragic the way you learned of the loss of your friend. How sad.
You're right to remember how lucky we are and we can't take anything for granted.

I am so happy (sort of) that I had enough experience that I could share with you to help inspire you. But you did all the hard work my friend! You really did a wonderful job keeping everyone in your household in check and as healthy as possible, especially with a walking germ cell! (lol) I'm just glad DH wasn't too sick and you stayed healthy!! So happy for you :kiss::kiss:
All I did was to suggest things to try! ;)

Enjoy your night out, you deserve to be pampered, especially after the past few weeks!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Well, Mikan decided to give me a green Bday gift for PMPS.
I just wasn't comfortable giving her a full dose, considering our plan to dine out. I decided to go with 3U BCS. Hope this will keep her safe.
I will check her at +1 and if necessary, will run back at +2 to test/feed.
 
Well, Mikan decided to give me a green Bday gift for PMPS.
I just wasn't comfortable giving her a full dose, considering our plan to dine out. I decided to go with 3U BCS. Hope this will keep her safe.
I will check her at +1 and if necessary, will run back at +2 to test/feed.
Oh noooo. :eek:She's a little bugger, Kit!!

I swear they KNOW when we have plans to go out. Ivy does that to me all the time and it drives me absolutely nuts.
I could be home every single night and not a low in sight, the minute we’re going out to dinner, boom low green.
You did the right thing to keep her safe. Keep us posted how everybody did. We hope you’ve enjoyed your dinner :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh noooo. :eek:She's a little bugger, Kit!!

I swear they KNOW when we have plans to go out. Ivy does that to me all the time and it drives me absolutely nuts.
I could be home every single night and not a low in sight, the minute we’re going out to dinner, boom low green.
You did the right thing to keep her safe. Keep us posted how everybody did. We hope you’ve enjoyed your dinner :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hi Staci,
That was a bit too dicey situation! I came home early to test her at the end of the AM cycle - lime! I knew that it would be tricky.
It's such a hard call - but even if I were to stay home, I would have been pressed to shoot the regular dose. Okay - compromise, but how much?
We don't have hours to think about it :rolleyes:
Well, I did what I thought I could manage. So funny that Mikan could go without a single green for days and then, BOOM! Quite a birthday gift :smuggrin:
 
Happy birthday, Kit!

And yeah, agree with Staci - someone is being a little bugger! I hope she stays in good numbers so you can enjoy your evening out! :bighug:
Hi Alicia,
Tricky girl!
Happy to see good numbers but very inopportune timing :rolleyes:
I hate to do BCS but I was too scared to shoot the whole thing. So hard to know what is the right thing - but at least with BCS, we can hopefully build the momentum back again!
 
Hi Staci,
That was a bit too dicey situation! I came home early to test her at the end of the AM cycle - lime! I knew that it would be tricky.
It's such a hard call - but even if I were to stay home, I would have been pressed to shoot the regular dose. Okay - compromise, but how much?
We don't have hours to think about it :rolleyes:
Well, I did what I thought I could manage. So funny that Mikan could go without a single green for days and then, BOOM! Quite a birthday gift :smuggrin:
You’re so right, Kit. We have split decisions to make in like a minute. Especially when you’re getting ready to go out and you have to figure out what is the best thing to do to keep them safe.

I still can’t figure out why they can go days with no green then out of the blue here we are, a string of greens. Then comes that big old bounce :(

And then they say even a reduced dose doesn’t affect the first half of the cycle. (But maybe it just drains the depot a bit and lessens the intensity of the cycle for the later part of the cycle).

Well I’m glad you got out to celebrate and Mikan was fine. Guess she just wanted to participate with her own style of a mojito. (Could you not, cat???):arghh:

Hope today is calmer in the aftermath of a lime birthday, Kit :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top