10/8 Loudogg AMPS 204 +6 177 +8 104 PMPS 74 +2 106 +6 41 +7 73 +8.25 90

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
October 7, 2018 Condo - Vomiting in the am and low appy

Good morning all,
After no vomiting the rest of yesterday, this morning Lou's appy returned and he promptly vomited right after eating this morning. I am at my wit's end. He only vomits in the morning, and only right after eating. As I stated yesterday, I literally just took him to the vet last Tuesday and she had nothing for the vomiting and his BW was normal. At that time we divided the morning PS meal into two parts and fed him 20-30 mins apart, and that seemed to work for a short while. I can understand medically something being up, but what would cause him to only vomit in the morning and only right after eating!??! We just bought a house, haven't even started the payments yet. We can't afford to be bringing him to the vet weekly only to be told nothing's wrong. I need suggestions. I am officially out of patience. I have no extra time in the morning, yet I found some for the T/F/S routine. And then I found some more for this divided feeding protocol. I don't have the time to give to cleaning up vomit in the mornings. I am just done at this point.

Since his appy seemed good, I gave him his full 2.75u dose. He did surprisingly well on the 1.5u last night.

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties stay safe. Hugs and vines to all those kitties and beans in need.
 
Are you leaving or giving a snack @ +9? Could be he's super hungry by morning and wolfing down the breakfast to fast.
 
We have a Civie who is a chronic vomiter in the morn. Just very carefull in feeding small amounts. Sorry to hear Loudogg is being fussy.
 
I don't know if Caleb was up at +9. He for sure ate at +7 last night, but later feedings depend on how late Caleb stays up. We have automatic feeders. I need to find them and set them up. They should be in a box somewhere.... :rolleyes:
 
I don't know if Caleb was up at +9. He for sure ate at +7 last night, but later feedings depend on how late Caleb stays up. We have automatic feeders. I need to find them and set them up. They should be in a box somewhere.... :rolleyes:
Order some of that Slippery Elm bark from Amazon - I'd loan you mine - I bought it back when Luci was puking - haven't opened it yet...Amazon was pretty quick to get it here...and now no need for it - but I'm going to keep it on hand in my kit - never know when that puking will return...Someone suggested that I have her checked for IBD if it continued...thankfully it hasn't.
 
Order some of that Slippery Elm bark from Amazon - I'd loan you mine - I bought it back when Luci was puking - haven't opened it yet...Amazon was pretty quick to get it here...and now no need for it - but I'm going to keep it on hand in my kit - never know when that puking will return...Someone suggested that I have her checked for IBD if it continued...thankfully it hasn't.
It's worth a try at this point. Which brand/type did you get? Can you send me a link?
 
It's worth a try at this point. Which brand/type did you get? Can you send me a link?
I ordered this one: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B009K6XZPM/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

Mostly because I have personally consumed a lot of supplements from NOW Foods and I feel that their products are safe and are of good quality (good enough for me, good enough for Ms. Luci)...I have at times had bouts of nausea myself (weak stomach)...so thought it couldn't hurt to have it in the house (maybe for both of us?) - I can see it now - one for her and two for me...:)
 
I hope he gets to feeling better, do you think maybe he is eating to fast, Abby used to vomit right after her eating cause of her hyper t and she ate so fast, now I give her a little at a time
 
Wow! I am shocked at his PMPS, even with the decreased dose last night! Thankfully he seems to be eating normally today, so I've given him his usual 2.75u dose. I ordered quite a few things for my puking sugar boy online. I got some ping pong balls to see if putting one in his dish helps him eat slower. We have auto-feeders, but nothing to put in them, so I got some recommended ramekins to hold the food. Hopefully I can find the feeders soonish and make sure he gets a meal at +8 or +9 on the PM cycle to hopefully curb that hunger in the AM. I also raised his dish a bit off the floor with a cereal box. We'll see if that does any good. I also ordered some SEB, but it won't come until next Monday (boo). Hopefully something will help curb this am vomiting. I'm still shocked that it's coming from my grazer and not my Hoover (my civvie Bella). We'll see what tonight brings!
 
I got some ping pong balls

...I can see it now...those will be batted out of the bowl with the quickness! :p ;) :cat:

Did they happen to check Loudogg's BW for hyperthyroidism?
Just a thought for next time, maybe.

So, my Cookie (not my SugarBaby) has the had the vomits and diarrhea...wait for it...since May.
I can't remember what started first, but I think it was vomiting, which eventually moved into both.
Her appetite is pretty good despite these issues, but we've had maybe 3 bad days when all she would eat was broth.
Glad that Loudogg is only sporting one of those conditions.
It took a while to figure out what both were caused from.
Both can be caused by hyperthyroidism, in case you want to tuck that information in the back of your mind.

@Bobbie And Bubba sent along some helpful information that she found here at this link:
http://www.foodfurlife.com/my-cat-has-diarrhea---what-do-i-do.html
Honestly, I don't know what I'd do without the experienced people here!

I also am giving Cookie 1/4 of a 10mg Pepcid twice/day, which is helpful for the vomiting. As soon as the current Vet gives me new dosage instructions on the increase in thyroid medicine, I'm going to get her off of Pepcid and get her on the slippery elm - I have the NOW brand on standby. I'll be whipping up a batch soon and starting it ever so slowly, as she has always been sensitive to food. I want her of the Pepcid because it can prevent the absorption of B vitamins, and I don't need one more problem for her, poor girl.

Good luck with Loudogg. I hope all resolves for him soon. It's nerve wracking for me when Tiny Sole throws up and there's BGs and insulin dosage to consider.
Better days are coming.

XOXO :bighug:
 
...I can see it now...those will be batted out of the bowl with the quickness! :p ;) :cat:

Did they happen to check Loudogg's BW for hyperthyroidism?
Just a thought for next time, maybe.

So, my Cookie (not my SugarBaby) has the had the vomits and diarrhea...wait for it...since May.
I can't remember what started first, but I think it was vomiting, which eventually moved into both.
Her appetite is pretty good despite these issues, but we've had maybe 3 bad days when all she would eat was broth.
Glad that Loudogg is only sporting one of those conditions.
It took a while to figure out what both were caused from.
Both can be caused by hyperthyroidism, in case you want to tuck that information in the back of your mind.

@Bobbie And Bubba sent along some helpful information that she found here at this link:
http://www.foodfurlife.com/my-cat-has-diarrhea---what-do-i-do.html
Honestly, I don't know what I'd do without the experienced people here!

I also am giving Cookie 1/4 of a 10mg Pepcid twice/day, which is helpful for the vomiting. As soon as the current Vet gives me new dosage instructions on the increase in thyroid medicine, I'm going to get her off of Pepcid and get her on the slippery elm - I have the NOW brand on standby. I'll be whipping up a batch soon and starting it ever so slowly, as she has always been sensitive to food. I want her of the Pepcid because it can prevent the absorption of B vitamins, and I don't need one more problem for her, poor girl.

Good luck with Loudogg. I hope all resolves for him soon. It's nerve wracking for me when Tiny Sole throws up and there's BGs and insulin dosage to consider.
Better days are coming.

XOXO :bighug:
Thank you! It really is much more nerve-wracking with a diabetic than I ever imagined it would be. With all the issues, it all started because Lou seemed really hungry, so hyperT was the first thought on my mind. We went to the vet on Tuesday and the T4 was well within normal range. Whew! I'm hoping something will curb the vomiting. I am excited to try the SEB though! Thanks for the well wishes! We can use all the help we can get! :bighug:
 
Hi Question Can the Slippery Elm Powder be used instead? I can not pill Amethyst Love light and healing for Lou:bighug::bighug:
Yes, I use to buy the same capsules as JoyBeRaven but discovered is so much cheaper to buy in bulk in powder form. I get one from Amazon, it is organic, and Kosher ( for those observing) and the company is Starwest. I got a lb bag a long time ago. It really last.
 
Back
Top