10/8 Baby AMPS 358 +2 261 +5 165 PMPS 185 +2.25 63 +3.25 75 +4 83 +5.25 120 +6.25 184

Shane and Baby

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone!

First post in the LLB ISG. Our long intro thread is here:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...n-any-specific-tester-recommendations.281513/

Summary:

Baby is 14.5 years old, got DX 9/12/23 because we went in with a lip abscess 9/8, which apparently is in an abnormal growth which the Drs expect to require removal, and her blood test showed high BGs on 9/11. No ketos in the urine the next day when she went in for a second BG test (468). Started her on insulin that day at 1U twice a day. She had 2 weeks of antibiotics. We transitioned her to only low carb wet food, which was about 80% of her food before we cut out the high carb food.

I've been struggling to understand the waves in her BG in response to her insulin. Dr wanted to raise to 2U twice a day after 1 week when I did a curve (9/19). I decided to follow SLGS and trust the great people here so we went to 1.25 per SLGS guide. Her numbers have been generally slowly declining over the last two weeks at 1.25 twice a day but the last two days they weren't coming down like they had been the week before. I was even wondering if I made a mistake not increasing her dose but I followed the guide and kept at 1.25 since nadirs were between 90 and 150 per the guide.

Today she tested 185 PMPS which is the lowest PMPS I've recorded yet. I've noticed shooting her around ~220-280 gets her close to the target 90-100 numbers so I was thinking I should shoot her so I went to the guide and read about the token dose and decided to do that and then zombiebrained into just giving her her full 1.25U and she's into the sub 90s for the first time.

I tried not to overreact (I have the hypo emergency kit here and I read about not panic for low numbers sticky several times). I gave her a little medium carb food at +2.25 and then a little high carb at +3. She is happy as a clam, no symptoms, and I'm going to stay up with her probably until +4 or +5 unless things get worse.

Questions:

So now I am thinking I need to be careful to token dose if she is <200 I think? .5U would be a reasonable token dose for her at 1.25? I am really struggling with seeing or reading her "pattern" in response to the insulin. She had an IBD flare up last week and was just getting over the antibiotics so I don't know if that effected her numbers last week. Any advice is appreciated!

P.S. - I don't have keto tests yet. I somehow missed that for two weeks and ordered them last week - came damaged - replacements didn't show up today and now saying wed so I will probably get them at the pharmacy tomorrow if I can. She is always starving and always drinking water and the amount of starving and thirst seem consistent so far with the insulin.

I tried to make sure my SS, sig, and this post are correctly formatted for the LLB. Please let me know if I need to fix anything!
 
Hi Shane. Why are you using two meters? I strongly suggest you pick one to use. Only test with the other if you get a very low bg or one that doesn’t fit with the rest of your tests and seems out of place. Her bg was not under 50 so should not be colored lime. That’s if under 50. It should be green. She has earned a reduction to 1.0 since you are following SLGS and the bg was under 90. You will then hold the 1.0 for 7 days unless the bg falls under 90 again before 7 days. . If that happens another reduction is earned.

Your subject is perfectly written. As for the signature add what food you are feeding and any other illnesses. If ketones were present at diagnosis or DKA add that as well. We need all important information in the signature as we aren’t going to look at your profile each time before responding.
You are doing a great job testing.

I’m going to read your intro.
 
Hi Shane. Why are you using two meters? I strongly suggest you pick one to use. Only test with the other if you get a very low bg or one that doesn’t fit with the rest of your tests and seems out of place. Her bg was not under 50 so should not be colored lime. That’s if under 50. It should be green. She has earned a reduction to 1.0 since you are following SLGS and the bg was under 90. You will then hold the 1.0 for 7 days unless the bg falls under 90 again before 7 days. . If that happens another reduction is earned.

Your subject is perfectly written. As for the signature add what food you are feeding and any other illnesses. If ketones were present at diagnosis or DKA add that as well. We need all important information in the signature as we aren’t going to look at your profile each time before responding.
You are doing a great job testing.

I’m going to read your intro.

Hi tiffmaxee, thank you for the quick response. Sorry I took a while to respond. Computer died! When it rains...!

Re: meters, I wanted to confirm they were accurate. I've been using the ReliOn basically exclusively for the last ten days or so though. I only used the Contour Next to double check the low after PMPS numbers tonight.

About the colors I was confused about this in the how to use SS sticky. I only just changed them to the bright green:

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-use-the-spreadsheet.241653/
"Please note the dark green and bright green values relate to BG reduction numbers for using the Lantus/Levemir Tight Regulation Protocol or the modified Prozinc (PZ) method. If you are using the Start Low Go Slow method of regulation for any insulin (Lantus, Levemir, PZ, Vetsulin, Caninsulin, Normalin/Humulin), the reduction point for all meters is below 90."

I guess I interpreted this to mean bright green was the value for your target levels. I'll switch it back to dark green.

Okay, thank you for explaining. So if she hits below 90 tomorrow at 1U I reduce to .75U the day after? I don't have to wait a week to let her stabilize between increases or reductions in dose? Sorry if it's a stupid question I'm just trying to make sure I understand. I was thinking she couldn't get a dose change more than 1 per week typically.

When I get the ketone tests I'll update the sig and add the food!

Thank you for the friendly words and support!
 
@Shane and Baby
Here is your previous post
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...c-tester-recommendations.281513/#post-3106350
Shane we always link our previous post to our new post each day ,which we like members to post every day on the lantus board
Don't forget to add to your signature what Elise asked you to do

As for the signature add what food you are feeding and any other illnesses. If ketones were present at diagnosis or DKA add that as well. We need all important information in the signature as we aren’t going to look at your profile each time before responding.
You are doing a great job testing.
 
Last edited:
With SLGS if the BG drops under 90 a reduction is earned the next cycle rather than the next day. So if it happens during the day the reduction starts that night. You don’t wait week to reduce again if the BG falls under 90 before a week. If it stays above 90 you do a curve weekly and then evaluate to see if you need to increase, decrease, or hold the dose. We can always help you decide. If you continue to test as much as you are then a curve won’t be needed as you are catching the nadirs, lowest BG in the cycle.
Keep asking questions. The only stupid question is the one you don’t ask!
 
Back
Top