10/8/20 - Squeaky !!! - AMBG = 52 !!!!! +9 = 415 !!!! PMPS 290

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-7-20-squeaky-amps-264-2-5-318-pmps-329.236504/#navigation

Hi Y'all, well obviously someone is NOT getting an insulin shot this morning!! He ate 26 pieces of pork after the BG test.

What's next? Do I have to test him regularly today (I hope not)? Or just one mid-cycle test be okay?

I woke up with him cuddling me and purring greatly. He played this morning (that hasn't happened very much lately) and he's all happy.

He did not get a mid-cycle test last night, because I was exhausted and slept 10.5 hours.

Thank you all, kindly!
 
Last edited:
With TR, reductions are earned by going 50. Which I can't see that he did. A night time test might have shown otherwise. Next time you get a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, do NOT feed, try testing 20 minutes later and see if he's coming up to a number you are OK shooting. Eventually, and you aren't there yet, you'll be shooting lower numbers.
 
With TR, reductions are earned by going 50. Which I can't see that he did. A night time test might have shown otherwise. Next time you get a number lower than you are comfortable shooting, do NOT feed, try testing 20 minutes later and see if he's coming up to a number you are OK shooting. Eventually, and you aren't there yet, you'll be shooting lower numbers.

Thanks Wendy, I appreciate your wisdom. What, then, would be a number comfortable for shooting? Last time I shot at 163 and yikes. I lost so much sleep that night.

Yes, not there yet!
 
Are you supplementing the pork with any supplements? Otherwise it is not a nutritionally complete food for cats

Thanks Bron. He's getting beef organs, eggshell calcium, and farm eggs, in a homemade treat, to complete his nutrients. I think it's pretty good!

He didn't do well with Small Batch Pork, which is supposed to be a whole pork nutritionally complete, meat only cat food. It gave him diarrhea.

I can't find any other source for whole pork, or any pork cat food that is without carbs. Squeaky can't eat carbs.

So we are making our own! It works out well. Thanks for your comment and for caring!!!!!!
 
If you will feed raw, Primal is very low carb.

I already feed raw (except for times when Squeaky wants his food cooked, what a spoiled cat), but low carb isn't good enough. It has to be no carb, or Squeaky will get diarrhea. Thanks for caring!!!!!
 
Thanks Bron. He's getting beef organs, eggshell calcium, and farm eggs, in a homemade treat, to complete his nutrients. I think it's pretty good!

He didn't do well with Small Batch Pork, which is supposed to be a whole pork nutritionally complete, meat only cat food. It gave him diarrhea.

I can't find any other source for whole pork, or any pork cat food that is without carbs. Squeaky can't eat carbs.

So we are making our own! It works out well. Thanks for your comment and for caring!!!!!!
That’s good. Are you giving anything like sardines or fish oil for omega 3
 
I already feed raw (except for times when Squeaky wants his food cooked, what a spoiled cat), but low carb isn't good enough. It has to be no carb, or Squeaky will get diarrhea. Thanks for caring!!!!!
Primal frozen raw pork is 1% carb. I asked the manufacturer.
 
Back
Top