10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 +16 99

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa & Tarragon

Member Since 2011
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=80588

Good afternoon LL!

Tarragon ate all the overnight fuds which explains the amps. (I haven't had a chance to update his ss.) We are still struggling with his appy today. I have wasted a few cans of food trying to find one he will eat. Dry food it is again today. He pooed again so that is good news. I will be so glad when the Clavamox is done and the cone is off. Tuesday afternoon we go in for a recheck.

Mason and DGF left this morning so the house is back to its quiet normal self and the fur kids are mopey.

Have a great Sunday!!
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon AMPS 280 +6 58 +8 46 +9 51 +10 53

Still sending healing vines for our boy, Tarragon! Hope his appy gets back to normal and you find something he loves to eat. Hugs to you both!
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon AMPS 280 +6 58 +8 46 +9 51 +10 53

Hi Melissa, sorry our Tarragon's appy is still off! Is it the Clavamox causing it? Sending him some healing and appy vines. Oh poor furbabies with Mason and DGF gone. Thanksgiving isn't too far away! (((Hugs)))
and scritches to Tarragon, Turnup & Charlie.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon AMPS 280 +6 58 +8 46 +9 51 +10 53

We have paws crossed to Mr T's appy! Poor guy. His numbers aren't bad considering, but then without eating well, that could account for lower numbers too. Do you have any fortiflora? It has a smell and taste to it that is like what is in kibble, sprinkling some of that on his wet food might get him to eat the wet stuff.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48

Well Tarragon is not eating. I tried syringing (which never goes well) and we didn't get much in. I'm not comfortable shooting the 48. He is purring, talking, pooing and peeing. Clavamox always does this to him. I will be sooo glad when he is done with it. We have tried fortiflora and it is a no go.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48

I hope you get get Tarragon to eat soon. How long does he have to take the Clavamox?
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

OOoooTaragon, feel better. At least several of the P's are in place. Time for good fuds! I just pureed food for civvie Molly - that seems to get her to eat - she's fussy now with the FD and a bad tooth. Vines for hungry and meds working :-)
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48

Sorry Tarragon is not eating, I totally understand not shooting that low if he won't take food. One suggestion, we have had luck putting juice from people tuna on the cat food, also gave our cats the people tuna once and they snarfed it right down. Sending appy vines for Tarragon. cat_pet_icon Have a good evening!
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

Feel better soon Tarragon! Gotta eat some fuds buddy.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

At least you don't have too many days left on the Clavamox. Still praying for Tarragon to heal quickly.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

Hi Melissa - Such great numbers today - wow - what a day for you! I can so understand the no shot - I wouldn't either, in fact didn't when Mannie went through his appy thing. It is all so trying on the bean. I so hope he will eat for you - sending mega eating vines your way. I too had opened can after can after can.... omg. I too tried the syringe thing too - didn't go well here either. you do indeed have my sympathies.

Good news on the poo - one thing you can have a sigh of relief from. I will wish you much luck for the next three days.

Tarragon, be a good boy - eat your fuds, 'K?
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

I don't blame you for not shooting that 48 and bringing out the kibble. Sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do. The good news is most Ps are in place, and the end of the clavamox is on the horizon. Have you tried taking the cone off at all? Not that I recommend it, but when Zen went through this last year, I was never able to get the cone on him at all. I tried once, and he freaked out so badly I was afraid he'd hurt himself. So, instead, I had several sleepless nights of watching so he wouldn't lick the wound. Would you be able to take the cone off long enough for him to try eating, and maybe a little grooming - supervised non-coned time?

Many prayers still coming your way...
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

What about baby food? Someone mentioned that they found Beechnut in ham flavor. If all else isn't working, Libby has used Chik-fil-A or Kentucky Fried Chicken.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

Thanks all! I've tried tuna, boiled chicken, roasted chicken, 6 kinds of cat food, and the list goes on. Tuna is his absolute favorite and he didn't want any of that. I did try syringing baby food. His collar is off right now since we are with him. He is just dying to lick it. Grrrr. He was up to 66 at +13 but I think the kibble had something to do with that.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

Awww Melissa, I wish i had some advice to get Tarragon to eat. I think when they don't feel like eating, all the things they normally love, just don't appeal.
Three days seems like forever to wait, when you are desperately trying to get food in him.
This must be hurting your heart...I'm sorry.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

(((Melissa and Tarragon)))

So sorry to hear its going tough right now. Hang in there, hugs pets and purrs coming your way.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon PMBG 48 Not eating, no shot

Oh gosh, Tarragon sweetie, please eat something. Has the Bupe shot worn off possibly, and he could be having some pain that might affect his appy, too? They hide the pain so well. What about ice cream? Sending vines and prayers for Tarragon and you.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 Not eating, no shot

Oh dear, we completely understand about poor appy and not eating, and trying everything suggested under the sun! And we sure wouldn't shoot a 48 even if Zener was eating! This seems to be a pattern with him and Clamavox, so paws crossed his appy returns once he is off the meds. Wish we could do more to help!
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 Not eating, no shot

Sending eat your food vines to Tarragon. Have you tried appetite stimulants like Cyproheptadine?
The last time J.D. was on Clavamox, we used them to get him to eat.
I know how anxious you are for the the ABs to end and the appetite to begin.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 Not eating, no shot

Oh, Tarragon - please nibble a bit for your Mama Bean.

Lots and lots of vines for your precious boy to eat, heal and be his ol' Tarragon self again soonest.

shai and pirate fitz
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 Not eating, no shot

Oh we can totally relate! we`re having food issues over here right now too, and my kitchen looks like an untouched cat buffet ohmygod_smile ... you made me laugh with the list of foods rejected including 6 kinds of cat food :lol: the good thing is that is can`t go on forever, although sometimes it feels like it to me! healing vines, eating vines, patience vines, humor vines, all kinda vines being sent over to you and tarragon :YMHUG:
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 Not eating, no shot

Hello Melissa,
Big ((((Hugs))),
I like Dyana's idea better than mine but I'll say it anyway just because it is an idea and I get my "acme hat" out so often.

Shadow was never that big an eater of dry food, she always preferred wet. However, I was always hunting for the one that she would go crazy for so I brought new ones in all
the time. She always loved the new bag and wanted it opened asap. She would start shredding it if we didn't open it for her and she would eat a small amount and then it was
over.

So, my thought is if you can get a new bag of something, some of those stores have sample size bags, since none of us want that stuff around. :roll:
Royal Canin has a picky cat sampler box that had 3 sample bags in it for a taste test for your cat to see if they were a savor, an aromatic or a protein. So at least it would be
a small sampling of the contraband.

It's hard to say that out loud. :lol:
Please everyone, don't wet noodle me..... :-D

HUGE big healing vines for Tarragon and Eating Vines.
 
Re: 10/7 Tarragon +12 48 +13 66 Not eating, no shot

(((Melissa)))

I'm so sorry tarragon is not eating but it was a good decision to not shoot.

Is there any other a/b that will work? I've never been able to give Gus or tobey clavamox but Gracie has been on it six weeks now. I just wonder if the vet might have something else that will help that won't make him so sick like amoxicillin ?

Sending him healing vines.
 
I am really thinking this is a pain issue. His bupe shot should have worn off this morning. Tonight he is wide eyed and obviously hurting. They are calling some bupe into Walgreens and DH is going to pick it up.
 
I want to reach through the computer and give you guys big hugs. I would have been reduced to tears on a number of occasions...oh wait, I have been when Shasta wouldn't eat. I hope the bupe helps ease Tarragon's pain and I hope he starts eating a little more and a little more. Healing vines to Tarragon and blessings to you and DH.
 
Pan fry. Ive tried pan fry the canned fish to woe them to eat. Works wonder since the smell... :o
 
I can totally relate on the food thing since right before Arwen was admitted to the hospital she was not eating and she is not a FD cat and jeez you should have seen the things I tried went to the store and bought all sorts of things for her to try sending Tarragon lots of feel better vibes and hope he has a appy for some fuds soon cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Melissa im so sorry Tarragon is going through this. There is nothing worse than when our kitties are feeling so poorly and then wont eat.

Sending a ton of hugs for you and Brian. And lots of scritches and healing vines for Tarragon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top