10/7 Sya PMPS 103 +3 106 on reduced dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

K. Sya and Sophie (GA)

Member Since 2010
So Sya had her dental on 9/16 without incident, and we have begun tooth brushing as well. I have really seen lovely numbers since the dental to the point I feel the need to bump the dose down a bit. She has come to get me up several times in the late night/early morning for food and I have given her high carb (Blue Wilderness...has potatoes in it) and I am still not seeing dramatic spikes from high carb like I had before. My vet is pretty adamant about the idea that infections would make numbers go down, and dentals should have no effect. She is doing very well, all P's firmly in place...in fact more in place than pre dental. I can't help but thinking that if you take pain out of the equation that all those steroid fight or flight adrenal hormone type things stop circulating??? I don't know, maybe.
Anyway, I feel like she is in between 2.75 and 3 for a dose that i would feel comfortable with. I can't risk her going too low as I am not available for testing at the day cycle and at the night cycle I can typically only get some data. I know you are supposed to shoot low to stay low, but I guess given our situation I don't know that if that would be safe.
I guess I'm rambling, but I am happy she is doing well. :-D
 
It's a very interesting hypothesis from your vet. Unfortunately, it's not one that is borne out by the literature. Wiki even notes that critical illness and physiological stress caused by illness can raise BG levels. It's not just an issue of pain causing an adrenal response. Illness and infection stress the system. Stress raises BG levels.
 
Yes. I know I had heard a lot of people talking here about seeing numbers improve as dentals were done, and it seems reasonable to think that once the pain goes away the body is just generally functioning better. He seemed to feel that the bacteria would be feeding on the glucose in the body. I sort of feel like he's confounding that with the idea of cancer where the out of control cancer cells feed on the body's nutrients and cause wasting I don't know. I mean I don't think her numbers are amazingly dramatically lower or anything, but there is a decrease and a stability that wasn't there before either.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top