10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 PMPS 365 +2 278 +4 207

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126516

We had a fun time surfing with Shylo last night until 5am. P: Today he was really antsy with me poking his ear, probably a bit fed up after last night. I think I'm just going to do a +2 and maybe something later on today mid-cycle to let his ears have a little rest.

In my half-asleep state we shot his regular dose of 1u before I remembered Julie mentioning maybe potentially going down to .5u for a few cycles... I'm not worried about him with the 1u, but does anyone have any input there? Obviously if it's a potential option to try I want to consider it! Here's what she said from last night;

julie & punkin (ga) said:
i know i suggested you drop to 0.5u tonight when Shylo hadn't "earned" a dose reduction by going below 50. i'm thinking it might be good to stay there for a few cycles and then go up if a little more if needed now that the dry food is gone.

Let's see what others think about it though.

What does everyone think?
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281

Mornin' Emily. ~O) ~O) Congrats on surviving the first PJ party. :-D Is the dry food completely out of the house now?

Getting dry food out of the diet can make a huge difference. We had one member giving 5.5U of Levemir when she got rid of the dry food from the other cats - she didn't think her diabetic cat was getting into it. Guess what - one crazy long PJ party that lasted one and a half days. He went to zero units when the party ended. :cool: But it was a little intense with lots of testing every half hour. :shock:

Julie was suggesting trying .5U for a few days to see if removing the dry food will make that much difference with Shylo. I agree with her. It's much easier to increase if he needs a little more juice. You also might want to think about your process for giving insulin in the morning, especially if two different people might be giving the shot. There should be a method of letting the other person know, or reminding yourself if you are sleep deprived, what the morning dose will be. I use calipers to measure Neko's dose, so I always make sure it's set to the next cycles dose. That way DH knows to just shoot whatever the calipers measure. I've heard of people using sticky notes, log books, etc., whatever works.
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

I still have the bag here, since its the raw boost kibble this morning I picked out some of the freeze dried raw pieces to bribe Shylo into letting me poke him... which worked, hahaha. I'll be returning the bag to work tomorrow or Friday since I just got it, going to pick up the little freeze dried raw bites instead... but the bag is sealed and out of reach since Shylo is the only kitty in the house. (:

Thanks for the tip, I just made a sticky note to go over the prescription label on the insulin box in the fridge. Hopefully a giant red ".5u!" will help me remember!

His +2 is up just a little bit, but that's kind of expected if he's bouncing, right?
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

He's still within meter variance of his AMPS reading, so hard to tell if he's bouncing. It'd be interesting to get something later in the cycle. So far this cycle looks like yesterday morning and look where he ended up then. :o Getting a +10 or +11 is always good for a heads up on what they might throw you at PMPS.
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

Good plan... I think I'll shoot for like a +6/7 to get a mid-cycle BG and then definitely a +10 or 11 later on as well. Hoping to avoid too much poking this afternoon since we did so much last night! :P
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

Hi Emily,

Just checking in on you and Shylo! No dosing advice from me - I'll leave that to the more experienced individuals. My husband would sometimes shoot in the AM, and I would always leave him a note with instructions on it (e.g., under 100 - wake me up; otherwise, shoot X amount). That's the only way I could keep things straight, especially right before Jersey went into remission when she was throwing us all kinds of crazy numbers. ohmygod_smile

Are you using Neosporin ointment with pain relief? I tried to go back through your past posts and look for the Neosporin recommendation; I couldn't find it, but I may have just overlooked it. Most people do use it for their kitties. I used it prior to the test to help the blood well up and also used it after the test to help the paw (we paw tested) heal. It can come in especially handy when you have to do frequent testing like you did last night. Anyway, I just wanted to mention it in case you weren't already using it.

Have a great day!
Shelly
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

Hey Shelly, thanks for dropping by! I do actually have the neosporin with pain relief, it's been super helpful with the testing so far and I usually put another dab on after too. If I could use both ears I don't think it'd be that big of a deal, but the second day of home testing Shylo jerked his head away when I poked him and the lancet got the edge of his ear pretty good. ): I've been letting that side heal before poking over there again since I'm sure it's a little sore.

I just gave him some freeze dried chicken liver though, and he seems to have forgiven me for the morning pokes. :P It's amazing what food can do, hahaha.
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

Hi Emily!

How are you today after our late night party? I had to get up "early" (for me) to take Cinco to the vet for suture removal, so I'm feeling kinda zombie-ish! @-)

It sounds like you've got a handle on things today and lots of good advice. Just wanted to check in on you and Shylo. Have a great day!
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306

I slept for about five hours and then got up to feed the cat and give him his insulin... and then went back to bed for a couple hours. (Still want to go back to bed again though, hahaha) I hope Cinco behaved at the vet for you!
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178

looking good. what you saw this morning was a mini-bounce -which tells us that Shylo's body isn't too unaccustomed to normal numbers. He cleared the bounce fast - just like he recovered quickly when you skipped the dose.

i'm torn about the dose. I'm not sure 1.0 is too high - most of the reason I wanted you to reduce was because you're new, you've just gotten rid of the dry food, and you're shooting late so there isn't always someone online then. Yay Chris, Wendy & Tricia for checking in with you last night.

The important thing with Lantus is to keep steady on the dose. If you want to stick with 1.0u you can, if you want to drop to 0.5u you could also do that. If he were my cat, being experienced, I'd stick with the 1.0u and see if he'll drop below 50 on it, telling us for certain that it's too high of a dose.

But . . . when you're new it can be daunting and it can be easier to go UP the dosing scale instead of working down it. So . . . I'll leave that choice to you, but whatever you choose tonight, plan to stick with it for a few cycles - 6 or more, unless he goes below 50 on it. Numbers get wonky with dose-hopping.

edited to add - you could also split the difference and go to 0.75u. there are pictures of these tiny doses on the New to the Group yellow starred sticky.
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178

Yeah I totally understand, and thanks for all of the advice/suggestions so far! I just did his +10 and he's back up to 296 this evening... I think what I'm going to do is stick with the 1u for the next week or so and see how it goes? If he drops below 50 then I think I'll definitely lower it but I think for right now 1u is a good place to be.

...I think. (Still learning ahahaha) :lol:

edit; +10 not +9 whoops (can you tell I didn't sleep? haha)
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178

Not a bad bounce at all!!

And Shylo is clearing it nicely too!

It's truly amazing what a big difference getting rid of the dry food can make, isn't it?

Hope you have a quieter night tonight so you can get a little more sleep!

Edited to add...I think the 1 unit is probably a good decision but let's see for sure where he's at at PMPS time......we'll know for sure in the wee hours of the morning...LOL
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178 +10 296

Hmm, so his PMPS is up to 365. I'm a little bummed that he's jumped back up into pinks, but I also have a feeling that he got into the ferret's food earlier while they were out in the other room... when I walked by he came running over from the direction of the cage. Naughty boy. P: Ferret food was moved out of his reach so I don't think it'll be a problem again. I'm going to go ahead and feed him dinner and then shoot 1u after.

edit; Aaand jabbed myself in the thumb with the insulin needle after I gave Shylo his shot lmao.
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178 +10 296 PMPS 365

Welcome to the club!!

We've all stabbed ourselves with all these wonderful sharp things ...the lancets, the syringes (both full and empty)

at least we give such small doses that even if we stab ourselves really good, a little chocolate will fix us right up :lol:

Come on down out of the rafters Shylo! Pink doesn't look good on boys!
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178 +10 296 PMPS 365

Back down to 278 at his +2, I think I'll give him a small snack at +3 like last night but otherwise leave him alone for tonight. Managed to get myself in the side of the finger with the lancet this round too... maybe I should have been cat-napping all day myself, hahaha.
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178 +10 296 PMPS 365 +2 27

With that big of a drop at +2, I'd set an alarm and get a +4....and maybe more tests later depending on what you get then

That +2 is like a crystal ball...and if it's lower than the pre-shot, that's a good indication that they're making a move

You might want to go ahead and give him a teaspoon of his regular low carb food now...see if you can slow him down some
 
Re: 10/7 Shylo AMPS 281 +2 306 +6 178 +10 296 PMPS 365 +2 27

An alarm I can do! That's probably a better idea than sitting up all night again. Not that I really mind... I've gotten less sleep before work before.

"Making a move"... he's eying the bag of freeze dried treats from the floor now, I think he's about to be making anothe rmove of his own ahaha.
 
He's still trending down, but not quite as fast as the first two hours... should I get another one in an hour or so? Poor guy is pretty cross with me over the ears... might have to try a couple paw pokes soon whoops lol.
 
Hi Emily.

My Cinco is having a PJ party again. :roll: :mrgreen:

Yes, I'd check him again. He's slowed down, so I suspect he will surf. You can always give him some MC if you really need to get some sleep.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top