10/7 - Lantus - Flash - PMPS - 59, crazy cat...

Flash's human

Member Since 2019
So, I fully expected after only wet food and just 4 UI for the last 12 hours, he would approach 200, something fairly normal, but nope, he gives me 59, lol. How can a cat be anymore unpredictable? In last few days, I have 60, 550, 300, 59, it's such a yoyo of numbers I don't know what to think. Is he diabetic for 1/2 the day? No way did I give him insulin tonight, but of course I will test him again tomorrow morning to see if he needs insulin. All I can think is if I give him even a 1/4 cup of dry food, that is enough to spike him up 200 points, just amazing what effect that has. Well, he's understandably happy I didn't have to stick him multiple times tonight. And, he didn't pee on the kitchen table in the last week which of course my wife noticed and is happy about since she's home during the day w/him and our kids.
 
Yes, the majority of dry food is akin to strait sugar for a human diabetic. Same with a lot of cat treats (freeze dried chicken, meats etcs are good treat options for our sugar cats). It is wild to see the change diet is making for your Flash! I am so glad you are testing him and not injecting him without testing first.

Have you stopped all dry food all together? Some cats, simply stopping all dry food and using low carb treats can bring them down to "normal" blood sugar levels.

I am not experienced enough with cats switching from all dry to all wet and where to go with their insulin. Hopefully someone who has been down that road or helped others can weigh in on where to go dose wise. The only thing I know is we don't like to inject lantus on a "sliding scale" (that is, change the dose each time based on the pre-shot sugar level).
 
Here's your link from yesterday. We put the link to our previous post in our first post of the day so people can quickly go back and read what's been going on and what advice has been given.

As I said yesterday, I really think you were started out at too high a dose to begin with.

With getting the dry out of the picture, you really need to reduce the dose. I suggested 3U yesterday (which may still be too much)

Getting pre-shots that are too low to shoot proves that the dose is too high
 
That 59 is only 9 points above the "take action" number on a human meter. You may want to get another test, just to be sure he's not still dropping lower and might need a little snack to keep him on the right side of 50, especially since that was the PM preshot and I don't know where in the world you are and when you might be turning in for the night. Just concerned.
 
I agree with @Chris & China (GA). You need to drop the dose to 3 units and see how he goes on that.
Lantus works best when a consistent dose is given such as 3 units morning and night. If you swap from 3 units to 4 units you are going to mess up the depot and get wonky numbers.
Changing over to wet food from dry can drop the numbers dramatically so you need to also reduce the dose of insulin to keep Flash safe.

If you get a green number, or a number that is lower than before always test again to ensure Flash is on the way back up not dropping lower.

By the time symptoms of a hypo show they are dangerously low.
Do you have honey and some high carb wet food at home in case it is needed?
 
Last edited:
I agree with @Chris & China (GA). You need to drop the dose to 3 units and see how he goes on that.
Lantus works best when a consistent dose is given such as 3 units morning and night. If you swap from 3 units to 4 units you are going to mess up the depot and get wonky numbers.
Changing over to wet food from dry can drop the numbers dramatically so you need to also reduce the dose of insulin to keep Flash safe.

If you get a green number, or a number that is lower than before always test again to ensure Flash is on the way back up not dropping lower.

By the time symptoms of a hypo show they are dangerously low.
Do you have honey and some high carb wet food at home in case it is needed?
Yes, I have honey as a last resort and the friskies wet food I give him is loaded w/high carb gravy but is still better than his dry food. In addition, I was concerned as well and gave him maple turkey and a few of his high carb dry treats which I know will move his sugar up a bit until morning.
 
Back
Top