10/7 Clare AMPS 318;PMPS 345;+4 122;+5 114;+6 146

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgette and Clare

Member Since 2014
Good Morning, Lantus Land Neighbors!

We're sending out healing wishes and hugs to all the kitties and beans who need them today.

Today's News:

AMPS 318
+3 184
+6 226

PMPS 345
+3 147
+4 122
+5 114
+6 146

Thanks for all of the ideas we've been receiving for how to feed Clare in a way to lessen her extreme dives and bounces. Of course, Clare may not listen to any of it :twisted: but I'll keep trying anyway! I'm not sure what we'd do here without our friends in Lantus Land.

Have a great day, Everyone!
 
Re: 10/7 Clare AMPS 10/7;+3 184;+6 226 Back to previous dose

I'm assuming that we have a failed reduction here, and so we've gone back to the previous effective dose, which was 0.25+. Please let me know if this was the right way to read Clare's bouncy ss.

Thanks,

Georgette and Clare
 
Re: 10/7 Clare AMPS 318;+6 226;PMPS 345 Back to previous dos

I don't know that I'd consider this a failed reduction. You've been getting blue nadirs followed by a bounce -- or at least that's what it looks like to me.

Can I ask you, after several years of working with Gabby on this, do you still have remission as a goal? Or do you have more of a "what will be, will be" point of view? I'm pretty goal-directed as a rule but I can move to a more relaxed view especially if the alternative is going crazy! :shock:
I would love to think that remission is a possibility. However, the longer you are from diagnosis, the less the probability of remission. I think it's highly unlikely that Gabby will ever be OTJ. That said, my goal is to keep her under renal threshold (i.e., under 200 or so). If Gabby's pancreas decides to come back online, I'll be very happy for us both!

Another question: (hope you don't mind all the questions) have you considered that maybe feeding the 4% as a basic diet might contribute to the bouncing patterns that we see with our kitties? Clare is getting the 4% food, too, as her main diet except for during her lows, and also now that we're adding in some 8% in the early hours of each cycle to try to slow down her bounces.
I don't mind the questions in the least. I think what % carb your cat does best with is an ECID thing. Some cats do great on 1 - 2% whereas other need 7%. Just like with people, every cat has a different metabolism. It could also be a matter of a cat's age. Younger cats are likely to have a faster metabolism. If the 8% seems to be flattening out Clare's curve then you are getting the results you want. Unfortunately, using food to manage the curve is a trial and error process so there's no one "right" answer. The only right answer is whether the numbers tell you that what you're doing is working for your cat.

Yet another question!: As you can see by Clare's spreadsheet, she seems to come down one cycle and then bounce the next (and maybe the next and the next). The last couple of nights that she's been bouncing, I've continued to feed the 8% early in case she was going to come down, to slow down her dive. When she's bouncing, the extra carbs fed early seem to make her BGs even higher during the bounce; and so I wonder if there's a way to know in advance whether or not to feed her the extra carbs early on? I hope this question is clear
Lol!! If you figure out a way to predict Clare's numbers, please do it for all of our kitties! All kidding aside, the more data you have, the better you may be able to predict whether there will be a bounce. The dilemma, though, is that our cats are not always (ever?) consistent. As soon as you think you know their patterns, they throw you a curve.
 
Re: 10/7 Clare AMPS 318;PMPS 345;+3 147 Back to previous dos

Poor Georgette. Being an analytical person with an FD kitty must be torture! I've learned that the only thing I can count on Cinco to do is confound me!

I'm glad you got some answers to your questions, even if they weren't the ones you were hoping for. I hope you can get Clare's bounces leveled out.
 
Re: 10/7 Clare AMPS 318;PMPS 345;+3 147 Back to previous dos

i think it was ok that you went back to 0.25u+. Just be on alert - which you already are great about testing - to watch if she gets into the 40's again so you can keep her up.

Sometimes in a case like this it helps to give carbs and prevent a reduction a couple of times when you see them coming. Just a little bit longer on a dose can help bring down the highs sometimes.
 
Re: 10/7 Clare AMPS 318;PMPS 345;+3 147;+4 122; +5 114

Thanks, Tricia -- I think I can live with the uncertainty; that's life with a cat! :-D

Thanks, Julie -- It looks like the early MC is helping to even her low cycle out this time. We'll stay alert! :shock:

Have a good night,

Georgette
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top