10/7 Charms AMPS 71,+2 49,+2.5 62,+3 77,+4 76,+6 68,PMPS 126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Last night PMPS 99 +2 68, +3 48, +4 43, +5 63, +6 77

Really Charms!!! Gave him that reduction yesterday, because he dipped into the 30's and then last night he dipped into the 40's, so I know I will take some heat for this but I gave him another reduction and he still dipped into the 40's. I have been having to give him way too much HC lately to keep him out of those low numbers so I thought maybe less insulin might be better. I know this is not according to strict protocol but there is a possibility that the YAZC food is making more of a difference than traditional LC food. Charms is purring , happy, hungry, peeing, pooping etc.... He is unaware of all the drama and stress that these dose decisions cause. Time will tell , but for now I feel better, didn't want Charms to think he was going to feast on gravy cans morning and night. I thought we had kicked his carb addiction, I was afraid those gravy cans were going to give him a relapse. Well let me know what you think. - Sam
 
Re: 10/7 Charms AMPS 71,+2 49,+2.5 62,+3 77,+4 76,+6 68,PMPS

Hi Sam, if you are working hard to keep Charms up and feeding a lot of gravy, it doesn't hurt to reduce again like you did. Neko was also a high dose kitty, and when she started tumbling down the dosing ladder, there was one time where I only held a dose for two cycles before going down again, and she held the reduction and went down again 6 cycles later. As you said, you can always go back up if it doesn't hold. This isn't protocol, but sometimes we have to think of safety first, especially for higher dose cats.

I have a different theory than the YAZC food making the difference. Because of Charm's high dose you got to, I think you broke through some sort of resistance, and that is why he's taking so many reductions. But as you said, he doesn't care - as long as he feels good. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top