10/7 Baby AMPS +3 56 - Need Dosing/Shot Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

D & Baby

Member Since 2011
I have been skipping shots left and right due to his numbers being under 150 and me not being able to be around to monitor. (I've barely been able to get his AM/PM PS numbers because I've been crazy busy.) In the last 5 days, I've only given him 2 shots, total. (See spreadsheet.)

So what do I do? Lower his dose? Continue to skip shots unless he is over 150? I don't anticipate my schedule letting up in the near future, so anything that requires round-the-clock checking of blood -- well, I just can't do it right now.

Thoughts and advice appreciated!
 
Can't seem to publish the most current days even though the ss says updated.

Here are the last few days -- the first number is AMPS, last number is AMPS, middle are random times I could take blood:


10/05/11 105 54
10/06/11 89 91 55 109
10/07/11 114 56
 
Just giving you a bump up. But you know the advisors are going to want more numbers before weighing in on dose.

Check in on the Tech forum about your SS. I know that someone else was having the same trouble, Samwise I think.
 
I republished and it is updated.

I give shots at 7 am and 7 pm when I'm giving them. I didn't shoot again tonight as he was 81 prior to his PM shot.
 
I think you need to make a decision about what your goals for Baby are. Based on how you are currently testing, you need to evaluate whether you can realistically follow a Tight Regulation Protocol. With that approach, the goal is to get your cat into normal numbers as quickly as possible and it means being able to get, at the bare minimum, 4 tests per day -- your pre-shot tests and at least one spot check per cycle. From what you are indicating, you are unable to do this.

Alternatively, you can follow a Start Low Go Slow approach. If you look at the information at the beginning of this sticky, the basics of this approach are noted. It may be a better fit given the current demands on your time.

If you can get more tests, especially since you have been routinely skipping and Baby's numbers have been in a normal range, we may be able to determine if Baby is essentially ready for an OTJ trial. We just need to see more tests, especially at night, to figure this out.
 
I hear you on deciding what my goals are.

From what I can tell, I am following the Start Low Go Slow approach, no? Not shooting under 150 because I can't monitor him is something I got directly from that link. I was unsure if I should start giving him token shots or just let it go like I've been doing and hoping to get advice re: that.

Honestly, I desperately need sleep right now and as a general rule can not stay up to test. If I can do some short term two day check every x number of hours to determine if he ready for OTJ trial, then I will somehow manage. But I just can't do it on a regular basis (short of an emergency situation, of course).

I obviously would like to have him go into remission (who wouldn't!?!), but if testing and shooting like I've been doing works, I can work with that, too. He is happier and more himself lately than he has been the last few months, so I'll take what I can get.
 
Believe me, there isn't a person here who doesn't understand needing sleep!! :-D :-D :-D

Keep in mind, while it is good to have as many spot check time slots as possible (not in the same cycle, but, say, in a given week), even if you give the shot at 7pm and then get a spot check in when you go to bed, say at 9pm, that still provides valuable information. If you're shooting at 7am but not leaving the house until 8, that +1 is still more than nothing. Many of us work full-time (and even are doing this on our own) and have worked out schedules that allow us to get the sleep we need but also the data we need to make good decisions. My job is relatively flexible in terms of start times, so I work 9:30 to 6:00 most days... I shoot at 6:30 am/pm, so I go back to sleep for a couple hours most mornings, then basically give Willie his shot as I walk in the door after work, which even if I go to bed at 9:00 would allow me at least a +2.5. Everyone does things a little differently based on their schedule needs.

Hang in there... you'll get something figured out that works for both you and Baby! Have a good night!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top