10/6 Tori - In Hospital -Probable Acute Pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb and Tori

Member Since 2009
Hi everybody. I didn't post yesterday. I'm not really sure what's going on with Tori. Yesterday she had he Mirtazapine and I was kind of surprised that it didn't increase her appetite. She ate OK in the morning but by the evening she was just picking. She didn't receive the Prednisolone last night. It's now every other day so I expected that according to the pattern she should be lower today.

This morning when I got home from work she was hiding under the table. Her AMPS was 318 and she flatly refused to eat anything. I gave her some Pepcid and Metacop and tried again after an hour but she still wouldn't touch a thing. She feels warm but her temp is 101.8. She growls at me when I petted her. SOmething she never has done before. After I tried to get her to eat a while ago she went into my bedroom and promptly peed and pooped on my mat . As far as I can tell she hasn't vomited. She's not drinking a lot of water and isn't really meatloafing.

Basically I'm really not sure if she is having the start of a CP flare or if she is having a delayed reaction to the chemo. She's supposed to have bloodwork drawn on Saturday but I'm wondering if I should call and see if the vet can see her today. What do you think? I just don't feel good about this but I'm wondering too if I'm over reacting.
 
Re: 10/6 Tori AMPS 318 -Refusing to eat

hmmm ... Well I guess if you KNOW she is not acting like herself (growling, BM and Urinating outside of the box) and if you can afford it and have the time, I guess I would call the vet and see if they think you should bring her in earlier, just in case. I'm sorry you are going through this though, it isn't any fun when our kitties don't feel good. Sending lots of prayers your way!
 
Re: 10/6 Tori AMPS 318 -Refusing to eat

I think if she is acting very abnormally, won't eat, etc., I'd call the vet. We are sending many healing vines to Tori and hope she will eat for you today.
 
Re: 10/6 Tori AMPS 318 -Refusing to eat

Oh Barb,
The not eating always worry me especially when they've even gotten the mirtazapine. Give your tori girl a special hug. And one for you too Barb.
xxx
patti
 
Re: 10/6 Tori AMPS 318 -Refusing to eat

I would call the vet, too. Sending Tori healing and eating vines. I really hope she eats soon.
 
Re: 10/6 Tori AMPS 318 -Refusing to eat

I'd call the vet too, especially since she usually doesn't growl. Do you think she is dehydrated at all? Sending eating vines to Tori!
 
Re: 10/6 Tori AMPS 318 -Refusing to eat

Hi Barb, sorry to hear Tori's not feeling well. I would take her to the vet as well. That's a lot of behaviors being off. Hope she feels better soon.
 
I didn't have a chance to log in but heard that Tori wasn't herself. I'm very glad you got her in to your vet. I'm not as happy that she's not with you but you know she'll get good care there.

Snowflakes and vines for Tori to recover from the p'titis (and everything else) quickly.
istockphoto_4706355-snow-on-ivy.jpg
 
Dam it all! My poor baby girl just can't cop a break. I'm sitting here sobbing my head off. After I posted this morning I called the vets and said I wanted to bring her in. God love them whenever I call and say Tori needs to be seen she gets seen pretty quick. Her appointment was for 2 and they actually apologized for not getting her in sooner. Actually they were down 2 vets today. Unfortunately our regular vet wasn't there. Between the time I called and the appointment she vomited 3 times frothy white fluid. Of course she didn't touch a thing food or water wise and her BG was 274 right before we left.

The vet who saw her ironically was the vet who saw her the very first time when she was just 5 weeks old. She feels that she probably is having an acute Pancreatitis attack or more unlikely a delayed reaction to the CCNU. She has been admitted and will be treated as Pancreatits for now with an IV, Buprenex q8h, and Cerenia. She will probably not receive any insulin tonight or only a very small token dose this evening because they know her history of tanking when she gets fluids and they are not open 24 hrs. I know it would be better to have her in an Emerg but I just can't do it right now. She will be having all the routine labs of course plus the Pancreatitis test, the name of which escapes me right now. I worked last night and have been awake now for over 24 hours and have to work again tonight. I feel good about the plan as I certainly wouldn't want to have to leave her at home while I go to work.

Ironic isn't it that this time 2 years ago we were going through the same thing. Even more ironic is that she couldn't feel the nodes in her neck at all Question is is did the CCNU cause the Pancreatitis or is it coincidental? I am so worried and scared. Please say some prayers for my little girl. It seems we are always asking for them but we depend on them so much.
 
I'm so sorry Barb for the heartache you are experiencing. It's so hard for us creature lovers. 'we give so much to the voiceless ones who depend on us for everything and they give us all they have love. You are Tori's angel and are doing the best you can.
I send healing energy to Tori.
 
awww, barb. i'm so sorry, but i'm glad she's getting the treatment she needs right now.
you and tori will be kept close in thought and prayer...
 
(((Barb))) (((Tori)))
I'm sorry Tori isn't feeling well, I think you were wise to take her in to the vet. I hope she feels better soon, sending lots of prayers for her!
 
Barb...sending you and Tori healing and supportive vines, snowflakes and loving light.

Bless your heart.....you and Tori have been through so much recently. My heart, thoughts and prayers are w/you two right now.

Please keep us updated how Tori and you are doing.
 
aw, barb...dam it all...you both deserve a big break. sending healing thoughts and prayers for you and tori.

celi & binks
 
I am so sorry barb - but glad she is at the vet and can get the treatment she needs. Mannie and I send a ton of vines and snowflakes. You will be in our thoughts. ((((HUGS))))
 
Barb, I am so sorry for you and Tori. My heart goes out to you. I am sending prayers for a quick recovery for Tori and sending healing vines.
 
Barb, there is no limit on vines around here - we will always have vines and snowflakes and prayers for your precious girl if and when she needs them. So glad you got her in quickly, I hope she is already feeling better.
 
Oh Barb,
Tori is now getting pain meds and fluids to help her feel better. I hope you can get a little rest before work and that tonite is a slow one for you. Wishing for tomorrow to be a much better one for Tori and for you!!!!!
 
Saying prayers that Tori is feeling better already, and feels much better, tomorrow. Also, sending white healing light and snowflakes and vines to your little girl.
 
Prayers, healing vines and a ton of snowflakes for dear Tori...she is such a trooper...and will be just fine now.
So glad you were able to bring her in right away. (((((Barb))))) she is getting the care she needs now and will rest tonight. I hope your night goes smoothly and quickly. Tomorrow she will be feeling 150% better.
Please keep us posted...we will be thinking of you both... :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
((((Barb)))) Tori is my prayers as well, I'm so sorry you are both going thru this.
Stay strong and keep us posted ((((hugs))))
 
Sending Tori a blanket of snowflakes so that she will feel better and a great big old hug for you Barb!
 

Attachments

  • snowblanket.JPG
    snowblanket.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 1,509
((Barb))
keeping both you and Tori in my prayers and sending to you
out west tons of healing vines and blizzards of snowflakes.
 
OH Barb!! I am so so so sorry for you & dear Tori having to go through all this!--You are the greatest momma bean and always caring for Tori so sweetly!!
Sending Gigantic Healing Vines to Tori please get well soon!! You both are going through so much!! HUGS from all of us!!
 
(((((((Barb & Tori))))))) I'm sending all the healing vines and snowflakes I can get hands on. I do so hope that Tori will be feeling better tomorrow. She is in the hospital right now where she can get the care she needs. Trust in Tori's knowledge and in her love for you that you are doing for her what is best. And tomorrow she'll be back home with you. Many prayers for you both.

Hugs,
Ella
 
(((Barb))) (((Tori)))...just got home to see this news. I'm so glad you took her in and we are sending tons of healing light and snowflakes. It's great that they
are treating the pancreatitis aggressively and perhaps that will get her home sooner to you. Poor little Tori!! We will be keeping you in our thoughts
and prayers that she is better by later tonight and can come home soon.
 
Well I'm hoping that no news is good news. After I posted this afternoon I actually finally fell asleep and slept the sleep of the dead. I set my alarm to get up at 6 so I could call the vets for an update before they left at 7. I didn't wake up though and woke up with a start at 620. I quickly called but the office was already closed. I guess with 2 vets out today they must have closed early. I can only trust that she's Ok or they would have called me. I hate this not knowing what's happening. I just pray that the IV and the meds are working their magic and that she's sleeping comfortably. I hate the thought of her being alone. I pray I didn't make a mistake by not taking her to Emerg.

Thank you all so much for your prayers and vines for my baby. They mean so much . Please keep them coming.

It's going to be a long night at work tonight but probably better to keep busy. Have a good night everybody. My prayers for our kitties who are struggling tonight and for their Beans too. Love you guys.
 
(((BARB & TORI))) Keeping you both in my thoughts tonight, I hope tomorrow morning you have an awesome update for us.
 
we'll keep sending thoughts and prayers your way, barb. i think you're right...they'd have contacted you if things werent going well.

hope your night at work is a good one

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top