10/6 Mar Lei AMPS 491. +3 272, +5 214, +PMPS 470 +3 40, +4 307

Jdubs

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-5-mar-lei-amps-383-dosing-question.269237/#post-3005939

He's a horrid 491 this morning - I guess big bounce from 52 yesterday. So reduced the dose to 2. That feels good. Lets see what happens.

I have to say yesterday he seemed so so so so so well and happy and full of the joys and confident. I haven't seen him like that for a while. A friend came over for some supper and normally he's super shy and anxious with kind of strangers, but he was really confident and social.

Last week it seemed he was heading for another DK. How much has changed so fast. Thank you so so so much for helping me bring him back!
 
I have understood the seriousness of keeping strips to metres and I also understand that it is very important you know (and the spreadsheet knows - some adjustments will need to be programmed into it right?) what metre he's on at any given time. I am going to stick with the Alpha tax till I run out of strips. I might even see if the vets can get me more on insurance - for continuity. But anyway whatever I do I will let you know
If you already have Freestyle Lite meter and strips, you can just switch to that once you run out of AT strips. AT strips are horribly expensive and most of us use human meters. The spreadsheet will need a little change when you switch from a pet to a human meter and I can help you with that.

I have to say yesterday he seemed so so so so so well and happy and full of the joys and confident. I haven't seen him like that for a while. A friend came over for some supper and normally he's super shy and anxious with kind of strangers, but he was really confident and social.
That is such a great update. We like to say that a cat is more than it's numbers. As he continues to see better numbers he will feel good.

:bighug:
 
So disappointing day.

AMPS 491. +3 272, +5 214, +PMPS 470

Can I ask you your thoughts - does it seem not enough? Could he still be bouncing from yesterday shot? Do I leave it time to settle?
 
He is just bouncing. Bounces can take as long as 3 days (6 cycles to clear). Nothing to do but wait for it to clear. A real test of patience! Just use the time to do things you can't do when he is in lower numbers like catch up on sleep, or go out or get other work done. :-)
 
Ok tough as you say to see the high numbers but as I cant do anything, catching with other stuff is a wonderful idea, thank you!
 
I know I am meant to be relaxing but he asked for a test and seemed very energetic so I was curious.....he's 40 at +3

Do I act on this?

I've given him a generous teaspoon of food
 
I know I am meant to be relaxing but he asked for a test and seemed very energetic so I was curious.....he's 40 at +3
I'm inclined to think that the strip was a bad strip. Especially going by the next test. When you get a test that seems wonky, you want to get another test to cross check. A drop from 470 to 40 in 3 hours and then back up to 307 in an hour is unlikely.
 
I dont know but he went from being really energised and seeming great to then ploddy and getting tired quickly. But I agree seems too much.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top