10/6 Lucky AMPS 311 PMPS 201

Status
Not open for further replies.

Luckyducky

Member Since 2012
Hi everyone, I'm just checking in right now with Lucky's numbers for today. Here's his spreadsheet, and today's numbers so far:

Readings for 10/6
AMPS 311
+9 313
PMPS 201
+3 90
+4 81
+6 96
+12 59
+13.5 43

It looks like he started coming out from a bounce right before his PMPS, and he's dropping pretty quick, so I'm going to get more numbers in the next hour or so.

Also, I thought I should mention, my brother did some research and recommended that I try shooting in the flank. Lucky's numbers have been so unpredictable the past 8 months and he thought that maybe the area I was shooting might not have been so good (originally I was shooting the sides of the chest behind the front legs). I just started shooting the flank on 10/2 (about 4 days ago) and started seeing greens for the first time in a while --- I don't know if it's had any positive effect, but I guess we'll see.

I'm also considering reducing Lucky's food intake --- he's eating 3 cans a day, but with the neuropathy in his legs he hasn't been moving around as much, and I think it's caused him to gain weight (he now weighs a little over 14 lbs now, which I don't think is good). I'm figuring on starting tonight to reduce his intake to 2 1/2 cans a day, but if y'all think I should wait or reconsider, please let me know.

I thought I should also mention that it's been just about 2 months already since Lucky started the Zobaline, but there unfortunately hasn't been any improvement at all in his back legs (actually, they're worse now I think, he's almost completely walking on his hocks now whereas before his legs were just a bit wobbly). It's got me down, and I'm starting to consider the vet's advice to switch to PZI (I know the studies show Lantus as being more successful, but I'm at a wit's end to figure out why Lucky isn't getting regulated).

Thanks for any thoughts/advice y'all might have, it's much appreciated.
 
If you're planning on reducing Lucky's food intake, I'd suggest taking a look at the section on obesity on Dr. Lisa's website. She uses a formula to determine daily caloric intake: Required calories per day = [13.6 X optimal lean body weight in pounds] + 70. She also notes that a 1- 2% reduction in their current weight per week is an appropriate, slow rate of weight loss.

Some cats do get better absorption in the flank. Any of the sites noted below are considered acceptable for insulin injection.
resource.aspx

FWIW, I tried flank injections with Gabby. I gave more fur shots and she was not amused at getting poked in the flank. Every cat is different applies in this case, too.

It can take a couple of months to see results of methyl B-12. The effect of the vitamin will be enhanced if you can get Lucky to cooperate with keeping numbers under 200. Getting a cat better regulated will also help with neuropathy.
 
I was shooting in the flank from almost the very beginning until we had a mini rebellion. (after 2 months) My cat decided she had enough of that.
She was very sensitive to it. I seemed to be having my nadir very early in the cycle too.
Marje ( who is out of town for a few days) told me that it really only affects rate of absorbtion but they still get the benefit either way.
So I switched to the scruff. The only thing I noticed really was our nadir moved slightly later but not a lot. Just be sure not to hit the same
spot repeatedly, you do want to migrate around even if you stay with the scruff.

I think you may also find a slightly lower appetite when Lucky's numbers get 200 or lower. Regulation helps with a lot of issues.
The neuropathy should get better. Don't give up.

I give approximately a 1/2 can (3oz) four x per day ,at shot times and +6 or +7 in daytime and +5 at night.. It's hard for shadow to go
the 6 hrs in the day so I usually skew that so she goes 5 1/2 hrs before shots ( at the very least) She is a 13 lb cat. She also gets 6 small shrimp every day with her shots so she'll cooperate.
 
Hi again everybody! I just took Lucky's AMPS, and was surprised to see a low number again (he's reading 59 right now, it seems like he might have had greens all night :shock: ). Last night I could've sworn he was rising back up from out of the greens, but I guess not. I'm going to check his number again in just a bit, I just really hope I don't wind up having to skip his shot again. :-| (any thoughts would be helpful too, I'd hate for him to jump high again and go through another bounce :sad:)

@Sienne: Thanks so much for the detailed response. Dr. Lisa's website is very informative, though I'm not entirely sure what Lucky's optimal lean body weight should be (I think the vet said 12.5 lbs, but I don't remember, I'm going to have to look back at my paperwork, I hope it's in there). Hopefully the flank shots work out for Lucky, he seems to be hitting the greens for longer periods of time with the flank shot, but I guess we'll see (and hopefully the lower numbers will help with the Zobaline too).

@Rhiannon: Thanks for the advice too. Actually, IIRC at the beginning I was shooting the scruff too, and he was still getting greens back then too, but eventually I switched to the sides of his chest because I heard the scruff has bad circulation or something along those lines. Maybe shooting the sides is what's been keeping his numbers so high for so long? It's hard to tell just yet, though the recent string of good numbers while shooting the flank makes me hopeful, and maybe shooting the scruff again could work out for Lucky too (I guess we'll see). I used to feed Lucky 3/4 can 4x a day, but I've been moving his feeding schedule around to see if it might positively affect his numbers any, which is why I'm on an awkward schedule atm (1 can in the first 2 hours of the shot, and 1/4 can at +6).

Thank you both for your words of advice and encouragement, it's much appreciated and I hope things start looking up for Lucky.
 
Edit: I think I'll start a new thread, I guess I might as well anyways since it's a new day, and it seems like an immediate issue with his numbers dropping low right now. :shock:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top