10/6 Lily’s AMPS 199

Status
Not open for further replies.
NB: Do a quick BG check before you put the food down, just to make sure Lily's not dropped since your previous test. If she has dropped, post back straight away. I'm monitoring your thread for updates.


Mogs
.
 
Can you post the time you give the injection and your time zone please, Sally. I need to set an alarm to alert me to check in with you.

I recommend grabbing a test when you get back from looking after your FIL.

Keep safe.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Hi Sally,

Looks like the Vetsulin is kicking in. I recommend next test in an hour.

I suggest making a note in today's spreadsheet Remarks along the lines of:

AMPS 199, stalled without feeding c. 20 mins, next test 231.

I'd also suggest putting 231 in today's AMPS so that you'll have a fuller picture of the BG when you actually gave the dose and also how the mid-cycle tests relate to the BG at which you gave the insulin.

(Hope I've explained the above OK.)

Will check back in with you for your next test result. :)


Mogs
.
 
Hi Sally,

Looks like the Vetsulin is kicking in. I recommend next test in an hour.

I suggest making a note in today's spreadsheet Remarks along the lines of:

AMPS 199, stalled without feeding c. 20 mins, next test 231.

I'd also suggest putting 231 in today's AMPS so that you'll have a fuller picture of the BG when you actually gave the dose and also how the mid-cycle tests relate to the BG at which you gave the insulin.

(Hope I've explained the above OK.)

Will check back in with you for your next test result. :)


Mogs
.
 
Hi Sally,

Looks like the Vetsulin is kicking in. I recommend next test in an hour.

I suggest making a note in today's spreadsheet Remarks along the lines of:

AMPS 199, stalled without feeding c. 20 mins, next test 231.

I'd also suggest putting 231 in today's AMPS so that you'll have a fuller picture of the BG when you actually gave the dose and also how the mid-cycle tests relate to the BG at which you gave the insulin.

(Hope I've explained the above OK.)

Will check back in with you for your next test result. :)


Mogs
.
Ok, sounds good Mogs. Thx
 
I think you should be OK to test about 30 minutes before you're due to leave to pop over to your FIL at lunchtime. That way, you'll know Lily's safe while you're out, and it will also give you a bit of time to post and ask for advice if you need it.

Assuming Lily's still in the mid-high 100s she should be fine while you're out, then you could grab a test when you get back (typical nadir timings).

This OK with you?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
I think you should OK to test about 30 minutes before you're due to leave to pop over to your FIL at lunchtime. That way, you'll know Lily's safe while you're out, and it will also give you a bit of time to post and ask for advice if you need it.

Assuming Lily's still in the mid-high 100s she should be fine while you're out, then you could grab a test when you get back (typical nadir timings).

This OK with you?


Mogs
.
Perfect!
 
I think you should be OK to test about 30 minutes before you're due to leave to pop over to your FIL at lunchtime. That way, you'll know Lily's safe while you're out, and it will also give you a bit of time to post and ask for advice if you need it.

Assuming Lily's still in the mid-high 100s she should be fine while you're out, then you could grab a test when you get back (typical nadir timings).

This OK with you?


Mogs
.
Lily’s at 222+4.
 
I've only just seen this now, Sally. I see the dose is on your spreadsheet, so I'm assuming that you've gone ahead. Lily's pretty much around where she was last night, so you've got a guide to follow for when to test.

If you get stuck and need help, change the title of the thread to describe the help you need and set a question mark icon next to the title to attract more attention.

Will catch up with you both on the morrow.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
 
I've only just seen this now, Sally. I see the dose is on your spreadsheet, so I'm assuming that you've gone ahead. Lily's pretty much around where she was last night, so you've got a guide to follow for when to test.

If you get stuck and need help, change the title of the thread to describe the help you need and set a question mark icon next to the title to attract more attention.

Will catch up with you both on the morrow.

:bighug:


Mogs
.
Sounds good. Thanks Mogs, have a good night sleep!!
 
Hi Sally,

Thus far, Lily's been nice and steady and you're gradually building up a picture of how she's responding to her Vetsulin in general and the current 0.25IU dose in particular.

As we know, Lily went a little bit on the low side when she had the first 0.25IU dose but it is possible that there may have been a slight bit of carryover from the previous 1.0IU dose (which was definitely too high). The 91 BG was taken into consideration when the decision to stick with the 0.25IU dose was made a few days ago since that was the safest option, given that it's early days and you had only started gathering BG data.

Now Lily is dipping nicely into the higher blues at nadir on the current dose so, assuming her response to this dose stays fairly consistent over the next few days, it looks like a modest increase may hopefully ease her down into a slightly better range while still having a good 'safety buffer' level-wise.

With Vetsulin, the recommendation is to hold the dose for a week (unless a dose reduction is earned, in which case the dose is reduced immediately). On the 7th day you you review how the dose is working and adjust if required. Rinse 'n' repeat.

My suggestion is to hold the current dose for the next few days and then decide next steps. It will allow you to gather a bit more data in the interim, and that will help you with the adjustment decision.

What do you think?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
Hi Sally,

Thus far, Lily's been nice and steady and you're gradually building up a picture of how she's responding to her Vetsulin in general and the current 0.25IU dose in particular.

As we know, Lily went a little bit on the low side when she had the first 0.25IU dose but it is possible that there may have been a slight bit of carryover from the previous 1.0IU dose (which was definitely too high). The 91 BG was taken into consideration when the decision to stick with the 0.25IU dose was made a few days ago since that was the safest option, given that it's early days and you had only started gathering BG data.

Now Lily is dipping nicely into the higher blues at nadir on the current dose so, assuming her response to this dose stays fairly consistent over the next few days, it looks like a modest increase may hopefully ease her down into a slightly better range while still having a good 'safety buffer' level-wise.

With Vetsulin, the recommendation for Vetsulin is to hold the dose for a week (unless a dose reduction is earned, in which case the dose is reduced immediately). On the 7th day you you review how the dose is working and adjust if required. Rinse 'n' repeat.

My suggestion is to hold the current dose for the next few days and then decide next steps. It will allow you to gather a bit more data in the interim, and that will help you with the adjustment decision.

What do you think?


Mogs
.[/QUOTE
Hey Mogs, that sounds like an excellent plan. I am a little weary of higher dose but I know we will watch closely. I really think she is doing great and am so happy Patty told me about you and this forum. Our vet just gave me the insulin and food and that was it. Thanks for everything!!
 
Hey Mogs, that sounds like an excellent plan. I am a little weary of higher dose but I know we will watch closely. I really think she is doing great and am so happy Patty told me about you and this forum. Our vet just gave me the insulin and food and that was it. Thanks for everything!!
 
I see things are going nicely thus far today, Sally. You're doing great! :cool:

While I think of it, I'd suggest adding a note in the Remarks for 3 October to record that you didn't have enough test strips and fed high carb dry food to keep numbers up. The reason for suggesting this addition is so that any members looking at Lily's spreadsheet history will be able to learn that the unusual pinks on the morning of 4 October are due to the carb fest and not a bounce from the previous night's +3 91 reading. :)


Mogs
.
 
I see things are going nicely thus far today, Sally. You're doing great! :cool:

While I think of it, I'd suggest adding a note in the Remarks for 3 October to record that you didn't have enough test strips and fed high carb dry food to keep numbers up. The reason for suggesting this addition is so that any members looking at Lily's spreadsheet history will be able to learn that the unusual pinks on the morning of 4 October are due to the carb fest and not a bounce from the previous night's +3 91 reading. :)


Mogs
.
Good idea Mogs, you think of everything!
 
Hi Sally,

Just a quick suggestion: it would be a help to you to get a little better idea of how Lily runs later in the PM cycle. Would you be able to set an alarm tonight or tomorrow night to grab one quick test anywhere between +6 and +8?

The reason for wishing to spot check BG level at this time is that sometimes cats run a little lower at night so when considering a dose adjustment it's good to have that little bit of extra info.

Hope that you and Lily are keeping well. :)


Mogs
.
 
Hi Sally,

Just a quick suggestion: it would be a help to you to get a little better idea of how Lily runs later in the PM cycle. Would you be able to set an alarm tonight or tomorrow night to grab one quick test anywhere between +6 and +8?

The reason for wishing to spot check BG level at this time is that sometimes cats run a little lower at night so when considering a dose adjustment it's good to have that little bit of extra info.

Hope that you and Lily are keeping well. :)


Mogs
.
Yes I will do that tonight. I thought about that when I saw all those blank boxes on the ss! Lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top