10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356 +6 452 PMPS 447 +2 302

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo
Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 371
+3 281
+6 122
PMPS 380
+2 400
+6 381

Good morning all! ~O) ~O) ~O) Still recovering from the week from FDB hell. Had a couple drinks with DH at the tiki bar last night, ate an entire eggplant roll (yum!) then promptly passed out. It seems Leo had another flat-as-a-board cycle last night but maybe there was a late nadir I was not aware of. ~O) It is supposed to be a glorious fall day today, reaching 75 with a couple showers later, so I hope to get my butt rolling and go for a run sometime this morning. After more ~O) of course!

Leo is back to tormenting his sister and poor Molly is realizing that her 2 1/2 week vacation has come to an end. I feel so bad for her - she just wants to sleep and be lazy and he wants to stalk and play. She hasn't been eating but when I come home I can tempt her more - the KD is a tough sell for tempting food. Poor girl. But she slept with me and she has the most wonderful calming purr. This morning she laid her purring head on the side of my head on my EAR and just purred. It was a nice special wakeup.

Leo is happy to be back looking out his back door and spent a fair amount of time there yesterday. I imagine today will be the same.

Lots of love and smilies to everyone on this beautifully dawning Saturday!
Lisa & Leo
mixed-smiley-038.gif
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311

Lisa & Leo said:
But she slept with me and she has the most wonderful calming purr. This morning she laid her purring head on the side of my head on my EAR and just purred. It was a nice special wakeup.

That is such a cool visual. :-D Leo...be nice to your sister! (As if he'd listen! :lol: )
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311

From Poopy's thread, you asked,

I've been kind of guessing what to feed and when, and will do some more reading because he has such BG swings I wonder if I could put out food at a little different times or change some of the carb levels. Do you have a set schedule that you figured out to balance Poopy's BG? Any advice on how to do that? Trial and error is hard when the cycles are so erratic to begin with!

Since I work during the week, and many weekends, I bought an auto feeder (mainly so I could control doing BG testing without food on board when we were on ProZinc). I have it set pretty darn close to their feeding habits. For Lantus, at PS a whole 5.5 oz. can is placed in well one and well two (that's two 5.5 oz. cans total for both Poopy and Mia, his civvie sister). I add 1/3 can of water to the food in each well. They normally eat the first well within 3.5 hours and then the feeder turns to the second well. Both kitties are snackers and it takes them the 6 hours to nibble away at the second can of food, which they don't always completely finish. The third well is empty and turns to it at +9.5 so my PS tests are food free. When I've been able to watch Poopy, I've noticed he snacks about every hour when food is present.

If my kitties were normal hoovers (eating everything in a sitting), I'd break up the cans into four wells and space them apart (such as PS, +2.5, +5, +7.5, then turning to empty at +9.5). My goal is to have food available all cycle, even when I can't be here or am asleep, when they desire/need to have it, but also to have PS BGs food free. It does give me reassurance if Poopy were to drop low he'd have food available. All BG tests during the cycles have food on board other than PS.

My budget is extremely tight and the thought of spending $50 on a feeder was a hard hurdle to jump. Once I did, I couldn't believe I waited so long! It took them a bit to figure out there was food in the feeder but they love their fuds so it didn't take long. :-D

I'm still playing with the carbs thing. The last 4 days have all been 0-1%. Next week I'll do all 8-9% carbs and note the differences. (Prior it was whatever was closest and varied considerably.)

I'm not sure if any of this will help you with Leo since ECID but it might spark some ideas for you. :smile:
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356

Ha! I've been yelling about it since he came inside but he's a sneak and he just lays in wait for her. Sigh. Yeah - I love my pretty Molly - her purr is heaven
love-smiley-009.gif
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356 +6 452

Teresa,

Thanks for your detailed description. I bought the same feeder for the same reason. I had been feeding at +0, +3 and +6, but I've seen conflicting advice on giving most of the food early in the cycle vs spread throughout the cycle. Leo drops pretty soon, so I switched from that schedule to +0, +1 and +3. I'm guessing that the food peaks around 2 hours in, so I wanted food on board earlier. So maybe my timing is better, but he still falls sometimes pretty far, so that's why I'm thinking of giving higher carb maybe in the last meal. I feel like I'm taking shots in the dark with how I'm approaching the feeding. It seems like if I give higher carb before the nadir that would help smooth out the curve, but we're not supposed to be feeding high carbs, so how can the curve flatten out??? I am soooo confused about this!

Thanks for sharing what you do.

Lisa & Leo
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356 +6 452

Hi Lisa, sounds like you really needed that night out and glad you had a good time, especially the entire eggplant roll. :lol: I hope this week is better. Leo sounds happy to be home. I hope you made your run. Have a great weekend.
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356 +6 452

Thanks Ann, I did take my run so I'm exhausted all over again! But in a good way :smile: Have a great weekend too.
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356 +6 452 PMPS 447

I'm not liking this dose decrease. He cleared the shed and slowly his ability to stay even in the yellows is fading. It's like I'm shooting water. Nadir? What's that?
angry-smiley-001.gif


If he doesn't do a turnaround tonight, I want to go back to the old dose, or at least fatten this one up.

Where did I read that if a decrease doesn't take, that you immediately go back up to the last good dose without waiting the 6 cycles? Isn't there an escape chute out of the patience pants for a dose decrease?
speechless-smiley-004.gif
 
Re: 10/6 Leo AMPS 311 +2 356 +6 452 PMPS 447

carfurby said:
I hope Leo clears this bounce for you soon.

Appears we're getting what you wished for ... he just dropped 150 points in 2 hours. Eeesh! :o
 
Unless this was a high before a break and/or the bounce clearing, I'd see how Leo does today and if his numbers are still high, I'd increase the dose. If a reduction doesn't hold, you want to go back to the last good dose.

FWIW, Gabby has an early nadir and can drop like a rock. I feed her at shot time, +1, +2, and +3. What I can tell you is that how and what you feed is largely trial and error. If you make a change, do it systematically and give the change at least a week or two to settle. Some cats are very sensitive to even minor changes in their food schedule or to carbs. Likewise, some cats actually do better if they have a diet that's slightly higher in carbs -- in other words, not all cats do well on a 0 - 1% carb diet. They do better on 5 - 6% or even higher.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top