10/6 Josie AMPS 239 +2 151 +4.5 74 +6 106 PMPS 268 Curve

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Josie is wierd with her ears. I try to switch between them, since that would be easier on her, it seems, but she only sits still for one side. If I try to do the other ear she flinches and squirms and shakes her head making it very hard.


Her +2 is 151.
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Smokey did the same thing with the ears at first. Plus, it is always easier to get blood from one than the other. Happy testing!
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Hi Angela,
Don't worry about switching ears. I think all cats have one ear that bleeds better and that they prefer to have used for the tests. We always test on Rusty's right ear. We tried at first with Stu to test on both ears, but it became clear very soon that he only wanted us to use the right ear, so that's what we did. The ear develops more blood capillaries the more tests it gets, so it will bleed easier as you go along. Use a little Neosporin (or a similar antibiotic cream or ointment) at night to help the ear heal. I read somewhere that cats tolerate the ear pokes very well because over the centuries their ears have been subjected to numerous bites, scratches, etc. (in cat fights); therefore their ears have evolved and have fewer nerve endings.
Good luck with your curve!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Good luck with your curve today! :-D

Ollie only lets me test on the right side of his left ear...go figure!
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Argh, this test is going to be late, she wont come out from under the bed and i cant reach her.
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

So at +4 and a half, she is at 74. That is the lowest reading I have ever gotten from her.
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

That is a beautiful number for a +4.5 Looks like you've hit a good dose at last!
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Nice! I'm glad you got the new meter and you are able to do a curve today. She's coming down nicely. Just keep up your testing to see where she goes.

Angela....could you please post her numbers in the subject line as you get them so we can see them quickly? So it would look like:

10/6 Josie AMPS 239 +2 151 +4.5 74 CURVE DAY

The +2 told you she was going to be busy today; any time it is not close to PS, you need to keep any eye out for her BG to decrease.

If she decides to drop more....below 50, do you have some HC food with gravy and some karo around?
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 CURVE DAY

Marjorie and Gracie said:
The +2 told you she was going to be busy today; any time it is not close to PS, you need to keep any eye out for her BG to decrease.

If she decides to drop more....below 50, do you have some HC food with gravy and some karo around?

So ususally +2 is still pretty close to the PS number?
I have some canned food that "grandma" bought them as a treat before she was diagnosed. I dont know what kind it is though. I dont think I have karo, but I have maple syrup.
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 +2 151 +4.5 74 CURVE DAY

Thanks Angela ;-) ;-) ;-) Subject line looks good...you can add as you go...you might have to take the +2 or the "curve day" off later so you can get more room.

Here is a typical lantus curve (note to self: don't tell cat or she'll do the opposite) :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :

+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

So...yes, the +2 should be close to the PS number. Even with the meter variance, Josie's isn't.

Maple syrup, honey, ice cream (vanilla only) would all work if you needed to bring her numbers up. Next time you are out, I'd see if you can find some of the Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers small cans at the store so you can have them there to help bring up numbers. The canned food you have there may or may not be HC or have gravy. What kind and flavor is it?
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 +2 151 +4.5 74 CURVE DAY

That has 10% of calories from carbs so it is considered to be on the upper edge of the LC range. It might work for her if you have to bring her up. Lots of folks go for higher carb foods for managing low numbers. Here is the chart that many folks use for selecting LC/MC/HC foods.

Janet and Binky's food table
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 +2 151 +4.5 74 +6 106 +8 133 CURVE

PMPS 268!
Curve is done!
What do you all think? Is 1.5 a good dose for her?
 
Re: 10/6 Josie AMPS 239 +2 151 +4.5 74 +6 106 PMPS 268 Curv

She looked pretty good today....nice and slow down and then back up.....maybe a little bounce at the end.

I'm not comfortable making many conclusions on one cycle alone BUT she did have a nice day. I'd be tempted to leave her here and see how she does. Others may have some good thoughts on the dose.

Nice job!!! Hope you rest tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top