10/6 Herman amps 56 +2 88 +4.5 43 +6 99 +7.5 49 (aggressive) +9 99 pmps 119 +2 185

Herman …..No! Yikes I guess only feeding 3% was a mistake. Just fed 25%. He’s outside, hoping to get him to come for another test in 20. I should say, first test was 2.7mmol then retest was 2.4mmol (43). With retests, what number do you use?
Feeling anxious :nailbiting:
 
Look at Herman!! :woot::D:D He is doing so great and so are you! :bighug:
Not sure what to make of this lime again, I know back to back reductions don’t work, still depot at play I guess, but boy, he’s been on gravy (usually 15/16% sometimes, like now, 25%) for almost every meal now for over the past day. With feedings every 2 hours, sometimes more.
 
So I was going to wait until +8/8.5 for our next poke. @+7.5 Herman came up the metal spiral staircase to my office (not something he does much at all these days given the neuropathy) and he looked frantic. I immediately threw some freeze dried treats down for him to keep him there while I ran to grab my tester and some gravy. Barely got a test in - Lime again....and unlike the last lime numbers yesterday and earlier today, this time he was QUITE upset and aggressive. He yowled sputtered and hissed while I tested so I dared not get another to confirm for fear he would run away and fall down the stairs. I left him eating his 25% gravy and will look for him in half hour to (hopefully) retest (he has since gone back downstairs and likely went outside). He has shown aggression in low numbers once before, it is quite scary - I am grateful he sought me out (aggressive or not!) just odd that sometimes he is totally calm in these low numbers, other times not.

Please tell me the depot will be drained soon this is quite stressful! :nailbiting::eek:
 
I Wasn’t comfortable with the amount of gravy food he had eaten so I decided to seek him out and give him a little bit more … He was under the chaise in my bedroom which is his “I’m scared” spot and growled at me just from walking into the room. :(….had to crack out the Temptations. :blackeye: He ate about six and that was enough to lure him out to eat a bit more 25% gravy food (still growling a bit) ….than I played guitar for him :smuggrin: he started to relax a little bit now he’s on my bed next to me cleaning himself and very relaxed so I think the worst is over. I’m not gonna attempt to poke right now because I don’t want to send him down another spiral but my guess is he would be quite high after the high carb feast he just had. I wonder if all this excitement will result in a bounce.
 
The depot can effect as many as 6 cycles. It sounds like he was symptomatic. I’d not be afraid to feed him mc early on for the next few cycles. If he drops close to 40 again I think it’s worth considering another reduction and definitely if under 40 you reduce despite the depot on play. Max acted like that once as well and he was the most mellow cat you can find. Maybe Herman will bounce now.
 
The depot can effect as many as 6 cycles. It sounds like he was symptomatic. I’d not be afraid to feed him mc early on for the next few cycles. If he drops close to 40 again I think it’s worth considering another reduction and definitely if under 40 you reduce despite the depot on play. Max acted like that once as well and he was the most mellow cat you can find. Maybe Herman will bounce now.
I definitely don't want a failed reduction. :oops:Looking forward to the depot being drained- for the last 36 hours he has been buoyed up with HC (15-25%) almost every 2 hours (even at night). Mama's tired! And also, am I making things worse with all the HC? Am I better to let him drop and take more reductions? He's coming around I know being in the greens is essential to healing so I will keep up with all the HC if that's what it takes as long as I am not "playing with fire" as I am staring to worry that he is technically no longer on a low carb diet and I don't know what there is in my toolbox to bump him up if he is dropping on these levels of carbs.
 
I’d try and prevent another reduction so soon and keep up the hc. If he doesn’t stop needing it he might need another reduction. At this point you have depot action. You need to sleep too so another reduction might be needed. Some cats flip a switch and race down the dosing scale. If you can hang in there tonight see if he levels out. If you are too exhausted you could skip tonight or shoot a BCS dose which would not likely effect the first half of the cycle but should get you to stop testing by the mid point. Tomorrow I would try another reduction if he still needs lots of hc to be over 50.
 
I’d try and prevent another reduction so soon and keep up the hc. If he doesn’t stop needing it he might need another reduction. At this point you have depot action. You need to sleep too so another reduction might be needed. Some cats flip a switch and race down the dosing scale. If you can hang in there tonight see if he levels out. If you are too exhausted you could skip tonight or shoot a BCS dose which would not likely effect the first half of the cycle but should get you to stop testing by the mid point. Tomorrow I would try another reduction if he still needs lots of hc to be over 50.
Got it, makes sense. Ok to keep up with mc/hc until depot drained so we can see how he’s really doing on this new dose, uninfluenced.
I’ve got another all nighter in me :coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee::coffee: so I’ll plan to stay the course on current dose unless something crazy happens preshot…while I’m tired…I REALLY don’t want to lose momentum! As long as he’s safe, so I’ll keep eyes on him! :eek: Thanks for your help!
 
Lol ... I had to look up "BCS" dose. What would that be in units?
Also known as a token dose it would be 25-50% of the current dose. It could still lead to the same type of first half cycle but would likely make it possible to not test the second half. We do it more for the caregiver than the cat when exhausted from not being able to sleep due o low numbers.
 
Well and just like that we have our first non green in almost 36 hours. :cool: What a stretch herm! Not sure if this is a bounce or just that the depot has drained. But he is pretty tuckered out. He’s normally quite active this time of day and he’s been sleeping since +8. He ate his dinner in my bed and dozing off back to sleep now. At least now I have a BCS in my toolbox if I ever need it!
 
Back
Top