10/6 Fitzel - AMPS +1.75 -93/+6.75-34/+7-61/+7.5-107/+11-135

Status
Not open for further replies.
Pirate Fitzel's Condo Cove

Big changes here. Got Pirate Fitz a nanner - a catnip nanner - OMG - she went bonkers for over an hour yesterday. She pushed it, shoved it, laid on it, rolled on it, drooled and drooled on it until it looked like a soaked, rotten nanner. She played and played and played until she was spacey and in bliss land.

WCR for this am - 4 of 5 in place. I do wish her appy was better. I'll probably be taking her to see a new vet next week - if nothing else to get a bloodwork base line and to see if she's dealing with any infection. I went to three places yesterday (Walgreens, CVS and Rite Aid) and NO ketadiasticks. I guess I'll try buying them online from the link Sienne (thank you!) so graciously provided. Our issue here is that we have no interest bearing credit cards. No Visa, no Mastercard. No Discover. We're an AMEX only family. No credit past 30 days. If we can't pay it off - we don't buy it. However, AMEX is a higher swipe fee for retailers and lots of online guys don't take it. Also, we had a hideous experience with PayPal - so we won't go there either. Makes it a bit more difficult for online purchases so we try to buy local. But, if I can't find those things soon, I'll have to see what I can do with the 'puter.

Fitz did have a bit of a crash last night, but we handled it with some HC.

Hope all are well today on this fine Saturday afternoon - and sending healing vines to all in need.

Shai and The Pirate Fitz
 
Re: 10/6 Fitzel - AMPS +17-140/+1.75 -93

Too funny on the nanner! :-D Nice BGs too. :mrgreen: If you send me a PM with your name, address and what you want, I can order the strips and have them sent to you.
Liz
 
Re: 10/6 Fitzel - AMPS +1.75 -93/+6.75-34/+7-61/+7.5-107/+11

My poor baby has taken to crashing again. She went down to 45 yesterday and 34 today. I know this would be a reducie - back to 1 drop? 2 drops? She's so confusing to try and get a read on her nadir - she doesn't seem to settle on any particular amount of hours to have one. confused_cat

Sometimes it's 4 hours, sometimes 5 and other times 6 or even 7.

:YMSIGH:
 
Re: 10/6 Fitzel - AMPS +1.75 -93/+6.75-34/+7-61/+7.5-107/+11

hello!!! Just checking in.

Remember, the reason you're not shooting every 12 hours is because 1 drop of insulin every 12 hours was doing a bit too much. It's counterintuitive to increase amount of the dose, rather I would shoot the smaller dose more often. Maybe she is trying to get back to a 12 hour schedule.

Also, if you're going to shoot "as needed," you really need to be sure you're not shooting on a big dropping number. Fitzel's pancreas sputters sometimes, and it looks like what is happening is that you're shooting at times when the number would be dropping anyway. Then the insulin piles on top of the number that is already dropping and makes her go farther than you want. That's why we kept suggesting food tests - to see if/how much she would drop on her own using food instead of insulin. The drop from 132 to 45 in 2 hours on 10/5 was not just the insulin. The insulin may have had some impact, but it was the insulin on top of the downward momentum she already had.

At this point, it is YOUR job to become the expert on Fitzel. Figure out what her triggers are - write notes as to what is going on when she has high numbers, as well as when she has low ones. Try to figure out what is causing the highs. One of the best examples of all time is June/Riggs. Spend some time really studying this spreadsheet, if you can. She shot when needed and wrote great notes about WHY she did what she did. You don't want to do the part about shooting after 6-7 hours probably! That's what worked for Riggs sometimes. As you can see, Riggs would often have high numbers due to stress, GI issues, or poo, and when that situation resolved itself the numbers would come back down. Riggs could also bounce off of his fast drops even WITHOUT any insulin on board! I've never seen another cat do that. Leave it to a Siamese to figure that one out. :lol: June paid attention and documented until she figured out the patterns, so then she knew what to do about them.
 
Re: 10/6 Fitzel - AMPS +1.75 -93/+6.75-34/+7-61/+7.5-107/+11

Hi Shai.
I'm sure it was great watching The Pirate slay that nip'mouse ! They sure like that catnip. I keep a pot of it growing in the greenhouse all year for the aliens.
Boy, it's a nightmare with trying to figure out dosing for Fitzel. Wish she was able to handle a steady 1 drop dose every 12 hours. It sure would be easier to handle and be normalized in a routine.
I can't remember, how do you feed, small portions often during the day or BF,L,&Dinner?
There has to be a pattern .......somewhere... :dizcat
Well..... I tried to study June/Riggs SS, oh boy ! I must be too tired tonight. It makes no sense to me, other than they did consistantly (mostly) administer insulin for months .
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top