10/6 Esse AMPS 114 - Vacation dose for sitter (with more info)! | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

10/6 Esse AMPS 114 - Vacation dose for sitter (with more info)!

Lauren & Esse

Member since 2025
Previous thread!

To recap from my initial ask: We're going to be gone this weekend (10/9 PM thru 10/13 AM) and it'll be Esse's first time with a sitter since starting insulin. The sitter will be stopping in for 30 min 2x per day to sync/check the Libre, feed, and shoot.

@Bandit's Mom was definitely right for us to wait until a little closer to our trip to choose a vacation dose, we ended up having some pretty active cycles this weekend. Quite a few Libre alarms Saturday and Sunday. Sam was out of town so I was running the show solo and I was out running errands etc. while his alarms were going off. Luckily I was able to drive home and give him a snack but we'll be a couple hours away for this weekend's trip so it wouldn't be so easy. I'm also increasingly confident he's not going to use the auto-feeder while we're not home, which is annoying. I could potentially have friends stop in around +2 to give him a snack in person, but that would still be in conjunction with a lower dose.

So what makes the most sense dose-wise? Maybe 1u? And how soon before we go should we start it?

I'm really nervous about not being able to enjoy my trip because I'll be watching the Libre app...or getting false (or worse, real!) alarms the whole time. Or that I'll lose cell service when the sitter needs to contact us. I'm leaving her extremely detailed notes including info on hypos/DKA and what to watch for but ultimately it's not the same because she can't be there the whole time like we often are.

Thanks in advance for your guidance!
 
Why not start 1.25U tonight and see what he does on it and if needed, you can go down further to 1U. The depot will take at least 4 cycles to adjust to a reduction, so by Wednesday night, you should have an idea of whether you need to go down further from the AM of 10/9.
 
This is very helpful for my upcoming trip! Gone two weeks, oh boy. Luckily my friend is staying with the cats so will be around if needed. I need to figure out how to balance maintaining the progress we’ve made and not risking going too low while I’m away.

Looking forward to seeing how the 1.25 goes for now! Good luck 🤗
 
Back
Top