10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +4.5 215, +6.5 157, +8 136, +9 144

Status
Not open for further replies.

John & Apollo

Member Since 2011
Yesterday's Condo

Well last night was fun. NOT! I'm exhausted. I won't be home for the better part of the morning and don't feel comfortable shooting him until this evening. I just tested him 1.5 hours later then usual AMPS and also after feeding him and he is currently at 317. I know the feeding and time delay doesn't give much credibility to his AMBG numbers, but I just couldn't pull myself out of bed to get a reading. Plus I left LC food down during the night (just in case).

I will get us back on track this evening. So can anyone confirm if he gets another dose reduction due to last night or too soon? So 1.75 or 1.50 for tonight? So tired I can barely keep my eyes open.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo AMBG 317 (after 1.5 hours later and feeding)

Numbers in the 30s mean business and shouldn't be ignored. What I would suggest, though, is that if Apollo's numbers stay high, shoot your current dose at PMPS and then take the reduction tomorrow. However, this is providing that numbers are high. Post later in the day and if things are changing, a different plan may be applicable.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo AMBG 317 (after 1.5 hours later and feeding)

Hi guys, once again good advice from sienne .. a lot can happen today so it's best to post numbers later on and make sure you have the right plan laid out .. hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo AMBG 317, +15 337

Apollo's AMBG +15 is 337. About to leave now. Will be back later sometime this afternoon.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo AMBG 317, +15 337

Hope you are able to squeak in a nap. And let us know what he's looking like around +11 :-D
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
Numbers in the 30s mean business and shouldn't be ignored. What I would suggest, though, is that if Apollo's numbers stay high, shoot your current dose at PMPS and then take the reduction tomorrow. However, this is providing that numbers are high. Post later in the day and if things are changing, a different plan may be applicable.

Hi John, I'm at tbp and can't see ss -
IMHO 390 is high
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
Sienne and Gabby said:
Numbers in the 30s mean business and shouldn't be ignored. What I would suggest, though, is that if Apollo's numbers stay high, shoot your current dose at PMPS and then take the reduction tomorrow. However, this is providing that numbers are high. Post later in the day and if things are changing, a different plan may be applicable.

Hi John, I'm at tbp and can't see ss -
IMHO 390 is high

If someone could just go back and peak at the numbers and dosing from yesterday....The reduction to 1.75 happened yesterday PMPS because of a low day cycle that and then they had another very active night....so was the 37 from last night left over shed from the morning 2.0 dose, or does it signify that a another reduction should really happen, even though it's back to back?

PS - Hi John - I hope you got some sleep today!
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Wouldn't it be better to be more conservative and go with lower dose? I can always up it if need be after a few cycles, right? Last night was not fun. I think he is at 390 because he went so low last night and he got no shot this AM and bounced, right? Once he gets a few cycles in I think he will go back to greens again. He is really responding to the Lantus. Almost too well. :smile:
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

John:

If it is his PMPS, it means you've already shot. Is the 390 his +12? At this number, I would definitely shoot 1.75u.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Numbers in the 30s mean business and shouldn't be ignored. What I would suggest, though, is that if Apollo's numbers stay high, shoot your current dose at PMPS and then take the reduction tomorrow. However, this is providing that numbers are high. Post later in the day and if things are changing, a different plan may be applicable

Sienne's post this morning.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Hi John,

Are you actually at +24?

If I am reading yesterdays condo correctly, you did indeed earn 2 decreases in a row, due to the 30 on the PM cycle. So 1.75u would be shooting the old dose (reduction earned at AM cycle) and 1.50u the new dose (reduction earned at PM cycle.

Ultimately you must do what you are comfortablle with.
Since I'm not able to see ss I can't tell how his recent bounces have been, in amount/duration.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

John:

I'd shoot the 1.75u. Usually it's best to test, feed, shoot within about a 15 minute window. Believe it or not, there are times when a number can change a good deal between +11.5 and +12 esp if they are dropping :-D
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

fibberfolly said:
John:

If it is his PMPS, it means you've already shot. Is the 390 his +12? At this number, I would definitely shoot 1.75u.

He skipped this morning...so this number will actually be like a +23 since the last shot. AS a recap, yesterday morning was a 2.0 Unit dose. He dropped to 47 during the AM cycle, the dose was reduced to 1.75 last night, he dropped to 37 during that PM cycle and then this morning the dose was skipped....leading up to tonight and what to shoot.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Marjorie and Gracie said:
John:

I'd shoot the 1.75u. Usually it's best to test, feed, shoot within about a 15 minute window. Believe it or not, there are times when a number can change a good deal between +11.5 and +12 esp if they are dropping :-D

Problem is Apollo is a very slow picky eater, so that is why I go with 30 mins instead of 15.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Jessica & Boo Radley said:
fibberfolly said:
John:

If it is his PMPS, it means you've already shot. Is the 390 his +12? At this number, I would definitely shoot 1.75u.

He skipped this morning...so this number will actually be like a +23 since the last shot. AS a recap, yesterday morning was a 2.0 Unit dose. He dropped to 47 during the AM cycle, the dose was reduced to 1.75 last night, he dropped to 37 during that PM cycle and then this morning the dose was skipped....leading up to tonight and what to shoot.

That is correct.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, dose?

Jessica wrote:
He skipped this morning...so this number will actually be like a +23 since the last shot. AS a recap, yesterday morning was a 2.0 Unit dose. He dropped to 47 during the AM cycle, the dose was reduced to 1.75 last night, he dropped to 37 during that PM cycle and then this morning the dose was skipped....leading up to tonight and what to shoot.

IMHO, the low number last night was probably influenced by the 2u dose the previous cycle(s). That's why I would go with the 1.75u. Plus, this morning Sienne stated:

What I would suggest, though, is that if Apollo's numbers stay high, shoot your current dose at PMPS and then take the reduction tomorrow

John wrote:
Problem is Apollo is a very slow picky eater, so that is why I go with 30 mins instead of 15.

Keep in mind that he typically would not onset for two hours and so you have that much time to get the food in him. It's not like Humulin or the other quick acting insulins where he must have food in him right away. So you could still test, shoot, feed within 15 mins and let him graze. :-D
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390

I went with the 1.50. You can call me a chicken that's ok. I am just a little gun shy after last night's adventure. I'd rather be too conservative then too aggressive. ;-)
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390

One nice thing about him being high today is I have been enjoying his active personality all afternoon. The green numbers still make him sleepy at this point. Love having him so active and playful. Forgot how nice that was.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364

Apollo's PMPS +2 is 364.

Do you think I need to get a couple of readings tonight or can I hit the bed now?
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364

If it were me, I'd get a +3 to make sure Apollo isn't creating momentum with his numbers and if not, go to sleep.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364, +4.5 215

wow, Apollo is doing great!

I would feed a little and test in maybe 1/2 hour to be sure the food put the brakes on. Should be fine to sleep after that, unless he is still careening down the hill in 1/2 hour. Sound good? It looks like the 1.5u dose is working well already, even with a partly depleted shed, so I think it was a good choice.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364, +4.5 215, +6.5 157

Apollo's PMPS +6.5 is 157.

Slept for a few then set my alarm for the +6.5 157. Safe to sleep now or not yet since still dropping? I offered some LC food, but he wasn't interested. He isn't thrilled I keep waking him up. I did put out some LC out for him to graze if he wants.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364, +4.5 215, +6.5 157

John:

I don't typically sleep if I have a dropping number below 200. He should be reaching nadir soon; you might want to do one more check in an hour or so after the last one and see if he is headed up yet. He's probably fine 'cept he came down alot tonight.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364, +4.5 215, +6.5 157, +8 136

Apollo's PMPS +8 is 136. Keeps going down. I can't keep doing this every night.
 
Re: 10/6 Apollo PMPS 390, +2 364, +4.5 215, +6.5 157, +8 136

John & Apollo said:
Apollo's PMPS +8 is 136. Keeps going down. I can't keep doing this every night.
I know how you feel. I never slept in on my days off, until I started testing. Now, I get sleep whenever I can.
Hope you have a good day, and strong coffee. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top