10/6/20 Squeaky!! AMPS 400, +5=355, PMPS 163, +1=131, +2 = 86, +3.5 = 81 +6 = 109

Jan D & Squeaky

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-5-20-squeaky-amps-280-4-270-pmps-389-7-331.236389/

Hi Everybody, thanks for such helpful messages yesterday. We've increased to 1.75 now. He hides before the shot routine, but seems to forgive me quickly afterwards. Doing okay with BG tests. I think it was 400 today because we were a little late with the routine and he hadn't eaten for a long time.

It's going to be nice outside today so we'll spend part of the day outdoors. Last night he meowed at the door and asked to be taken out! That was a first. Helps me know that part of him is doing okay, even in the midst of this challenge.:cat::) Happy cat, happy mom.
 
I'm still a relative newbie to this. So almost a little panic here....

Tonight Squeaky's PMPS was 163. That's very low for him, and I gave him the recently increased dose of 1.75. I'm going to test him in 3 hours to make sure he is okay. At what point, if his numbers are low, do I have to start doing anything for hypoglycemia? I mean, at what number do I need to start worrying? I have just set the alarm to check him in 3 hours.

Wendy said if his PS number was 150,I should not shoot and check in with the board for instructions. We are not that much higher!!!! So I am checking in I want to be prepared for anything that might happen.

I have honey and hypo instructions on standby.

Also what are the numbers I am actually aiming for? 80 to 120? Is that healthy and good?
 
Hi! It looks like this could be a bounce breaking cycle, which is normal and happens. I would try starting with a +2 to see how the cycle could go (a same or lower +2 could indicate an active cycle (but not always). A couple things for tonight:

He might bounce and rise from the blue preshot he isn’t used to yet.
Maybe he will head into some greens :D
Maybe he will stay flat

time will tell...and you may need to monitor more closely tonight, depending on which way he goes.

On TR, reductions are earned for numbers under 50, so want to keep him above 50, but you may need to feed some HC or MC (high carb, medium carb) to guide. Or... if you only have low carb and honey, you can mix them to make mediumish carb food. Every cat is a little different in what combo, at what numbers, works best. If under 50, Id say it is more urgent to get them back above 50 by using honey or high carb. Post for help at any time.

I am not sure I will be up all night, but will be up for your +2 for sure. Post here and ask for help

I can tag a few people to see if they might also check on you tonight :D
 
Hi! It looks like this could be a bounce breaking cycle, which is normal and happens. I would try starting with a +2 to see how the cycle could go (a same or lower +2 could indicate an active cycle (but not always). A couple things for tonight:

He might bounce and rise from the blue preshot he isn’t used to yet.
Maybe he will head into some greens :D
Maybe he will stay flat

time will tell...and you may need to monitor more closely tonight, depending on which way he goes.

On TR, reductions are earned for numbers under 50, but you may need to feed some HC or MC (high carb, medium carb) to guide. Or... if you only have low carb and honey, you can mix them to make mediumish carb food. Every cat is a little different in what combo, at what numbers, works best. If under 50, Id say it is more urgent to get them back above 50 by using honey or high carb. Post for help at any time.

I am not sure I will be up all night, but will be up for your +2 for sure. Post here and ask for help

I can tag a few people to see if they might also check on you tonight :D

Wow you are grinning I am scared..... I will test at +2 and post immediately.

Okay we don't do carbs. So it would just be honey, or honey mixed with meat. I should have it ready?

I just hand fed him some meat a little while ago so he has eaten.

What does "On TR, reductions are earned for numbers under 50,so want to keep him above 50," mean exactly? Do you mean I have to get him in the danger zone of below 50 in order to reduce his insulin dose? (and we just raised it....)

Thank you. So. Much.
 
Wow you are grinning I am scared..... I will test at +2 and post immediately.

Okay we don't do carbs. So it would just be honey, or honey mixed with meat. I should have it ready?

I just hand fed him some meat a little while ago so he has eaten.

What does "On TR, reductions are earned for numbers under 50,so want to keep him above 50," mean exactly? Do you mean I have to get him in the danger zone of below 50 in order to reduce his insulin dose? (and we just raised it....)

Thank you. So. Much.

You bring out the honey/karo only if kitty falls below 50. I presume you have honey handy to add a little to the meat should you need it tonight?

What @thebigfuzz meant was that per TR dosing regulations, a reduction is earned if the BG falls below 50. You don't have to get him to drop below 50. The idea is it to keep him in safe numbers by feeding him at regular intervals if he starts heading low.

Let's see how tonight goes! Good show shooting your lowest number thus far!
Is testing an issue with Squeaky? Can you get a +1 and +2?
 
So if I think I see symptoms, should I test immediately? Or should I just kind of leave him alone until +2 and then see what the numbers are?
 
Thanks @Bandit's Mom! And @Bron and Sheba (GA) :bighug:

Glad he has eaten, that’s great! I’m sorry, I hope I didn’t scare you. I know it is really scary to shoot low at first and experience potential greens, we are here for you. I get scared too at times with my kitty Cosmo and before him, with Elie, who went into remission years ago.

Under TR (tight regulation), immediate reductions are earned for numbers under 50, ideal green surfing is between 50-99, so trying to keep a kitty in that range is the goal.

Let’s see what the next test looks like and go from there.
 
You bring out the honey/karo only if kitty falls below 50. I presume you have honey handy to add a little to the meat should you need it tonight?

What @thebigfuzz meant was that per TR dosing regulations, a reduction is earned if the BG falls below 50. You don't have to get him to drop below 50. The idea is it to keep him in safe numbers by feeding him at regular intervals if he starts heading low.

Let's see how tonight goes! Good show shooting your lowest number thus far!
Is testing an issue with Squeaky? Can you get a +1 and +2?

Thank you. I have one of those little packets of honey from a restaurant sitting right next to his food dish.

He obliges the testing but he sure doesn't like it. Often hides before. I do it as little as possible. It hurts his ears often, even though I use neosporin. Tonight it took 3 tries, his right ear doesn't always bleed well.

Okay again I don't get it. You say, "he earns a reduction if the BG falls below 50, but you don't have to get him to drop below 50." How, if he doesn't drop below 50, do I know if he falls below 50 and has thereby earned a reduction?

Again, what exactly are the safe numbers? Thanks so much.
 
The idea is to keep testing and prevent a fall below 50 by feeding. Can you get a +1?

Well I could get it, but it sure wouldn't make him happy. The BG tests hurt his ears.

Wow it's already time for +1. If you think very important, I will do it.

If not, I will wait until +2. Just how much do I want to hurt him.
 
Well I could get it, but it sure wouldn't make him happy. The BG tests hurt his ears.

Wow it's already time for +1. If you think very important, I will do it.

If not, I will wait until +2. Just how much do I want to hurt him.

A +1 would be good but later tests may be more critical, so if we are rationing them, better to save them for +2 and later.
Will he eat a little more at +1? Just a snack to prevent a dive in numbers?
 
A +1 would be good but later tests may be more critical, so if we are rationing them, better to save them for +2 and later.
Will he eat a little more at +1? Just a snack to prevent a dive in numbers?

Okay I got scared so I took a +1. It was 131. What does that tell us? I tried to give him a snack after but he wouldn't take it. He was probably mad about the BG test.
 
So he is headed lower. Try and feed him a little later?
Don't be scared. You aren't alone. :bighug:

Okay I used my secret weapon food to get him to eat. Freshly pan seared pork. He ate about 5 pieces. Then he got up and went and hid in the closet. :( But I am also playing soothing music for cats and have two lights on in the room. He might be overstimulated. Okay, music off. One light, off.

He was also pretty mad about the second BG test. His tail was thumping a while ago. Too much attention.

We are about 35 minutes away from +2. I'm still scared. Worse now that I've irritated him.
 
This is easier said than done, but don't be scared. They can sense your anxiety and they get anxious too. I'm probably making matters worse here! :banghead:
Just relaaaxxxxx :-)
 
Typically for new low shot numbers and falling ones, you want to test every hour so you can pre-empt any steep falls with food and ensure the kitty is in safe numbers.

EVERY HOUR? What about sleep?

EVERY HOUR? He's never tried to bite me, but who knows what could happen.....

Okay so right at +2 is what I'm hearing. Great. I get 20 minutes of rest. Yah, time to bring out the dark chocolate.
 
Typically for new low shot numbers and falling ones, you want to test every hour so you can pre-empt any steep falls with food and ensure the kitty is in safe numbers.

Okay so no sleep. But what if this happens in the morning, when I have to go out for an appointment?????
 
EVERY HOUR? What about sleep?

EVERY HOUR? He's never tried to bite me, but who knows what could happen.....

Okay so right at +2 is what I'm hearing. Great. I get 20 minutes of rest. Yah, time to bring out the dark chocolate.

Might be your first pajama party! Unless he takes pity on you and his ears and bounces!
It's close to 11am here for me. Never too early for chocolate, I guess!
 
Okay so no sleep. But what if this happens in the morning, when I have to go out for an appointment?????

Then you have the choice of shooting a one time token dose or skipping a dose if you can't monitor. Let's wait till we come to that bridge. :-)
 
Then you have the choice of shooting a one time token dose or skipping a dose if you can't monitor. Let's wait till we come to that bridge. :)

Okay, here we go. Now I have to drag him out from the closet. This isn't going to be pretty.

So I didn't actually drag him. I caressed him out, then sang to him the entire time. It worked well, we were both pretty relaxed. And did I mention the full body massage he gets before his BG tests?
 
Last edited:
Okay he's eaten 10 pieces of pan-seared pork. I'm off to cook some more. Gotta get the quantities right. Seems I'm not giving him enough.
 
You still want him hungry in an hour or two if you need to feed again to keep everything running smoothly...I’m not sure how many pieces of pork would make a full meal though.

Does squeaky have a good appetite?
 
You don't want to fill him up so much that he doesn't eat later in the cycle.

Whoops well yikes I seem to have a knack for doing the wrong thing.

However he does have a pretty good appetite. Oh, he will eat later. I often wake up and find all the food gone on his plate. He probably won't eat at +3, though.

Now I can sleep for 40 minutes or so, right?
 
Whoops well yikes I seem to have a knack for doing the wrong thing.

However he does have a pretty good appetite. Oh, he will eat later. I often wake up and find all the food gone on his plate. He probably won't eat at +3, though.

Now I can sleep for 40 minutes or so, right?

See you at +3!
 
I see Squeaky is keeping you on your toes tonight. You are doing well with help from Bhooma and Tanya.
When you have time can you write what you feed in the remarks column of the SS for this cycle please eg +2 4 pieces of pork. Then we can see what you are feeding in relation to the BG without having to swap from the SS to the thread.....thanks, and it is good for you to look back on later.
As has been said, don’t feed too much at a time as we need Squeaky to be hungry in case he drops low and we need him to eat.
 
I see Squeaky is keeping you on your toes tonight. You are doing well with help from Bhooma and Tanya.
When you have time can you write what you feed in the remarks column of the SS for this cycle please eg +2 4 pieces of pork. Then we can see what you are feeding in relation to the BG without having to swap from the SS to the thread.....thanks, and it is good for you to look back on later.
As has been said, don’t feed too much at a time as we need Squeaky to be hungry in case he drops low and we need him to eat.

I am so grateful for all the help and support. I couldn't be doing this, and doing this well, without all of you. Thank you for your kindness.

I have added feeding notes to the SS, in the notes section on the right side.

Here goes +3. Well it didn't go well. 5 pricks and couldn't draw blood. He jumped each time and the needle didn't stay in long enough to pierce. I'm giving him a break. He's over at the water dish.
 
He has been exhibiting strange behavior around his water dish (not just tonight). He claws around it and claws it. Does this mean anything?
 
5 pricks and couldn't draw blood. He jumped each time and the needle didn't stay in long enough to pierce. I'm giving him a break. He's over at the water dish.

Sorry to ask this again, because I remember you've had previous discussions on this....do you use a lancing device? some cotton under his ear to lend support to the device?
 
Sorry to ask this again, because I remember you've had previous discussions on this....do you use a lancing device? some cotton under his ear to lend support to the device?

Yes, both. And his ears were pink and hot after all those pricks tonight. He just doesn't have a ton of blood in his ears. Especially the right one.
 
Back
Top