10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70 +13 101 +14 225

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Shylo

Member Since 2014
yesterday; viewtopic.php?f=9&t=126417

Was an hour and a half late on Shylo's dose today... work stuff ran longer than anticipated. I had given him a small snack early this morning (probably at about +6 from his PM dose) to at least get him through until I could get him an actual meal. Going to skip the small kibble portion with breakfast (lunch? lunch.) to see if his BG looks any different later on... just raw and a tablespoon or two of canned mixed in.

Nice day today... perfect New England fall day, that's for sure.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262

Looks like Shylo is bouncing a bit which should give you a breather.

Generally, shooting early acts like a dose increase and shooting late acts like a dose reduction. So you might see numbers climb just a bit. Possibly. At any rate, you can't just go back to shooting at your regular time. You'll have to get back to his normal shot time slowly unless he is really high at 10 tonight. If he's still really high (say 300 or over), you can shoot at 10 so he doesn't have to wait for the insulin at high numbers but you will need to do a few checks to be sure he's not coming down. Otherwise, here is some info on Getting Back on Schedule.

I'm not going to be around this afternoon but should be back on before 10 pm your time so if you have questions about getting back on schedule, just put them in this condo :-D :-D

Enjoy the fall day!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262

Thank you for the link! Super helpful. Luckily I have a usual closing shift tomorrow and Tuesday I'm home all day, so I'll be able to slowly bump everything back to the normal time in the next couple days. (Shylo isn't sure how he feels about a later dinnertime though, naturally haha)

I'm thinking I'm gonna do a +7 or so later on mostly because I'll be here and I haven't really had the option to get a test from that time spot yet... we'll see how the cat cooperates haha.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197

You're welcome. Sorry I didn't get back.....I was painting outdoor furniture and the time got away from me. Yikes!!!

Looks like a very nice slide so I'm assuming you did not shoot at 10 pm which is good. Glad you can get back on schedule slowly.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197

No problem! Things are quiet here anyway... Shylo is antsy that he hasn't been given dinner yet. He's sitting at my feet with this sad, sad look on his face hahahaha.

I'll be doing his preshot at 12 and then the shot itself at 12:30ish... puts it just fifteen minutes earlier than this afternoon, which I think is safe? I read through the thread and I'm going to try to do the fifteen minute increments to get back to our usual time.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

Ok went five minutes early since he wouldn't leave me alone while prepping his dinner... his preshot was only 70 this time around (the lowest I've tested so far). I should recheck in a half hour, correct? I'm not sure if it's because he just needs to eat or not since this is past his usual time. I also omitted kibble this morning, so that could have something to do with it. Poor guy is pretty antsy right now since he hasn't been fed yet.

edit; I should add that I do have the ability to stay up all night with him if need be!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

Whoops, triple post there. Rechecked and it's still just at 71... I'm going to assume it's maybe because he just needs to eat. I'm gonna go prep his dinner and check back here before I actually give it to him just in case!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

looking at how his BGs have gone straight down since amps this morning, you may be up for your first pajama party.

I'd get a test +1 and +2 for certain. If he's lower at +1 than the 70, then get a +1.5.

Could be the carbs from the dry food going away.

in the meantime, take a look at this from the yellow starred sticky Shooting & Handing Low Numbers. Printing it out is a good idea:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

Didn't shoot yet, I just retested him to see if it would go back up before he ate, which it didn't. He's just eating his dinner right now... was actually reading through the thread you just linked too.

I'm ok with pulling a pajama party for him, but would it be better to reduce his dose or skip it completely, maybe? I obviously want to do what's safest for him... I skipped the kibble again but gave him extra canned food with his raw this round.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

there's not usually just one "right" answer.

The choices are to go ahead and shoot the full dose.

Shoot a reduced dose.

Stall without feeding, and retest every 15 minutes or so, then as soon as the BGs begin to rise, shoot.

skip the shot.

Since you've fed already, that pretty well eliminates option 3. But don't worry about it - pretty much everyone does that at first. Next time just make a note that you want to not feed while you're stalling. The reason for that is you want to see if the BGs are rising naturally, ie, the Lantus is waning, and then shoot.

Experienced people will shoot most everything over 50, but you're not experienced. I'm looking at his BGs dropping all day and thinking I'd either skip or shoot a reduced dose.

If you shoot anything, you may be skating in low numbers all evening - no way to know. I'm sick and feeling crappy tonight, and am not going to be able to stay with you, so I'm wondering if the best choice is to skip tonight. Later, you'll want to take advantage of the opportunity and shoot low, but you're really not there yet. On that link I gave you, scroll to the part that's entitled "Becoming Data Ready." You want to get a little more info before you shoot a 70ish.

I"ll do a quick message to see if any of the usual night owls will be around tonight to help you if you need it. In the meantime, just hang on.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

Ok, good to know... next time I'll stall further than just a half hour. I'm definitely ok with skipping tonight and just testing to see what his BG does after dinner since that seems like the safer option right now.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

you know, emily, the more i think about it, the more I think you should just skip tonight. That lets you sleep and then I wouldn't worry that you'd be fighting low numbers all night. There aren't many people on during the next 5 or 7 hours and I wouldn't want you to have problems without help.

The other factor is the declining numbers today. It might very well be from you taking away the kibble. That can make a huge difference. We had a cat go from 5.5u to zero in one very long day and a half (with tests every 30-60 minutes) when the crunchies got removed from the whole house. It might be worth regrouping and seeing what difference you see in the morning with the kibble out of his system.

He may need a smaller dose with the dry food gone. The power of crunchies is amazing for raising blood sugar.

How does that sound to you?

I would still get a test in an hour from the 70 - so at +13.

We call it pmps when we shoot and pmbg when we haven't shot yet but it's at +12. That lets everyone know you haven't shot yet.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

great - i just saw your last post.

Let's skip then. I think that's the best route for tonight.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMPS 70

I think that sounds like a good idea, I definitely agree there. The +13 will be in ten or fifteen minutes, so I'll do that and if I'm still up later on I could do another (would a +2 or +3 be worth doing?).

I'll go fix the thread title so that it's a little more accurate!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70

i would want to see him rising before you stop testing tonight.

Typically what we suggest is that a cat be rising without being caused by carbs being recently given. Low numbers are 50 and under, so Shylo's in a great range right now - he's in no danger at all.

Since you just fed him dinner, that might influence his blood sugar for about the next 2 hours. I think if you can keep checking him for a couple of hours and he's either flat or rising at the end of the 2 hrs, you could go ahead and just leave him regular low carb canned food out before you go to bed and he'll be fine.

If he drops at +2 (really +14), then i think you'd want to stay with him and keep testing every 30-60 minutes to make sure he's not going to drop below 50.

Does that make sense? You're looking for him to be flat or rising without having carbed him in the previous hour or two - that will tell you he's holding up on his own.

If you think you can't stay awake, leave him plenty of low carb food out so that he has it available if he needs it.

I'll watch for your next test.
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70

Ok, so his +1(+13) just came out at 101, so definitely rising from dinner there. I think I can be up for at least another two hours, so I'll definitely be able to check if he drops or goes flat (I'm pretty sure I understand that!).
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70 +13 101

That +13 looks good ....was that with more dinner?

Julie...hope you go to bed. I'll check in with Emily if she needs any other help.

I would have also suggested you skip just because it would definitely be trial by fire. Most kitties let their CGs learn how to feed the curve by just coming into blur and then some green. Shylo has a "take no prisoners" attitude with no data so you won't know how he reacts.

Good job!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70 +13 101

Yeah, the +13 was with a hefty dinner helping about a half hour before... he cleared his bowl, which is good! Probably realized he wasn't getting a kibble snack after, haha. He got about a half cup of raw with maybe a tablespoon or two of canned on top.

Tuesday I'll be able to check him throughout his whole cycle, so I hopefully will get at least some better data then!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70 +13 101

you're doing great emily.

he might be high-ish in the morning since he didn't get insulin tonight. don't worry about it - he'll get back on track after a couple more shots.

i'm off to bed! nighty night!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70 +13 101

Since that was likely a big food spike, I'd just grab a before bed test and leave it at that as long as he's flat or coming up. Sleep well!
 
Re: 10/5 Shylo AMPS 309 +2 262 +8 197 PMBG 70 +13 101

He's back up to 225, which might still be from eating I think... do you think I should tough out one more hour for another test? I don't mind it, I'll just go make some tea and find a blanket hahaha.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top