? 10/5 Post DKA Millie AMPS 264, +4 151,+6.5 69, +7.5 49. Continue to monitor BG?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sylvia & Millie

Member Since 2017
Hi, It's been a few days. Lots of work, etc keeping me off the site Anyway, Millie's dose was increased a few days ago after being on the same dose a while (I wasn't around to monitor so I've been hesitant to increase). We also started using a Region meter. Her +6.5 was 69. I was wondering if I should check her BG sooner rather than later? I know this isn't extremely low for the human meter but I'm still getting used to it. First greens on the ReliOn.

Feedback?
 
I would check in an hour, just to see if she's still dropping. Have you given her LC food to encourage her to surf?

How exciting the dosecrease got her into the greens! :D
Yes, she has some food. Will check at the hour point. Thank you!
I would check in an hour, just to see if she's still dropping. Have you given her LC food to encourage her to surf?

How exciting the dosecrease got her into the greens! :D
Millie's 7.5 was 49.
 
Millie's +7.5 was 49. Just fed her some of her regular food.

OK. I did give her some food, she is eating. I was going to test again to see if she's coming back up. Does this mean I should decrease her dose tonight?
Yes, anytime you see a number below 50 means the cat earned a reduction. Let's hope she does better on 1.5u now.
 
OK. How much did she eat? Could she eat more? I think HC is called for because there was no bump.
Sorry, my husband just got home from work.... Millie ate and I just tested, she is 55. Is that high enough? She is usually slow when it comes to the food effecting her bg. I was going to wait another 20-30 minutes and test her again.
 
ADMIN: Something is going on with this site, when I click on Alerts, I get taken to another site/page advertising some medication.
 
Over 50 is ok. You could test again in 30 min and then see if shes holding her own or rising.

Where are you in the cycle now?

As she is late in the cycle she may well run out of steam and start to rise on her own.
However in a bounce clearing cycle they can continue to drop steadily late into the cycle.

If at the next test she is holding her own, but still running a little low, you could try bumping her up with a little more food to seeing you can get her to surf a little higher.

Remember no food two hours prior to pmps, unless she drops below 50, you don't want that ps number to be food influenced.

Hope she comes up to a number you are comfortable shooting.

Congrats on the reducie.
 
Over 50 is ok. You could test again in 30 min and then see if shes holding her own or rising.

Where are you in the cycle now?

As she is late in the cycle she may well run out of steam and start to rise on her own.
However in a bounce clearing cycle they can continue to drop steadily late into the cycle.

If at the next test she is holding her own, but still running a little low, you could try bumping her up with a little more food to seeing you can get her to surf a little higher.

Remember no food two hours prior to pmps, unless she drops below 50, you don't want that ps number to be food influenced.

Hope she comes up to a number you are comfortable shooting.

Congrats on the reducie.
We are at the +9 now. I will test at the +9.5 then remove the food so she will not be influenced at shot time.
 
Over 50 is ok. You could test again in 30 min and then see if shes holding her own or rising.

Where are you in the cycle now?

As she is late in the cycle she may well run out of steam and start to rise on her own.
However in a bounce clearing cycle they can continue to drop steadily late into the cycle.

If at the next test she is holding her own, but still running a little low, you could try bumping her up with a little more food to seeing you can get her to surf a little higher.

Remember no food two hours prior to pmps, unless she drops below 50, you don't want that ps number to be food influenced.

Hope she comes up to a number you are comfortable shooting.

Congrats on the reducie.
That's an adorable photo of George.
 
We are at the +9 now. I will test at the +9.5 then remove the food so she will not be influenced at shot time.
Good plan. You may want to receive read the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers, so that you are prepared if she has a low ps, remember do not shoot if she is under 50 with the relion.
The shooting and handling low numbers gives you some options of what to do should you find yourself in that predicament, do bear in mind that with dka in her history skipping altogether can be risky too.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-5-gus-is-gone.185001/

I would probably get a +11 tonight, that way you can see if she's rising,/falling or staying flat at pmps. It also gives you time to get some eyes on the condo if it looks like you might need it.

Glad she came up into the 70s now, that will make breathing easier.

I won't be around for pmps almost 1am here, so I'm hitting the sack.

Paws crossed for a lovely pm cycle.
 
Good plan. You may want to receive read the sticky on shooting and handling low numbers, so that you are prepared if she has a low ps, remember do not shoot if she is under 50 with the relion.
The shooting and handling low numbers gives you some options of what to do should you find yourself in that predicament, do bear in mind that with dka in her history skipping altogether can be risky too.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-5-gus-is-gone.185001/

I would probably get a +11 tonight, that way you can see if she's rising,/falling or staying flat at pmps. It also gives you time to get some eyes on the condo if it looks like you might need it.

Glad she came up into the 70s now, that will make breathing easier.

I won't be around for pmps almost 1am here, so I'm hitting the sack.

Paws crossed for a lovely pm cycle.
Thanks for all the info, will re-read ( read again!) the link. Best to be prepared.
 
I think she may have copied and pasted the wrong link. Are you able to find the sticky she was referring to?

I agree about getting a +11 so you know if she's rising or dropping at PMPS.

I couldn't get back on sooner. We had a parent / teacher conference and it went great!
Yes, I did find the right link. Millie's +11 was 151. And her PMPS 196. We're go with the reduced dose of 1.5. I think she'll be fine tonight and probably bounce tomorrow. I'll test at +2 just in case.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top