? 10/5 Phoenix BG 60 at +6

Scdal

Member Since 2020
This is the second night in a row that Phoenix has low BG numbers. I noticed that at +2, Phoenix's numbers were dropping. I fed him fancy feast hc at + 5 BG was 66 and again at + 6 BG 60. His BG rises for 30 minutes after eating the hc and then starts heading down again.

I don't see how an automatic feeder would help since he drops back down so fast. I just read that dry food stays in their system longer. My vet doesn't want me feeding dry food because Phoenix had pancreatititis in the past. I don't think a small amount when his BG drops would hurt. He has already eaten a full can of fancy feast trying to keep his numbers up and I still have 6 more hours to go.
 
Last edited:
Susan, I think you might want to consider another reduction to 9.5U. There's a good chance he will hold it.

You can prop him up with HC and honey for some time but after a point, it will get very exhausting for you. Putting off a reduction for too long could cause him to drop too low when you least expect it.

I don't think you should look at dry food. The food is not the problem. He may be getting more insulin than he needs.
 
Susan, I think you might want to consider another reduction to 9.5U. There's a good chance he will hold it.

You can prop him up with HC and honey for some time but after a point, it will get very exhausting for you. Putting off a reduction for too long could cause him to drop too low when you least expect it.

I don't think you should look at dry food. The food is not the problem. He may be getting more insulin than he needs.
Thank you Bhooma, I am going to decrease to 9.5 units at his AMPS. I just gave Phoenix some honey. His BG was 53 at + 7.
 
Thank you Bhooma, I am going to decrease to 9.5 units at his AMPS. I just gave Phoenix some honey. His BG was 53 at + 7.
You also have the option of skipping the shot in the morning or giving a token dose to drain the depot.
Let's see where he closer to AMPS. You can feed till +10.
 
You also have the option of skipping the shot in the morning or giving a token dose to drain the depot.
Let's see where he closer to AMPS. You can feed till +10.
Phoenix’s BG is now 94 after the honey. I will see where he is close to his AMPS but I think I would rather give a reduced dose than skip. His BG goes up during the day. He just likes to keep me up all night. I dare not go to bed, I will sleep through the alarm. I have been sitting on the living room loveseat for the last 2 nights so I won't get too comfortable and fall asleep.
 
I have been sitting on the living room loveseat for the last 2 nights so I won't get too comfortable and fall asleep.
Oh my God, Susan! You can't keep that up! You have to look after yourself too!
What if you were to set multiple alarms and keep them across the room so you have to get out of bed to turn them off?

Do you manage to nap during the day?
 
I have
Oh my God, Susan! You can't keep that up! You have to look after yourself too!
What if you were to set multiple alarms and keep them across the room so you have to get out of bed to turn them off?

Do you manage to nap during the day?
I have tried setting the alarm across the room and I still sleep through it. I haven't managed to get a nap. I have been drinking a lot of coffee. At least I am retired and don't have to go to work.

As long as Phoenix is feeling good then I am ok. He has been really active and loves chasing the ducks along the fence line. They know Phoenix can't get them and they come right up to the fence. He will reach through the fence with his paws and whack at them. It is funny to watch.
 
  • @Bandit's Mom
  • It is now 20 minutes before Phoenix's AMPS. His BG is 62. I think I am going to go ahead and feed him.
What do you suggest I do about his insulin? Should I give a reduced dose, skip or give him 9.5 units?
I will do what you recommend. Thank you
?
 
Looks like he is having a hard time staying up. He is back to 62 after honey at +9.

I would either skip or give a token shot (say 5U) so he doesn't go too high. Even if you skip, he should be back on track soon, so don't worry about that.
Either way you would have to monitor for the first few hours since the depot will continue to affect this cycle.

Considering you got no sleep last night, you may want to skip and give yourself a break.

ETA: If you skip, see if he stays up with LC.
 
Looks like he is having a hard time staying up. He is back to 62 after honey at +9.

I would either skip or give a token shot (say 5U) so he doesn't go too high. Even if you skip, he should be back on track soon, so don't worry about that.
Either way you would have to monitor for the first few hours since the depot will continue to affect this cycle.

Considering you got no sleep last night, you may want to skip and give yourself a break.
I think that I will wait about 20 minutes after he has eaten and check his BG. If he is still low, I will skip. If his BG has risen quite a bit, I will give him the reduced dose of 5 units. I did give him a small amount of fancy feast hc along with his salmon for breakfast.

I know his BG will be food influenced, but I just want to see how much his BG rises before I give his insulin. Thank you, Bhooma
 
Would love to see some pictures or videos of the cat and the ducks. I don't know if you can attach videos. I hope kitty will come up for you at night. You need to get some sleep at night.
I have tried sending videos before and I always get a message on my phone saying the file is too big. I can even cut the video down to about 10 seconds and it still won't send it.
I am just happy that Phoenix is feeling better. I can get by with just a little sleep. His health is worth it.
 
Not only food influenced, but HC influenced! :) He could very well dip again later in the cycle.
Phoenix's BG is only 117. This is 30 minutes after eating the hc and his salmon. I think I am going to skip his morning insulin and drop him to 9.5 units this evening. Thank you for your help Bhooma and have a nice day.
 
Phoenix's BG is only 117. This is 30 minutes after eating the hc and his salmon. I think I am going to skip his morning insulin and drop him to 9.5 units this evening. Thank you for your help Bhooma and have a nice day.
I hope you manage to get some rest today/tonight!
 
Back
Top