10/5 Pepper AMPS 429 - Dosing Question?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
Pepper started on Lantus about a month ago. Since then, he's had two dose increases but his numbers haven't gone down at all. Shouldn't a dose increase make his BGs go down at least a little? Or does he just need another dose increase? Does anything about his speadsheet stand out as abnormal? I'm just worried about him.

Also, several people have suggested that I try the Tight Regulation protocol, but although Pepper is new to Lantus, he was on Novolin (same as Humulin) for a year before we switched him to Lantus. Would he really benefit from tight regulation?

I was also wondering, if you are following either tight regulation or SLGS, do you decide on the dose yourself, based on the protocol guidelines or do you discuss each and every dose adjusment with your vet?

Sorry for several unrelated questions, I just keep thinking of new ones.

P.S. is this the sort of thing I should be posting in the Lantus forum instead of here? Thanks!
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice

No, Pepper is eating only canned - mostly Fancy Feast classic and sometimes some friskies Special Diet turkey or Salmon.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice

Hi Nancy, I don't use your insulin so can't advise on dosage, but yes, it may be helpful to post message in the Lantus forums also (they are pretty active), and also to add 'LANTUS' to your original subject line to attract attention of Lantus users.

There are lot of knowledgable Lantus people here.

Good luck!
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice

Thanks for the advice. I'm new to the board so I'm not always sure how to make the best post. I will do as you suggest.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top