10/5 Pepper AMPS 429, +5.5 308- Dose Advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
Pepper started on Lantus about a month ago. Since then, he's had two dose increases but his numbers haven't gone down at all. Shouldn't a dose increase make his BGs go down at least a little? Or does he just need another dose increase? Does anything about his speadsheet stand out as abnormal? I'm just worried about him.

Also, several people have suggested that I try the Tight Regulation protocol, but although Pepper is new to Lantus, he was on Novolin (same as Humulin) for a year before we switched him to Lantus. Would he really benefit from tight regulation?

I was also wondering, if you are following either tight regulation or SLGS, do you decide on the dose yourself, based on the protocol guidelines or do you discuss each and every dose adjusment with your vet?

Sorry for several unrelated questions, I just keep thinking of new ones. Thanks!
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Hello Nancy, and welcome to Lantus Land. This is a great place to get advice and answers to help Pepper. I don't give dosing advice but I can answer some of your other questions. But first a question from me, what dose of Novolin was Pepper on? That may have some relevance to those who give dosing advice. BTW, great job on setting up the spreadsheet and doing the testing so far. Did you test on Novolin too?

Enough questions, let's try answers. We have a number of people here who were first on Humulin and then moved to Lantus and are following the Tight Regulation protocol. So yes, TR or SLGS would be appropriate for you and Pepper. A quick look at you spreadsheet and I think TR might work for you.

I think that most of the people here do not ask their vet about dose increases/decreases. It can be a rather dynamic process if you are following the protocol. I, and probably a lot of others, have printed out a copy of the TR protocol and given it to our vets, to let them know what we are doing. I also periodically give my vet a copy of the spreadsheet so she knows where we are at. I did ask my vet for input the first couple of times, but then I stopped. There is a HUGE amount of feline diabetes expertise here, way more than a vet will get in their practice. What is common for the first little while here is to ask the forum for advice on dose increases. We post a daily message (we call them condo's, it's where you live) and get feedback there.

One final thing, on your first post, you will notice some radio buttons. If you select the ? button, it will alert people that you are asking a question. There are folks here who scan for them.

Feel free to keep the questions coming. That's how we all learn. The people here are incredibly generous with their time.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Hello Nancy and Pepper,
I think you would definitely benefit from posting over here whether you decide to follow the tight protocol or not.
The first thing I notice when looking at your ss is the jumps in dose in 0.50 increments.
I would guess that is the vet's advice. It is possible you have missed your optimal dose.
You might even be experiencing insulin resistance which I don't have experience in so I will let someone else evaluate that like Sienne.

The folks here who give the dosing advice have a lot of experience with Lantus and will differ from your vet's advice quite often.
So you may have to choose whether to listen to the experience here or your vet.
Pepper will get much better results if you do choose the advice here. Cross my paws. :-D
There are many of us who will testify to that.
Many vets aren't even trying to get a cat to remission, they are just seeking regulation.
We don't tend to let the vet tell us dose after we start getting help here because there are so few out there who have enough experience
with this insulin. Many here , but not all, (everyone is welcome) are following the TR protocol.
You want your vet to be your partner, not dictate.

Ask questions! Even repeat them if you don't understand something. Read other's condo's because you learn a lot from other's experiences.
Post a daily condo with date, name, AMPS (am pre shot test number) and other tests following that.

I hope you will join us.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Hello Nancy and Pepper. Our cat, PurrFace, was on Humulin N for a month. I discovered this board and managed to convince my vet to switch PurrFace to Lantus 10 days ago. He strongly suggested we start at 2U BID. We did not follow his instructions, instead I asked for advise from the wonderful folks here. They recommend the SLGS so we began a 1U BID. Three days ago we increased to 1.25U BID again on advise here. We can see a change for the better with him since he is on Lantus. When PurrFace was diagnosed we were very confused and worried but since communicating with the cat lovers here we are no longer worried and beginning to understand a lot about FD. I'm following the TR protocol and PurrFace is adapting to it well. If you stay the course with the folks here you won't be sorry. Our vet is very nice and caring but in reality he doesn't have the knowledge these people have. He never even heard of Lantus prior to us telling him about it. I am definitley no experienced enough to give any advice on dosage except to tell you to post the question here. Someone will be there to help you.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Hi. I'm not able to tell you whether to change the dose at this time as I leave that sort of specific advice to people with more experience or people who have been following your condo and know all the details. Nonetheless, I can give you some general advice based on my experience with Lantus.

RE: Checking with the Vet. The official answer you will always get if you ask that vet question is "Always talk to your vet before you change the dose." There's certainly no reason not to, in a perfect world. However, a lot people who use this board don't. Aside from the costs, it seems to depend on whether the vet is knowledgeable about Lantus.

My vet charges about $65 just to see my cat. I really can't expect him to make a decision like that without seeing the cat, taking some tests (more $), and reviewing the spreadsheet. A few people have a vet who is experienced and knowledgeable about Lantus. The vet will take a copy of the spreadsheet and agree to a dose change without a full exam, tests, etc. Some will even give you a break on the cost. You could talk to your vet about whether he or she will do this, but if your vet doesn't know much about Lantus dosing, that won't help you very much.

I found that the experienced people on this board knew far more about dosing Lantus than my vet. I almost always posted for advice before I changed the dose regardless of what the protocol said. Feel free to do this even if your questions seem silly and the answer seems obvious. Part of the beauty of this board is the moral support for something that is worrisome, nerve racking, and tends to make even the most confident people nervous -- dosing insulin.

My cat bounced a lot (when the liver dumps glucose in response to a lower BG than the cat's body is used to experiencing). This made it really hard to tell when I was seeing "real" numbers or bounces. That made me feel uncomfortable using the protocol alone. I found out later that it didn't matter a whole lot whether I was seeing a bounce or not, but I was a Nervous Nelly who couldn't get that concept. There is sooooo much to learn and so many little things you can do this way or that. That's why it's great to have this board to help you while you are on the steep Lantus learning curve.

Of course, there is the money issue. I changed Max's dose over 20 times. I spent all that money (more than $1500 just for vet visits, for sure) on supplies, insulin, pet sitters, etc. instead of on the vet visits. Also, in my opinion, it is not always practical to see the vet every time. You might end up changing the dose every three days in some cases.

Ultimately, it's your decision because you hold the syringe. If you do talk to your vet, and his/her advice conflicts with what the protocol says, I suggest that you seriously consider following the protocol instead whether its TR or SLGS. There are always exceptions or medical conditions that have bearing on this decision, but generally the protocol is the way to go. However, you can skip a shot if you don't feel comfortable shooting a low number, can't be home, can't stay up half the night, etc. Some people using TR will shoot very low numbers and go "as fast" as possible -- changing the dose every 72 hours. They are usually people who have been dealing with FD a long time or this is their second FD cat, or something similar. I would not have been comfortable with that.

That said, when the cat is getting high numbers, one problem with NOT raising the dose if the protocol calls for it, is the possibility that the cat will take a lot longer to get to regulation and require a higher dose in the end before you start to see the need for decreases. For this reason, you don't want to hold a dose too long if you are getting nadir numbers after 6 to 10 cycles (3 to 5 days) of that dose that indicate an increase is necessary. Another problem is the possibility for ketones. It has probably been suggested that you get Ketosticks, and use them to test fresh urine. There are other issues, too, but these are two. If you are getting numbers up in the 250 and higher range at shot time, you want use the protocol or consider posting for dosing advice unless you feel ok with using the protocol alone.

RE: Tight Regulation. As far as TR vs. SLGS is concerned, anyone who has had success getting her cat regulated on TR will tell you it is the way to go. However, unless you can keep your cat safe while using it, you should stay with SLGS. Keeping the cat safe may require you to stay up half the night, stay home all day, etc. If you don't have to go to work, and don't need to sleep every night, you can probably use TR, no problem. Some people even use it although they have jobs away from home.

You can always take it a bit slower than what the protocol would suggest. If you are getting low numbers, such as under 150-200 at shot time, you can skip doses every now and then when you, as the caregiver, are not feeling well or are too tired. (You would only do this when you see numbers below 200 at shot time. If you are getting numbers up in the 250 and higher range at shot time, you want to keep shooting every 12 hours.) Even people very experienced with TR take it slower sometimes. An important part of deciding whether to give a shot when the BG is under 150 at shot time is "caregiver condition" at night or the ability to stay home with the cat in the day.

I'm sure there are more experienced members who can elaborate on what I've said or clarify anything you have questions about. All in all, I'm impressed with how much you are testing, and I think it's a good sign that you saw a Yellow number at test time recently. You will want to set your alarm and get some +6 tests in the night. It's important to have this information. Also, BG can be different at night due to the circadian rhythm.

Best of Luck!
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Welcome to Lantus Land!!

First, regarding your questions about dose, the 0.5u increases were fine. When a cat has nadirs that are over 300, the TR Protocol allows for increases of 0.5u. When nadirs are lower than 300, we increase by 0.25u. You can do the same with SLGS.
Tight Regulation Protocol sticky said:
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
However, I think there's another factor operating here. The longer you allow Pepper to sit in numbers that are outside of the normal BG range, the greater the possibility that glucose toxicity can develop. What this means is that his body become accustomed to being in high numbers and treats those numbers as his "normal." As a result, it's harder to bring the numbers down and there's a greater potential for bouncing. One of the strengths of the TR approach is that it's aggressive (but safe) when it comes to dose increases that bring the numbers into a better range. Even if you're following SLGS, you'll want to increase every 7 days until numbers are in a better range.

Most of us don't consult with our vets about dose changes. With the exception of maybe the first month that I was here, I haven't discussed dosing with my vet except at Gabby's annual check up. She has the link to my spreadsheet. She thinks I test too much and I tell her I know my cat! Beyond that, she sees that I know what I'm doing and Gabby is doing well. I introduced her to the TR protocol although she was already familiar with Lantus. At a practical level, my way of thinking is that my vet is not available 24/7. The one time I tried to reach her because I didn't know what to do with lower numbers, it took way too long for her to return my call. The response from people here was almost instantaneous.

There's no way to know how well Pepper will respond to Lantus let alone whether he'll have a good response to TR. All you can do is try. You can always switch from one protocol to another. The one consideration is that the chances for remission decrease over time. The sooner you try TR, which has the best track record for remission, the better.

Please keep the questions coming!! We're happy to lend a hand.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Good morning, Nancy and Pepper! ~O)

I'm chiming in on the vet question. Vets mean well. They really do. Unfortunately, they don't live with FD on a daily basis like the folks here. The vet I have is very knowledgeable about FD but still learns something new each visit as I share with him. I really like the idea of printing out the TR Protocol and sharing it with the vet. It let's them know what you are doing and why. Sharing your SS link with the vet is also a great idea.

Asking the vet each time you want or need to change the dose just isn't practical. :smile:
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Also giving input on vets. I now know the vet I used with Cyclone years ago was terrible - had never heard of Lantus, told me diet made no difference, and never told me about home blood testing. The vet I use now with Salem is unusually knowledgeable, knows all about Lantus, has even attended one of Dr. Rand's lectures. (THE Lantus and feline diabetes expert.) Most vets are somewhere in-between. The people here have vastly more knowledge than any vet who's not a specialist in FD. Plus all the practical difficulties in going to your vet for dosing adjustments that have already been mentioned.

Not an expert, but I agree with Sienne that the increases are fine and you should consider making them more quickly, as fast as every six cycles/three days until he starts coming down. Once his nadirs are lower you'll want to increase by .25u unless the dose is above 3 units, in which case .5u increments may be appropriate. With those numbers you should also be checking his urine for ketones a couple of times a day.

As for benefits of tight regulation - it's certainly very beneficial for the health and comfort of the cat. And who knows - Salem recently went into remission after 3 1/2 years on insulin during which time he was up to over 5 units at one point. That's unlikely, but working down to a microdose (less than 1 unit) and getting the cat regulated and predictable to the point that you don't have to monitor as closely to feel safe is almost as good.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Hi Nancy, Welcome! We switched Jasper from Humulin to Lantus in July after studying much of the info here, and we followed TR as best we could.

We relied on the experienced folks here to guide our dosing decisions. We hold the sharps and have to decide what to do day by day, and we wanted to partner with our vet. He thought we would be unable to home test, eventually we got on this site and learned out how to do it. We showed him our home data and calibrated our meter with his office meter and the lab. That helped him understand we are serious and capable of managing Jaspers diabetes.

Daily testing under consistent conditions soon showed Jasper was really jagging on Humulin. After reading more here, we switched our cats to only wet LC commercial food and asked our vet about dental or other concerns, again respecting his views but we own the decision. to our surprise he agreed wet food is no worse than dry food.

Next we studied insulins and after a helpful nudge from folks on the Health forum here, we asked our vet to prescribe Lantus. He had heard of Lantus but was concerned its longer acting and more expensive that Humulin. Conservative dosing with close monitoring reduced concerns about hypo. Lantus and TR worked really well for Jasper.

I sent our vet links to the Queensland protocol and Jasper's spreadsheets, also emailed him about Jasper going OTJ with thanks for his support. I hope his future fd patients will benefit from his positive results with Lantus and TR.

Leslie
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

TR is safe if you are responsible about it -- skip shots when you have low numbers, but are not able to keep testing enough and when you do shoot low numbers set your alarm to get up in the night to check the cat. When I was afraid to use TR, I didn't understand that there was a way to slow it down, but you can, and that's how you can keep it safe. If you start missing alarms, and turning them off in your sleep, or can't be home in the day, back off a little with protocol, (but don't hold the dose too long, of course).

With my cat I found that I had to skip a shot not just the MORNING that I had to be gone all day, but the NIGHT before. Max's numbers would go low even if I skipped the morning shot at one point in his race down the dosing scale. That is how well he was responding to Lantus. If you are testing enough you will be able to predict these sorts of things, and be prepared. I could prepare ahead of time and considered skipping the evening shot if I was going to be gone all the next day (or I would just cancel the trip away from home.)

Now, I'm very, very glad I used TR, and that I didn't try to keep Max's numbers in the 100 to 200 range interminably. The HUGE problem with doing that is that you are "keeping" the cat diabetic and you are unlikely to be able to keep the cat below "renal threshold" -- the point at which damage to the organs is occurring -- all the time. You also don't have much of chance of getting him OTJ. If you can give your cat the chance to go OTJ, it is better for both of you.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Hi, Nancy and Pepper! Welcome to the Lantus board! :)

I'm liking that yellow # that he gave you just recently. I think that over time he'll start to come down as you go up in your doses. Good luck! The TRP DOES work, at least it is for my kitty, Blackie. (knocking on wood) :-D
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

Dale said:
TR is safe if you are responsible about it -- skip shots when you have low numbers, but are not able to keep testing enough and when you do shoot low numbers set your alarm to get up in the night to check the cat. When I was afraid to use TR, I didn't understand that there was a way to slow it down, but you can, and that's how you can keep it safe. If you start missing alarms, and turning them off in your sleep, or can't be home in the day, back off a little with protocol, (but don't hold the dose too long, of course).
This may have been Dale's strategy, but we do not typically suggest that you skip shots. How one defines "low numbers" varies from cat to cat and caregiver to caregiver. All skipping shots usually does is insure that numbers will skyrocket by the next shot time. There are a range of alternatives to skipping and these depend on your particular circumstances, your comfort level, the safety of your cat, your flexibility with respect to shot schedule, how your cat responds to food, and any number of other factors that aren't immediately coming to mind. I'm not comfortable making a blanket statement. And this is putting the cart way before the horse.

At this point, my best recommendation is to increase the dose so we can help you get Pepper out of high numbers.
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

I want to thank everyone for your incredibly informative and caring responses.

I'm going to have to re-read everything a couple of times. But I guess I should increase Pepper's dose. Should I increase it by .5 units? How long should I hold the dose? How much should I be testing Pepper to see how he's doing? And I am afraid of TR. It seems like the cats go so low all the time. Thanks for your help!
 
Re: BGs haven't budged - need advice from Lantus users

With TR you hold the dose for 3 days/6 cycles unless the numbers warrant a reduction. As for our cats going low, we like green! Keep in mind that the protocol is based on research. Those data would never get approved by the parent institution or published if the approach was dangerous. One of the things you learn is that you can steer the numbers with food. What's key to TR is being prepared -- having low and high carb food, strips, etc. in stock. Feeding a good, low carb diet, and getting tests when appropriate will keep your cat safe. You always test at pre-shot and the minimum amount of additional tests are one per cycle. Most of us test more than that. Please look at our spreadsheets. They will give you a feel for the range of what people do and how their cats respond.
 
Re: 10/5 Pepper AMPS 429 + 5.5 308- Dosing Question?

How much should I increase Pepper's dose? Is .5 units appropriate since his nadir is above 300?
 
I think you can raise his dose by 0.5, his nadirs are over 300. Can you get some tests in tonight?
 
Try to get a +2 when you increase the dose, if bg drops significantly from you pre-shot bg number, that can indicate an active cycle. ( but no guarantees)

I, myself, would just get some random tests here fishing around for lower numbers while you are still in the pinks.
Then when you see some low yellows or blues, start getting something more like mini curves ( every 3 hrs)
That will help you get data ready for later on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top