10/5 Olive PMPS 437, 463+2. 431+3. Time for her insulin re-evaluation?

I hope Olive has a nice healing cycle :bighug:

And, I cannot believe it's October sometimes ;) when you wake up, mind changing your title to 10/5?
 
I hope Olive has a nice healing cycle :bighug:

And, I cannot believe it's October sometimes ;) when you wake up, mind changing your title to 10/5?
lol. That's what happens when you write when you're tired. :facepalm::p I've definitely noted a change in the last 4 cycles since she left the black. She's still way too high but now consistently in the purples and reds with her toes dipping into the yellows and touching some blues during the PM cycle. It's a step in the right direction at least.
 
lol. That's what happens when you write when you're tired. :facepalm::p I've definitely noted a change in the last 4 cycles since she left the black. She's still way too high but now consistently in the purples and reds with her toes dipping into the yellows and touching some blues during the PM cycle. It's a step in the right direction at least.
There were a number of people putting September in their post this morning - maybe we all need a collective nap lol. And yes the trends are so nice to see!
 
So nice to be rid of the blacks isn't it. Those links are pretty low too. Bet she feels better also.
Without a doubt! ;) We can always tell how she's feeling through her eyes and she's been bright-eyed when she looks at us. That and the fact she's all over the house. She's been showing signs for the last few days that she wants more to eat because she comes to the fridge an hour early and sits there looking up at us with her beautiful green eyes. I don't want to increase her daily food intake because she's finally gaining at a nice, slow rate and I don't want to alter from her every 3 hour feeding schedule I worked so hard to get her up to, so I've started giving her a smidgen of raw food about the size of an eraser each time she comes looking for food and it's just enough to satisfy her until mealtime. I guess in her mind she won. She looked cute enough and claimed her prize. If she continues begging then mom will have to outsmart her by reducing her 3 hour mealtime by an eraser-sized piece. lol. We want her to continue to gain some weight...but not too much and not too fast.
 
It's been a week since her earned reduction and for the better part of this week she's had a hair more than the half unit (.53 on my caliper). Not knowing the exact number I've been giving her and just eye-balling the "tad" or "hair" more I decided to set a new number on the caliper, so the following week will be totally accurate instead of a tad or hair more while guessing. Since she wasn't ready for the 0.25 increase the last time (bringing her closer to the .75 IU, I settled on a number between that and the 0.50 at .67 on my caliper. Looks to me like the same amount I'd been giving her every time I eye-balled a hair or a tad more, but now I'll know for certain. So this is the game plan for the next week. The numbers on the caliper changes quickly even though it doesn't seem to move much at all. Eye-balling it now with the new caliper settings and measuring a new syringe it's rather easy as long as the zero line is actually on the zero mark because with the .67 on the caliper the caliper arm sits right on the top of the zero line and the lower arm sits right on the bottom of the half unit line exactly. I know she needs more insulin since the duration is still not so good, but she's done so well the last 4 cycles and the only thing I changed was the hair or tad more insulin than the 0.5 unit. So I thought it best to reset the caliper with hopes of accuracy in the following week providing more data.
 
With SLGS, you hold the dose for 14 cycles. Assuming tonight was the same hair over dose, this is cycle nine at this dose. I do agree it looks like she needs a skootch more. Thank goodness for calipers.
 
With SLGS, you hold the dose for 14 cycles.
14 cycles? How did I miss that. Well, it's not been 14 cycles, as you mentioned. Last nights dose was wonky because the plunger in the syringe itself was sitting crooked so I tried measuring it at the midway point of the diagonal plunger line. I'm thinking she got closer to the 0.5 mark than the hair more but I didn't want to give too much. Even knowing I should hold for 14 cycles and not the 9 I'm currently at, I'm going to stick with the new caliper measurement for that eye-balled hair I've been at these 9 cycles starting in 2 1/2 hours at shot time. I'm hoping the new caliper number is close to what she's been getting these 9 cycles. She's also finally gained a little so I'm betting this is coming into play too.
I do agree it looks like she needs a skootch more.
Yep
 
Back
Top