10/5 MrCat AMPS 92 +3 84 +9 88 PMPS 106 DOSE QUESTION

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
Well.... Mr.Cat has been at .5U for 18 days now. Aside from a 132 and a 135 AMPS seven and eight days ago (and 130 yesterday morning), he has stayed under 130 and mostly in the green during the day for the past two weeks. Should I attempt a reduction or keep going with .5U? He never seems to go below 70, so he isn't risking hypo by staying at his current dose but... in the past, he's gone down to .1U with no problem (his OTJ trial was interrupted by dental work). Any thoughts from the experienced folks out there?
I'm not in any rush to make a change but I also don't want to stall his progression.
Thanks for your input!
-Jess
 
MrCat is looking really good. I like all that green in the middle of his cycles. I think you could try taking down MrCat's dose. From the protocol, I've bolded the relevant part:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.

Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

He seems really good numbers mid-cycle and it's just the PS that are higher. Is there any way of giving him a small snack at around +9 for each of the cycles? That might help those preshot numbers. This is only something that we do for cats who are getting close to OTJ.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top