10/5 Mar Lei AMPS 383......dosing question

Jdubs

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/10-4-mar-lei-amps-439-2-335-4-290-pmps-275-4-90-5-90.269198/

Good morning! Or evening, or day, not sure time zone wise!


is there a way to magnify the spread sheet a bit so I can read it without glasses. I try not to wear them as they really damage my sight. I wore them for a few hours when I filled in this spread sheet and my vision has got ALOT worse because of that and not recovered!

So......as I understand it he needs to drop below 68 before 'earning' a reduction. (Which he might have already done but I haven't caught yet).

But what if he doesn't quite reach that, or I dont catch the right time but continues to bounce? Isnt the continued bounce a sign there is a little too much insulin on board? Might it be worth at some point experimenting with a lower dose if he continues to bounce? I feel sure that if I wasn't using food to bring up the numbers, he would be getting to less than 68 on this dose every time........

Thanks in advance
 
is there a way to magnify the spread sheet a bit so I can read it without glasses. I try not to wear them as they really damage my sight. I wore them for a few hours when I filled in this spread sheet and my vision has got ALOT worse because of that and not recovered!
Are you using a smartphone or a computer/laptop to access the spreadsheet?

So......as I understand it he needs to drop below 68 before 'earning' a reduction. (Which he might have already done but I haven't caught yet).
Yes and we go by numbers that we have caught.

But what if he doesn't quite reach that, or I dont catch the right time but continues to bounce? Isnt the continued bounce a sign there is a little too much insulin on board? Might it be worth at some point experimenting with a lower dose if he continues to bounce? I feel sure that if I wasn't using food to bring up the numbers, he would be getting to less than 68 on this dose every time........
Here is our definition of bouncing:
"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

Here is another post related to bouncing:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/#post-642819
 
Here is our definition of bouncing:
"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

Here is another post related to bouncing:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-ndw-and-failed-reductions.46012/#post-642819
Thanks for these. I think I do understand the definition of 'bounce' and why it happens. But my question still stands. We are on day 5 now. So what if it still doesnt clear in the next couple of days, could the bounce then be considered to be because the dose is actually too high?

I notice it's thought that usually a bounce clears within 3 days. But what might the maximum time be that we wait for a bounce to clear?

After how many days do we think, actually the dose is too high and so the liver will just carry on doing this until we lower the dose?
 
Bouncing does not necessarily mean that the dose is too high. Although, if the dose is too high and the numbers drop too low, that will also result in bouncing. We therefore don't go by bouncing to determine whether a dose is too high but by the nadirs. Insulin will drop the BG without food and using food to manipulate the curve gives you flatter curves and enables you to keep the cat on a dose at which s/he sees good numbers on. In the cycle that a cat is clearing a bounce there is additional downward momentum and you want to counteract that with food, because reductions earned in such cycles often fail.

He is seeing greens every night on this dose which means he is not bouncing for long. The more time he spends in greens, the better the chances of his body getting used to them and the bouncing reducing. Give it time.

For now, hold the dose since he is seeing nadirs where we want them to be. Feed small meals to reduce the diving.
 
So high today. Hope I didn't give a fur shot!

Even though ive been giving injections since Feb?March, I'm still not sure I know what I am doing. Are there any video demo recommendations or anything like that? He's neither long haired nor short haired, - somewhere in-between but I use the 13 mm needles as that are the ones the vet gave me to begin with, and I'm scared to try shorted. But the only u-100 syringes with 1/2 unit markings are terrible quality - really hard to read as they have turrets bits where the clear black line is meant to be marking the dose.........

At different times injecting I feel like I am hitting different types of tissue
 
Aw thank you!

Great re the videos. I am in a bit of a rush the next couple f days but as soon as I can I will study the videos and have a think about the needle length. I am afraid I do stay on the neck. I know its not good but he seems to really hate all the other areas ive tried. Its like it hurts him way more.

Hopefully I will get inspired by the videos and more confident to try again other places.

Thanks so much
 
Ok thank you.

I am about to start new thread but just to say here. Absolutely yes, AT metre and AM strips.

I have understood the seriousness of keeping strips to metres and I also understand that it is very important you know (and the spreadsheet knows - some adjustments will need to be programmed into it right?) what metre he's on at any given time. I am going to stick with the Alpha tax till I run out of strips. I might even see if the vets can get me more on insurance - for continuity. But anyway whatever I do I will let you know

Thanks you so much!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top